We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon in December. We booked the gold floor which is like a boutique hotel within the hotel with its own executive lounge serving canapés and cooked breakfast with its own desk. The room was smaller than expected but perfectly layed out, we had a beautiful view of the Rocky mountains. The hotel was so amazing we didn't leave that much! The spa was fantastic and the outside heated pool was a nice touch. A cosy warm welcoming hotel. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Banff Springs for your honeymoon! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service and ambiance of the gold floor. On behalf of the management and staff of The Fairmont Banff Springs, we wish you all the best in the years to come together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,924
    684
    308
    183
    109
See reviews for
643
1,512
69
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Overall, we enjoyed our one night stay at the Banff Springs. However there were a few surprising incidents that reduce my rating to 4.
My husband is a platinum president's club member and had requested a morning check-in as I would be staying at the hotel for the day whilst the rest of the family skied . We had even recieved an email saying that the request had been noted . On arrival I was informed that there was another platinum level guest in the room who was not due to check out until 5pm - therefore not even the usual 4pm check-in was possible.
The member of staff on the front desk , Lawrence, was great though and organised another room for me to use for the day. He knew which room we had actually been assigned for the evening and was reluctant to switch us to another. He was right not to do so as the room we eventually stayed in was excellent.
The next incident was of much greater concern though. At one point I left my jacket and purse locked in the temporary room for 15mins whilst I went to meet my family in the hotel lobby. On returning to the room I found both my jacket and purse missing. I was obviously very concerned and my first thought was that the items had been stolen - a very unpleasant feeling .
A helpful member of staff who happened to be in the corridor suggested that my items may have been moved to a new room and she went away to investigate . After a few worrying minutes the member of staff returned and she said that was indeed the case even though I hadn't been informed that the other room had now become available. My 9yr old had been in tears thinking that his iPad mini , which had been in my purse, had been taken.
We were disappointed that the hotel would allow a guest's personal items to be moved between rooms without the guest being made aware of this, and ,more importantly, without their consent .
Our concerns were passed on to the front desk manager but , surprisingly, we heard nothing more during our stay.
The last ' incident' was when we asked if we could make use of the Fairmont car to take us in to Banff town centre. The concierge informed us that " we don't do that" .My husband questioned this as the car was parked outside . The member of staff then informed us that they had a car but no driver. No apology - not even a smile.
Despite our eventful first few hours the hotel itself is a wonderful place to explore . The room we eventually ended up staying in was a Stanley Thompson suite . It was very spacious, comfortable and possibly better than we expected.
I ate twice in the Rundle Lounge and the food was both delicious and well priced. Most of the Fairmont staff were very friendly and helpful -including the young lady who helped solve the mystery of the disappearing items.
Thanks to Lawrence, we also had a very late check-out the following day which allowed my family to enjoy the hotel amenities after returning from the ski hill (no incoming hotel guest was inconvenienced by this as the room was unoccupied that night ).

Room Tip: 1801 has two queen beds, separate bed room and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We care about your experience and we will most certainly be contacting you directly to reassure you. We appreciate the opportunity to do so.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay here, because that is all we honestly could afford.
The view from our room of the Bow river was spectacular and the grounds of the hotel are very nice.
The outdoor pool was great on the muscles after a day of walking around, and I liked how they had an indoor pool as well.
The downfall was that no free internet (especially with the cost of the room there almost should be) We didn't eat at the hotel either because it was quite expensive.
But I highly recommend at least a one night stay in this hotel because of the service and the ambiance and the views.
Beautiful place :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting us from Toronto! We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay. Our loyalty program, The Fairmont President's Club, offers valuable benefits such as complimentary wifi. We certainly hope you will consider joining and perhaps you will visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Depending on what you're staying in Banff for, this could probably be the place for you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs is amazing, maybe get yourself in the mood first by watching The Shining, or visit a website with some Banff hotel themed stories.

During one visit that I had made in the past, I arrived to a hotel running on generators... the power was out! All of the guests got glow sticks, perhaps some hotels wouldn't get away with this, but it was very fun in this hotel.

You can also spend hours just walking around the hotel, exploring different rooms and areas. The restaurants are delicious, and the views from the great morning buffet is just heavenly.

Outdoor pool is very nice too.

Staff are polite and well trained in customer service.

Awesome prices for where you are staying and in the beautiful Banff.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room that does not have a window at the working level floor. During one of my sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your comments have been shared with our team. They will enjoy knowing that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the outage, and including outstanding dining experiences. We appreciate your sharing your experience and hope you will return if your travels bring you back from Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed on the 9th floor. Amazing views, I don't think there is a bad one from that high up.
We brought both our dogs, the hotel brought up 2 huge dog beds, water, food bowls, poop bags, & huge home made cookies for them.
I would highly suggest the spa, worth booking something and relaxing in their private room in your robe after.
All the staff was incredible. Everyone was super helpful and friendly. They are all there to make you as comfortable as possible.
Going home feeling very relaxed and happy. Had a great stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you, and your pets, had a wonderful stay at The Fairmont Banff Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a family getaway to the Banff Springs this past weekend and it was truly amazing. From the valet service, to the front desk, the concierge, the rooms, everything was perfect. We brought our kids with us for a family weekend and they had so much fun going to the hot pool, the skating rink, and the bowling alley. The food here is quite expensive so we brought a few snacks with us but everything was perfect. If you bring kids with you, I would highly recommend doing the hotel scavenger hunt as you can see different parts of the hotel and the kids get a little prize from the treasure chest when they complete it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stanley Thompson wing with the kids and had a very good sized room (compared to a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that your family enjoyed all aspects of the stay, including your room in the Stanley Thompson wing. We hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Will not be returning for High Tea anytime soon! Very expensive for what you get....tea was served too late and the starter fruit dish consisted of an old strawberry, cut in half....3 blueberries and 1 blackberry....really that's the best they can do?? Scones, sandwiches and cakes nothing spectacular....As one of the greatest hotels in the world, Banff Springs could truly do a better job than that. Quite disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your tea experience. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment and a hotel representative has emailed you to learn more. We care about our standards and your experience.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.