We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spectacular location, views and service. Expensive place to stay but the experience was well worth it.
The rooms we chose had spectacular views over the Bow valley and the Rockies, well worth the extra it costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Fairmont Banff Springs from Scotland. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
651
1,524
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay,BC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We attended a conference at Banff Springs Hotel in Later April. It has the very best staff and one of the most beautiful locations anywhere in Canada and mild those two charms to make up for the fact that the inside of the hotel still lives in the 50's. It's like staying in a museum but with a twist, there is a network of corridors and we witnessed people wandering lost trying to find where they were. They have added many modern features in terms of shops and the excecise, pool facilities are first class. But you are surrounded by 30's furniture, a feeling you are visiting your grandmother's home and the rooms, while trying hard to have modern features in rooms better suited for dwarfs. The hotel was so hot that even with shutting off the heat in our room and keeping both windows open, we had a hard time sleeping. It was only a high of 8oC during the day but the inside of the hotel was a stuffy 24oC and your room thermostat was there for entertainment and not ever meant to be used to control the temperature. BTW, being in the President's Club we I suppose were fortunate. I can only imagine what a regular room would be like. Yes it has perfect views and if this was the 30's I'd be a happy camper. And no we would not stay there again. One can always visit the views for lunch.

Room Tip: Wish I could. Go somewhere else for the price unless you like staying with your grandmother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback which we always welcome and value. The Fairmont Banff Springs, and its owners, regularly invests in refurbishment and are commited to our heritage but also in providing our guests the modern touches they anticipate. We truly hope you would reconsider and stay another time. Please do inquire about our newly renovated guestrooms on a future stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Banff Springs is such a welcome retreat. We keep coming back for many reasons...to experience the historical significance of the hotel and area, the exceptional service by happy and empowered staff, the fantastic food, beautifully appointed rooms and of course the scenery. Not to mention that there is so much to do on site, from the bowling alley to the indoor and amazing heated outdoor pool, the shops and walking/hiking trails, golf, tennis and horseback riding in the summer. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Your review has made our day and we have shared it with our entire team. Thank you so much!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved this hotel. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful.

We were put in a room but as there was a step into the bathroom we kindly asked if we could be moved. This was taken care of straight away with the wonderful receptionist. She totally understood I was afraid of falling over during the night as I was already suffering from a broken wrist.

Our only complaint was that some of the restaurants and bars were closed during our stay. Would have preferred to only leave the hotel to experience the outdoors otherwise we would have used this hotel for all our food/drink entertainment.

Spa was exceptional. Only one other hotel is in this league and this is The Europe Hotel in Killarney, Co Kerry in Ireland.

Well done Fairmont!! Would totally recommend this hotel and will come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. We truly appreciate it and will share your feedback with the Spa and our Front Desk teams. We are sorry that you did not have the opportunity to enjoy the outlets you had hoped due to closures that were in place during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge in advance of any future stay regarding our restaurant offerings at any given time.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a treat for the girlfriend, and I couldn't have asked for more.
Hotel service is excellent, you are treated like your special as soon as you step out of your vehicle.
If you can afford it I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you had a nice time.
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Fairmont. Everything is as advertised, very nice, very good service, pleasant staff. Just two issues.
One, why would you turn over the parking to Impark? They are the worst of the worst. So on top of your nightly rates you have to pay 25 a day in parking? does not make sense, why would you not have free parking for guests or blend it into the rate? Reminds me of being in Hawaii and you go and check in and they tell you there is a 25 dollar a day "resort fee". Parking is also brutal. Why would you not have a lot for guests only? the only parking is public and a pain to find a spot, unless you do valet parking, then there is reserved spots.

Second..put your prices on the items in the store on the main floor that sells convince items. Went in with my son to grab a bottle of water and a snack and prices are not listed anywhere. Raises a flag.. ten dollars for a bottle of water and some chips..come on, just because it is the Fairmont doesn't mean you have to inflate prices that much.

Like I said, minor items, not a huge deal, just annoying. Hotel is nice, great facilities for kids with the pools.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are very pleased that you experienced engaging service while you were our guest. Thank you for these compliments. We will share your constructive comments also with our food and beverage and guest services teams.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel - picturesque setting, outstanding service, memorable spa. I wanted to focus this review on the "Fairmont Gold" experience, because I went back and forth deciding whether to get a gold room. In the end, I was glad that I booked the Gold room. It was very spacious (and I'd heard that non-gold rooms are quite small), and service was excellent, which was especially nice given such a large hotel (separate reception guest, etc.). Also notable: (1) I'd never heard of a European style body spray shower before; I thought it would just be one of those extra shower heads that you can remove. But actually it was like multiple rainforest showers coming from the sides of the shower. I won't do it justice in this explanation, but believe me, it feels like a spa experience in your room, and (2) The Fairmont Gold Lounge is excellent--with the complimentary breakfast (hot and cold), evening canapés, and coffee/tea all day, I felt like I'd probably saved enough money to justify half the difference of the upgrade to Gold. The evening canapés were unexpected in terms of the options -- I'd expected crudite and cheese platters (which they had), but did not expect the delicious hot items (rotated each night, but included scallops, pork belly, rice dishes, etc). These are designed to be pre-dinner, but a few nights I found that these were perfectly satisfying as a light dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Our Fairmont Gold and culinary teams thank you!

The Fairmont Banff SPrings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.