We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY & SAVE UP TO 40%!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Must admit was very happy with the stay compared to the Jasper park lodge. Great room, great service, great ambience. Will recommend again even though pricey. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Food was excellent though bit on the heavy side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are most pleased that you experienced exceptional service which is what we strive for. A positive review is very motivating for us to receive and we do appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,564
    847
    378
    214
    136
See reviews for
897
1,901
90
589
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. We were not impressed our first night as we were given a very small room and bearing in mind the cost of our trip were not happy. Having arrived very late in the evening (11pm) we were just grateful for a bed. They relocated us the next morning to a better room but it was annoying to have to repack our bags. We took breakfast in the deli type cafe and this was ok but not very inspiring, and the prices were high. We could have free refills of coffee in our paper cup but not tea which seemed very strange. The hotel was very clean but we found the hotel so vast with its variety of corridor lined with shops that there was nothing personal about it. We did however have a good sleep in a very comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get dumped into what the receptionist described as one of the smallest rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback which has been shared with the culinary team and rooms division. We hope that you enjoyed your train trip and we will use your comments constructively.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This has been hands down the best hotel experience I've ever had. We stayed on the 5th floor, the GOLD floor, and it was absolutely amazing. The views, the beds, the lounge area were all great. They also had the best showers I've ever been in!

Food was fantastic, location was unbelievable and breath taking. Service was perfect, never had to wait for anything. I have nothing bad to say about this place. We even had deer venture into the ground at night so we had a bonus wildlife view for free!

It is costly, but for what you are getting, it is worth every single penny!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that you loved your stay and the Fairmont Gold floor. Thank you very much!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yes the view was stunning but food a giant disappointment. Fruit (3 blueberries, 2 blackberries and 1 strawberry) was clearly not fresh (shriveled). Sandwiches served on dried out bread. Fig on rye had an odd taste. What could have been just wasn't.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our culinary team is most concerned about excellence and your experience, and an investigation into the shortfalls of your experience has begun. Please respond to the private email sent to you from a hotel representative.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for Christmas and I must say that this was the best place to be at Christmas.

The staff are all very nice. But the SETTING. WOW. I've been to the mountains many times, but this is the first time I stayed at the FBS.

I will say, it is expensive. HOWEVER, for a special occasion I think it is well worth the money.

The room was gorgeous, the view was gorgeous, everything about this hotel is spectacular. And on Christmas day, we had a stocking full of goodies hanging on our door :)

I did not eat at any of the restaurants (it was $75 for a buffet breakfast, too rich for my blood) so I can't comment on the food. I can imagine it would be good food though.

Room Tip: I brought my own food for breakfast, and they were kind enough to put a microwave in my room so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting for Christmas! We are working on our festive events for this season now and hope someday your travels will bring you back.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The castle is indeed impressive and supremely situated with mountains all around. However, given its immense size, the hotel seems better suited to conferences than to vacationing families. Our biggest complaint was the food. We ate in 2 hotel restaurants and once bought picnic fare from the deli--all 3 meals were overpriced and disappointing. I had expected Fairmont-quality food, but it was more like national park-quality food. The large dining room reminded us of Disneyworld. Servers were rushed, impersonal, and not familiar with the food. Our dining experiences in town were far better and cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, which has been shared with our culinary team for their consideration. We are truly sorry that you felt this way and will strive to work harder in this area as we are committed to excellence in this area.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a magnificent setting. Picture perfect from every angle especially from the top of the Gondala.

We stopped at four Fairmont Hotels and they were all first class.

Bob and Moira Beresford

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. We appreciate it and hope you will visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.