We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland - Simply breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland - Simply breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at this incredible hotel for two nights in May 2014. We had a room on the 7th floor. Stunning views over the river and complex.

Staff: outstanding and helpful

Rooms: outstanding, updated, charming, beautiful, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, very roomy,

Location: close to downtown Banff, you can walk there or there is a good public bus system that takes you there and back

Restaurants: outstanding, breakfast has many choices, beautiful buffet, could not fault it.

Laundry: downtown laundry at in the Cascade shopping centre basement. You can do your own washing or you can get them to wash it and pick up later. We found this service excellent. Left the washing, had lunch and did a bit of shopping.

This hotel is beautiful, stunning, old world charm. A castle on the side of the mountain, a very special stay. The views are simply stunning. We would definitely stay again. We stayed in the beginning of May, we had snowfalls, all the trees, buildings were all covered in snow. A winter wonderland!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting from Australia!
We are so pleased that you had a memorable visit. Please come again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
651
1,525
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Simply a classic hotel! I stay here April 28-30th for a business trip/ conference. The interior is like a maze! Stairs and rooms and turns with two mezzanines and a lobby it's hard to find your way around. The meeting rooms were all so unique yet fitting in design so as not to stand out an away from the overall theme. It's hard to find any fault with all the beauty and charm this hotel...and the staff and the food made it all worth the stay. I definitely stay here again...hope to bring my family next time though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Please do return with your family! Let us know if we can assist you with anything in that regard.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Splurge on a mountain view room it is well worth the little extra. This castle is worth a stay for at least a few nights. Staff and atmosphere are outstanding.The outside and inside pools are spectacular and no tipping except for food service. Meals are pricey but you get what you pay for. We ate in the village except for a trip to the Waldhouse, Easter dinner and high tea. All were worth the cost. Parking is extra and a bit of a hike. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your accolades. We do appreciate your positive feedback about the resort amenities and dining and will share it with our colleagues. Please do visit again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was at this hotel for a conference in spring of 2014. The hotel is extremely choppy, and it is very difficult to find your way around. The hotel is very worn, from the carpets in the common area to the bathrooms in our deluxe room. This hotel was on my bucket list to visit, but delivered lackluster results at best. There was a convenient indoor and outdoor pool, although it was very crowded and hard to find a seat. The scenery in the area is amazing, but at night a taxi is required to get to the Main Street Banff area, due to the weather. It is about a 1/2 mile walk to the Main Street area, but it was a nice walk to get out and enjoy the fresh air. The bus schedule is very convenient to get to the area ski resorts. This was the one big asset of this resort. You could rent skis right on site for a very fair price, and there was a convenient shuttle service to the area ski resorts. This hotel has Zero night life. The hotel basically closes down at 10pm. You must go to Main Street if you want any action after dark.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will ensure that it is shared with all of the appropriate areas in the hotel. The Fairmont Banff Springs, and its owners, are committed to ongoing refurbishment and your comments are taken to heart. We also have an exciting late night entertainment plan for the entire summer. We do hope if you are in Banff again, you will consider a return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was here from April 24-26 for an annual conference. My room was awesome. The bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept in. The conference facilities were excellent. Also and bar staff were awesome at our private events and the food was really good also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. Did you know you can purchase the Fairmont mattress and bed via our Fairmont Stores? Do not hesitate to inquire.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spectacular location, views and service. Expensive place to stay but the experience was well worth it.
The rooms we chose had spectacular views over the Bow valley and the Rockies, well worth the extra it costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Fairmont Banff Springs from Scotland. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay,BC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We attended a conference at Banff Springs Hotel in Later April. It has the very best staff and one of the most beautiful locations anywhere in Canada and mild those two charms to make up for the fact that the inside of the hotel still lives in the 50's. It's like staying in a museum but with a twist, there is a network of corridors and we witnessed people wandering lost trying to find where they were. They have added many modern features in terms of shops and the excecise, pool facilities are first class. But you are surrounded by 30's furniture, a feeling you are visiting your grandmother's home and the rooms, while trying hard to have modern features in rooms better suited for dwarfs. The hotel was so hot that even with shutting off the heat in our room and keeping both windows open, we had a hard time sleeping. It was only a high of 8oC during the day but the inside of the hotel was a stuffy 24oC and your room thermostat was there for entertainment and not ever meant to be used to control the temperature. BTW, being in the President's Club we I suppose were fortunate. I can only imagine what a regular room would be like. Yes it has perfect views and if this was the 30's I'd be a happy camper. And no we would not stay there again. One can always visit the views for lunch.

Room Tip: Wish I could. Go somewhere else for the price unless you like staying with your grandmother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback which we always welcome and value. The Fairmont Banff Springs, and its owners, regularly invests in refurbishment and are commited to our heritage but also in providing our guests the modern touches they anticipate. We truly hope you would reconsider and stay another time. Please do inquire about our newly renovated guestrooms on a future stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.