We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% OFF SPRING BREAK
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manitoba, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for a conference and brought the family. Got a large and beautiful room in the conference center building. Others staying in the main building thought the room were small but ours was excellent. The location is incredibly beautiful and the hotel itself just as attractive. The pools are very warm, the entire pool area and change rooms very comfortable and you just can't beat the scenery. We did not eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel. It is expensive and our beds, although nice, were probably ready to be replaced. I don't think it offers value but it does offer amazing views and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent visit with your family, while attending a meeting at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    720
    322
    188
    115
See reviews for
717
1,594
75
488
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here at the end of our 2 week holiday in Canada. Yes, it's expensive, but in my opinion worth every penny. I'm by no means easy to please but I really could not fault this place. This is service as it should be: the staff are intelligent, pleasant without being ingratiating and above all keen to please. From the knowledgeable concierge to the bell boys who found us tape for a broken suitcase everyone seemed happy in their work and willing to get things right. Service in the restaurants was snappy and the food (and cocktails) were very good. We ate fondue in the Grapes wine bar, a small, intimate restaurant despite the size of the hotel, and out on the terrace - 270 degree mountain view - where we had delicious sirloin burgers. The breakfast buffet was amazing and included just about anything you could think of for breakfast. we paid more for a mountain view and a slightly larger room, having fallen foul of room size in old hotels on previous holidays and the room was spacious enough and dual aspect. Lovely bathroom. Yes, you generally get more space for your money in modern hotels but this was a small price to pay. The location is perfect: amazing views and close enough to Banff for an evening walk. This was our first experience in a Fairmont but it certainly won't be the last. Based on our experience in Banff we intent to seek them out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the service and dining you experienced here at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We hope to see you again and have shared your comments with our colleagues. We hope that you enjoy the rest of the summer.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family fell in love with the architecture of this beautiful hotel while traveling through Banff on another trip and dreamed what it would be like to stay there. We should have left it as a fantasy. The hotel is extremely understaffed and that made our holiday miserable. From about 5 minutes after we checked in and found our rooms were mixed up with another family member there was nothing but confusion and apologies. The worst was the restaurant staff in several of the lounges and eateries. Meals were routinely forgotten and napkins were stained with lipstick or wrinkled and tossed into water and coffee cups for guests to use.
We knew our rooms would be small, but the noise from the plumbing of other guest rooms will keep us away from this hotel and this hotel chain for a very long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The Fairmont Banff Springs would like to apologize for your disappointing experience. A hotel representative will be contacting you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wow, don't waste your money. This place is beautiful, old, good location and that is IT! This is primarily a conference center. They could care a less about the individual room. We came from the Fairmont in Lake Louise and the experience there was PERFECT. Stay there instead. It is only 30 minutes away from Banff and closer to Yoho and the Icefeilds Parkway. Both of these are a must do. Having been in the hotel industry myself, we were taught that the first impression ie., front desk, is the most important to a guests overall opinion of the whole hotel. Well, the front desk staff at this hotel is TERRIBLE. They are seriously understaffed and very uninterested in helping. The front desk staff at Lake Louise couldn't do enough for you. What a difference that makes.

I will say however that had it not been for Laurence the Concierge, and the unfortunate fact that we pre paid for all 3 nights, we would have checked out after the first day and gone back to the Fairmont in Lake Louise. This hotel would not survive if it were not for employees like Laurence. He actually cared a great deal about our happiness while here in Banff. We couldn't have done nearly all that we did if not for his expert advise.

Now about the rooms. Yikes, they are small and old. OK, that is to be expected with a historic hotel like this, but dirty? No way. I have had cleaner rooms at Hampton Inns. Let me also say that I have NEVER given a bad review to a hotel before. We travel all over the world, all the time and as a member of the Fairmont Presidents Club, I like to try to stay with them whenever possible (or a Ritz) and I am never disappointed. The Banff Springs Hotel is surviving completely on its location. Such a shame. It could be a real "castle in the sky" if only they would pay attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The Fairmont Banff Springs is sorry to have read your review and learn of your disappointment. A Hotel representative will be personally contacting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from an amazing trip to Banff National Park. We stayed at Fairmont Banff Springs for 3 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Although the room was quite small, the service was excellent and the views are amazing. When you compare other places to stay in the area, the Fairmont is by far the best choice. We were trying to decide between Banff Springs and Lake Louise and I am so glad that we chose Banff Springs. Lake Louise is quite amazing, but, the only thing that is there is the lake. If you stay in Banff, you have a beautiful, easy walk into town which houses great restaurants, shops and hikes. You will not be disappointed. A little pricey, but worth the expense!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you experienced excellent service while a guest with us, and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back from North Carolina.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Some surprising high points included the fabulous pools. Nice outdoor pool 90 degrees and a spectacular giant indoor lap pool. Also the German and Italian restaurants are very good. We stayed on the Fairmont Gold floor which actually came out to the same price--you don't have to buy breakfast plus for dinner you just need to get an entree because they serve canapés and desserts. There is an honor bar.....The rooms are very small but the view is amazing.The private checkin and concierge is nice. There's nothing like it in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the Fairmont gold floor, the Waldhaus and Castellos restaurants and the service overall. We appreciate your kind comments and will share them appropriately.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in February using several gift certificates. Check in was simple and efficient. Unfortunately, the room we had didn't have any sort of view. The building is old and has character but I prefer something a little more modern. The decor is fitting for the property and all of the services worked well. The corridors were noisy during the night but this may have been due to the wedding parties that were taking place. There are several stores within the Chateau but all very expensive. Parking was across the street in a multi story parking lot. The staff were pleasant and friendly. Unless we have to use more gift certificates I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and your honesty. We strive to be special, both in the memories we create and in our location and beauty. We are sorry that you were disappointed and will reach out personally to you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.