We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have just returned from a winter weekend and wished we were still there! We booked directly with the hotel and as requested we were given a quiet, king room with mountain view. The room was in the Stanley Thompson Wing and even though it was Valentines and Family Day the hotel never seemed over crowded. The room was smaller than I anticipated but it was clean, fresh and comfortable. From the moment you drive up to the entrance the customer service is outstanding. Nothing and I truly mean nothing is a bother to these guys. Everything works like a finely tuned cog. Valet parking was brilliant - 20 minutes notice, our car was waiting. Reception was helpful and cheerful. I could go on and on...We ate at Grapes Wine Bar and the atmosphere and view was amazing - special thank you to the staff in the Grapes who made us so welcome. We have been living in Edmonton and visited Banff and Canmore some 6 times over the last two years and so glad that we stayed at the Fairmont - we are taking some truly wonderful memories back to the UK. Our stay was just perfect. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We will ensure our team receives it so they will know what an outstanding time you had. Perhaps you can return, and stay with us longer another time.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
651
1,525
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a stunning hotel! My boyfriend and I went this past December for his birthday and from the moment we arrived we were taken care of. We were greated with fresh cookies and HOT apple cider which was a nice treat after the ride from the Calgary airport. I really reccommend going during the holiday season! The decor was spectacular and filled with joy. All of the reviews are correct in saying the rooms are very small but it didnt bother us with the awesome view we had. We spent a lot of our time down by the pub because there was a nice frozen lake were you can ice skate or watch others play some hockey!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting over the holidays from Texas! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and the ambiance of our winter wonderland in Banff.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a grand old hotel, complete with the "castle experience". Truly romantic, child friendly as well and overall a place you won't likely forget - ever.

The rooms that have rotundas (curved castle type) are on the exterior corners. If you can get one, well worth it if they charge a little extra. The views are always superior, plus it adds dimension to a standard hotel experience.

There are shuttles there that take you to ski areas like Nakiska, Whistler and Lake Louise. Convenient for skiers because the hotel is set up to accommodate all of your gear; whether coming or going.

The food was excellent.

The spa service was exceptional and professional. White robed masseuses who don't talk your ear off during a spa treatment.

The common areas of this castle hotel are amazing and not to be overlooked. Large wood framed couches, expansive windows which allow sunshine to pour into seating areas all add to the ambiance. Fireplaces are sprinkled within the property, seasonally lit.

This is a very popular hotel and can be crowded at times, but don't let that stop you from staying here! You'd miss out on once of the nicest hotels in the world!

Room Tip: Try to find a reservation agent who will help you secure a rotunda room (the castle experience I des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, especially about the dining and spa experiences. Our colleagues will enjoy receiving these comments and knowing that you appreciated their efforts.
We are pleased that you enjoyed a turret room, one of the special touches in a Scottish baronial styled castle.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked a suite for 2 nights with a 5pm check-in and an expensive dinner in our room for 630pm along with a dozen roses 10 red and 2 white. We were checking in on Valentines, which is also the day we got married.

We showed up at 4:50 pm after working and then driving for an hour and a half to be told our room isn't clean and it would be about an hour to an hour and a half before we could get in. Then said they would give us a day room to sit in while we wait. Of course they took almost $2500.00 for the room and 200 for incidentals. After an hour in this tiny room I had to move dinner till later and was told would be at least another hour before our room would be ready.

At 7 pm a lady showed at our door with the keys to our suite and walked away. We had to find our room ( no directions) and had to call and ask for help get our luggage moved. Our luggage showed up just before our dinner. You could tell our food had been sitting on warmers and the flowers were wilting because they were sitting in the kitchen with our food waiting on the room as well.

This is when they told my wife that they would take 300 off our bill. There answer to ruining my 10 yr. wedding anniversary was a just over 10% discount. To add to this, the next morning we asked the maid why our room took so long and were told that our room is always Last to be cleaned on the floor.

Being part of their Presidents club didn't even help. They knew it was my anniversary. Ended up spending a ton more trying to make it up to my wife that she still feels they ruined.

Room Tip: Verify everything you book and hope they pay attention to the notes in the computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are certainly very sorry to read your review and will be in touch.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Yes, it really is a "castle in the mountains"! Elegant, historic property (they don't make them like this anymore) with truly exceptional service (every employee was professional, helpful & friendly). Check out the old photographs on the Mezzanine level & take the free tour offered. We stayed on the "Gold Club floor", where the Concierges were wonderful. The Club overlooks the mountains & gondola lifts & it's a great place to cozy up by the fireplace at night. A complimentary breakfast (superb) is displayed buffet style, along with evening hors d'oeuvres (mediocre) & desserts later. Everything is self-serve, including a wine & spirits bar. If you imbibe, you will be charged. Surprising, as virtually every "concierge level" club we've stayed in included complimentary alcohol. Our room was $750 per night…I think we deserved a "free" cocktail :) The rooms are well-equipped, nicely decorated, but very small. Our view, overlooking the Bow Valley was spectacular. We ate at a couple of the hotel's restaurants and the food & service were very good. The Fairmont enjoys an ideal location..just a 15 minute walk to the cute town where you'll find plenty of dining & shopping options. Don't miss Bow Falls…just below the hotel. It's a gorgeous view with great hiking. Nearby is the Waldhaus which is part of the Fairmont…a charming Bavarian "chalet" serving dinner overlooking the golf course (which is also stunning). For us, it was a "once in a lifetime" trip because the hotel & it's amenities are quite expensive. If money is no object or, like us, you are celebrating a special occasion, give yourself this gift…because it's that special a place!

Room Tip: We only saw our room..but I'd imagine that any view of the Bow Valley would be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Owner at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold and the amenities on site.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. This was part of a longer trip in Canada. The hotel was just amazing. Beautiful diffrent rooms very much like a castle. Restaurants superb as were the bars in the hotel. The wow factor for us was the service. We felt like royalty. Being British we are not used too such service and too many people to name but the few that I would who were awsome were; Robby, Kevin, Bar Manager at the pub, English female bar tender think name of Lisa. A must for anyone's bucket list!

Room Tip: Stanley Thompson wing rooms spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We appreciate your kind accolades for our colleagues and the service you received. We will ensure they receive your feedback. Thank you!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautiful "castle style" building, beautiful and huge rooms, nice restaurant(s), facilities…
Wonderful indoor/outdoor spa, perfection all in all.
The best and the widest range breakfast I've ever seen...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for visiting from Hungary! We do appreciate your kind compliments.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.