We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle in the Rockies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Castle in the Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Recently attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed 3 days to make a mini-vacation for ourselves. Very positive experience with our room, staff, and quality of food. Our room was in the older part of the hotel, and was very comfortable albeit a bit tight for space since we had to bring along formal and cold weather clothing. Every staff person we had opportunity to meet or quiz was very accommodating and made us feel special. Managed to do some walks along the various trails in the area. Had breakfast brunch at The Grill one morning - lots of variety and food quality very good. A number of the restaurants were closed in the hotel (assume low season).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay a few extra days. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with us!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    664
    307
    181
    109
See reviews for
632
1,470
69
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked this hotel in February 2013 for September 2013 long week-end to attend a wedding. It was very surprising to us to arrive and learn from the staff that the hotel was overbooked and our room is unavailable, therefore we would be given a temporarily different room and we would have to move tomorrow. When we explained that tomorrow is a wedding day and it's very inconvenient for us to move, staff assured us we would have no problem and they would move us without any problem. Next day when we returned from a walk to get dressed for the ceremony we discovered that our room is empty and a new room is not assigned to us and our clothes are nowhere to be found. After 30 min going back and forth from reception to our old room and to the new room, we finally got into the room, but couldn't find our clothes, they were not moved. Long story short- we were late for the wedding for 30 min and we lost our food from the fridge as the staff didn't move it.
Breakfast was good, though it's quite pricey, about 30$ per person. What also surprised us - you have to pay for pretty much everything in the hotel- wi-fi is not included, gym is not included, parking is 25$ per day, .
Next morning I decided to visit a swimming pool(it's free), the water was dirty, some garbage was swimming in water including the chewing gum.
The rest of the stay was ok, average rooms, nothing to write home about.
What was good:The views are beautiful, the surroundings are magnificent, lots of stores in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are so sorry to read your review as clearly this experience is not what we strive for or you are deserving of. A hotel representative will be in contact personally with you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had 4 rooms booked over the Remembrance Day long weekend...this hotel never disappoints!!

When we arrived the doorman was very accommodating as we were early and needed to store our bags. Name recognition was the best I have seen…everyone felt very special.

We arrived at the front desk and the agent was very polite and escorted us to the elevators and explained how to get to the Fairmont Gold Floor

We were greeted by Danae on the Gold Floor and she was amazing. So polite / friendly and assured us everything would be set up when the room is ready. We did receive our call back and as promised everything was already in our rooms. We spoke to Danae several times during our stay and she truly is an asset to this property. I also want to point our Spence who was extremely attentive and courteous to the myself and our kids. The entire Gold Floor team was great.

Rooms were clean and in good condition. What stood out more was that every housekeeper we saw, greeted us with a smile and a friendly “Hello”.

The pool was perfect. The very warm outdoor pool in the snowy mountains is a must...can't beat that view!

I love this hotel and always visit for lunch or drinks even on day trips to Banff…the service we received was outstanding during this stay!

This is the place to stay in Banff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are delighted to read your review and to share it with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a lovely mountain and Bow valley view room in the Stanley Thompson wing and it was wonderful. Had a living area with sofa and chairs and desk and storage and fire place and then also a separate bedroom and bathroom. Amazing vistas and views and very very quiet. Room was a gem. Never heard anyone above us or next to us and the hotel was almost sold out most of the weekend. Staff were very polite, attentive and professional. The hotel itself is fantastic and charming and magical for all ages. You are not only paying for your room - you are paying for the fantastic public areas this hotel has to offer including outdoor pool, wonderful private sitting and pondering areas, amazing architecture and ambiance and for access to anything one could want or need. It must cost a mint to keep this beauty in operation and she is worth it. We felt the money paid was worth the magical experience. Pet friendly and pet welcoming. Parking is reasonable in cost and access to Banff attractions and town center are perfect for walking or driving really. The free tour of the castle is well worth ones time and you just can't beat the whole feel this place gives off. Loved it. You'd have to be in a coma to not like it. Choose your room carefully and with thought and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I recommend the Stanley Thompson wing and a mountain view to boot is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are always so appreciative of our guest feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Besides the price banff springs is perfect! Last year one of the staff members stole my moms camera. The next year we got two nights free in the W.W. Stinson suite. There were activates for kids (kids club). There was movies, skating (winter), bowling and my favorite relaxing. The food is exquisite. On Christmas there is a breakfast buffet with bands playing. This is place is beautiful!!! Banff springs is the right place to choose.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room by the elevator. (you'll be awake all night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. A hotel representative has reached out to you privately.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We checked in with Elke and she upgraded us to room 807... located in the northern tower. 807 is a three-level architectural beauty with 360 degree views of snow covered Bow River valley and Banff area. Everything is top-shelf including the friendly and professional staff, hot spring pool, and proximity to Banff village and attractions.

Room Tip: 807 is spectacular, one of a kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the unique features of room 807, on a newly renovated guestroom floor. We are pleased you loved it!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The problems associated with Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise occur here.....a number
of " day-trippers" crowd all of the common areas ; touring the hotel by visitors is annoying
when one pays $ 500 + per nite for an average room. The hotel inside & out is beautiful
& the views are fabulous but....this hotel is simply not a 5 star hotel. We were at the hotel
for 2 nites & both nites could not get reservations at the main restraurants . While waiting
for a table , we met several couples who arrived by a tour bus from one of the towns just
south of Bannf ; they all arrived at the hotel via a tour bus with a dinner coupon with 50 %
off their meal.Of course we felt a little foolish & understood why reservations were hard to
obtain.
Nice hotel & beautiful views but not a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting from Colorado. We appreciate and value your sentiments, and have shared them with our team for their consideration. As a UNESCO World Heritage Site, we are truly a living museum and attract many visitors as you mention. We will work harder at protecting the experience for those overnighting here as well.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.