We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Ski Passes!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Ft. Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and two teenage daughters stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs in early July. We are from the south, and wanted to get away from the heat. The setting of this hotel is amazing. It's set all the way through town, right next to a river. When you hear "the castle", they are not exaggerating. It is massive, and beautiful. We rented a car and when we pulled in, we were informed that tips had been included in the price. At check-in, the Fairmont Gold line was well taken care of with two hosts checking guests in. I'm not a Fairmont gold status member, so we waited in the line, where one girl was working. They have several check-in counters, but we came in on a Tuesday afternoon, and they didn't have a full staff (or it didn't look like they did). We stayed in the Stanley Thompson wing. I had read a review to not stay there, and I ignored it. My advice is to stay in the main hotel. The Room had a great view, but you had to go outside and across the street to get to the room. Be ready, because the place is expensive. The restaurants are good, but pricey. It's a nice place, but I don't think it's worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We will ensure that your feedback is shared with our team. Our mission is to turn moments into memories for our guests and we will continue strive to accomplish that. Please do visit us again, we would love to provide you with a memorable stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,332
    525
    255
    153
    90
See reviews for
464
1088
56
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed in The Banff Springs a few different times. I am ALWAYS impressed. I love this place. My favorite rooms are always in the Stanley Thompson wing. The suites over there are more secluded and have a fabulous treed view or mountain view. The suites are very large and come equipped with your own fireplace.
My grandaughters always receive a " princess " welcome package upon check in complete with with a tiarra.
In my opinion this hotel is the only place to stay when visiting Banff.

Room Tip: Stanley Thompson wing,A suite close to the stairs leading down to the Bow Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other readers on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Stanley Thompson wing during your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks like fairy tale castle nestled against the mountains. I loved the history of the hotel & the historical tour with Dave was fantastic!! Besides the hotel tour they had a lot of other activities at the hotel...s'more making, movie night, lawn croquet & of course bag piping to go along with their Scottish theme. The staff was fantastic, Robert, at the concierge desk, was full of knowledge about the hotel & tours around the area. We ate at the German restaurant & the food & drink was very good. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5* is because the rooms did not have air conditioning & the bathrooms do tend to be a little small. A person needs to keep in mind that this is a historical building & this is all part of the charm of it. They did have a ceiling fan & the windows did open so at night even on a warm day the room can cool off. That being said, yes, I was a bit warm some nights as we were there in the middle of summer & we had a room facing the sunset, which warmed it up. Overall, was very impressed with the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your patronage and your positive review. Our colleagues have received a copy of it so they know you appreciated their efforts.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We scored an upgrade to a Deluxe Premium View King room for only an additional CAD35 per night when we stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. This gave us a massive bedroom, separate walk in robe room, large bathroom and another huge sitting room that had views over the Bow river! We were absolutely gob smacked when we walked in and found what our upgrade gave us! If you are offered this option when booking I strongly recommend you try for it. (You find out on checkin if you've been given the upgrade).

The room decor was the usual quality that comes with the Fairmont hotels, with plush carpets, real wood furniture and a large and super comfortable bed. The first morning it was raining so we pulled on the fluffy bathrobes and ordered room service breakfast. The wait staff setup a separate table in the other room, with white linen, a flower in a vase, sparkling silver and served us our breakfast. Again, this was far more than the "meal on a tray" that I was expecting. They really know how to spoil you at the Banff Springs.

Banff is a pretty town and there are lots of interesting shops along the main street - including a year long Christmas shop that is just stuffed to the gills with everything Christmas you could ever imagine! Out of town we enjoyed the gondola ride up to Sulphur Mountain. Really beautiful views from up there.
Loved our stay, only bad thing was it was too short (oh, and don't try to grab clean cutlery from another table in the breakfast room - the waiters don't like it!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We couldn't agree more that enjoying a Castle in Rockies on an inclement day is a real treat!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time staying and I'm amazed. The staff is VERY friendly. For example, when we arrived everyday in our car they would open the door for us and ask how our day was. Also when my dad would call the front desk for some help they would always greet us by saying "How can we help the Flowers family?" They also helped us with our luggage when we checked in and out.
The food was delicious. The breakfast was very well made and hot. The dinner at the restaurant was very good too.
The view from our window was amazing. The location was convenient. It was a walking distance to the downtown area.
Overall I would love to stay here again!! My only complaint is that some stuff are very expensive. But, I still love it and would come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 9th floor. They're aren't many people there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that you decided to name your experience "Wow" and it was a pleasure to have served you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wow, this hotel is not only full of charm but also walking distance to BANFF and other local sites. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Views are as one would expect are spectacular either side of the hotel. You could spend a day just exploring the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting. Please come again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was amazing! The grand staircases were the subject of a few pictures as were the stone walls. We felt secure within those walls and we felt welcomed by the staff. From the valet service to the maid service, everyone was so friendly. Our room looked down into the grass courtyard below but we also had a view of the waterfall a little distance away. The walk into town is a short one and very pleasant. You never know what sights you will see either. We saw a coyote run across the street in front of us on one of our walks and on another, there was an elk right next to the sidewalk, not 5 feet away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, and the destination including the local wildlife characters! We hope you will join us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Springs
Fairmont Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.