We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 40% Off This Fall!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spectacular location and an elegant old hotel make this a very nice stay. Clearly a historic landmark. As you'd expect at a Fairmont, the service is really excellent, very friendly and helpful staff everywhere. Probably also as you'd expect from a hotel this old and historic, the rooms are not huge and the facilities, while good, show the age of the hotel (noisy heating, so-so plumbing). The restaurants are good but VERY expensive, really overly so given the food quality. In-room WiFi was good but also quite expensive. Overall, it's fun stay here because it's an historic castle, but for a longer stay I'd look for other Banff options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the engaging service at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We do certainly hope you will return. Our loyalty program does offer many complimentary benefits you are sure to enjoy. Ask us!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    636
    295
    174
    104
See reviews for
609
1392
66
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

An outstanding value for what you pay!
We stayed for a weekend to get away from it all.
Visited the spa for a day as a treat.
When you get a certain service, such as a massage, you get unlimited access to the spa for the day.
Had such a relaxing time, when I was ready to go, I had to ask a staff member to show me the exit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are so pleased you loved the Willow Stream Spa! Thank you for your review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our company booked this hotel for a corporate function and I have to say, everybody was pretty excited. The Banff Springs Hotel has a fantastic reputation and it did not disappoint. The place is, quite literally, a castle. If you ever can, stay here and explore. Find all the neat places to just exist for a while.

Anyway...

At check-in, I was in the President's Club line and both attendants were busy. One of the staff off the "regular" line came around to get me rather than have me continue waiting. Now that's knowing how to please your customer...however, I was one of the few with no complimentary room upgrade, haha, oh well. From beginning to end, the service quality was incredible, especially our bartender Maggy. Staff were always friendly and polite and genuinely looked like they wanted to be there.

My room, though in a major throughfare, was quiet. While small (definitely meant for single occupancy) it was immaculately clean and impeccably ornamented. I love the Le Labo toiletries and would heartily recommend filling your bag (or buying from the gift shop, it ain't cheap though).

The conference facilities were at the same level as the room and service. The meals were surprisingly good given the sheer number of people (I sincerely doubt most caterers could handle it nearly half as well) and all-in-all, everybody in our company was impressed by not just the surroundings, but the level of service.

If you are ever personally or professionally able to stay here, do so. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are delighted to have received your review and to hear how pleased you were with your events at The Fairmont Banff Springs. Thank you. It means so much, and we have shared your revierw with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I hosted my second event at the Springs this October.

The rooms are nice but I would not risk personally getting a ``Fairmont Room`` as they can be quite small with a weird layout.

Aaron, Shelley and Grace are very good at their jobs (managing your events) but the rest of the staff are just average. The amazing architecture of the the hotel really helps overlook any shortfalls.

If you are planning an event be careful as their seating capacities on their website are not accurate.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Warm and engaging service is our mantra and anything less is not acceptable by our standards. We are truly sorry to know of any disappointment felt by our guests and we do apply all reviews and feedback to our constructive. use. A hotel representative will be in touch with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed 3 days to make a mini-vacation for ourselves. Very positive experience with our room, staff, and quality of food. Our room was in the older part of the hotel, and was very comfortable albeit a bit tight for space since we had to bring along formal and cold weather clothing. Every staff person we had opportunity to meet or quiz was very accommodating and made us feel special. Managed to do some walks along the various trails in the area. Had breakfast brunch at The Grill one morning - lots of variety and food quality very good. A number of the restaurants were closed in the hotel (assume low season).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay a few extra days. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with us!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked this hotel in February 2013 for September 2013 long week-end to attend a wedding. It was very surprising to us to arrive and learn from the staff that the hotel was overbooked and our room is unavailable, therefore we would be given a temporarily different room and we would have to move tomorrow. When we explained that tomorrow is a wedding day and it's very inconvenient for us to move, staff assured us we would have no problem and they would move us without any problem. Next day when we returned from a walk to get dressed for the ceremony we discovered that our room is empty and a new room is not assigned to us and our clothes are nowhere to be found. After 30 min going back and forth from reception to our old room and to the new room, we finally got into the room, but couldn't find our clothes, they were not moved. Long story short- we were late for the wedding for 30 min and we lost our food from the fridge as the staff didn't move it.
Breakfast was good, though it's quite pricey, about 30$ per person. What also surprised us - you have to pay for pretty much everything in the hotel- wi-fi is not included, gym is not included, parking is 25$ per day, .
Next morning I decided to visit a swimming pool(it's free), the water was dirty, some garbage was swimming in water including the chewing gum.
The rest of the stay was ok, average rooms, nothing to write home about.
What was good:The views are beautiful, the surroundings are magnificent, lots of stores in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are so sorry to read your review as clearly this experience is not what we strive for or you are deserving of. A hotel representative will be in contact personally with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had 4 rooms booked over the Remembrance Day long weekend...this hotel never disappoints!!

When we arrived the doorman was very accommodating as we were early and needed to store our bags. Name recognition was the best I have seen…everyone felt very special.

We arrived at the front desk and the agent was very polite and escorted us to the elevators and explained how to get to the Fairmont Gold Floor

We were greeted by Danae on the Gold Floor and she was amazing. So polite / friendly and assured us everything would be set up when the room is ready. We did receive our call back and as promised everything was already in our rooms. We spoke to Danae several times during our stay and she truly is an asset to this property. I also want to point our Spence who was extremely attentive and courteous to the myself and our kids. The entire Gold Floor team was great.

Rooms were clean and in good condition. What stood out more was that every housekeeper we saw, greeted us with a smile and a friendly “Hello”.

The pool was perfect. The very warm outdoor pool in the snowy mountains is a must...can't beat that view!

I love this hotel and always visit for lunch or drinks even on day trips to Banff…the service we received was outstanding during this stay!

This is the place to stay in Banff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are delighted to read your review and to share it with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.