We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Stanley Thompson wing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stay in the Stanley Thompson wing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed in The Banff Springs a few different times. I am ALWAYS impressed. I love this place. My favorite rooms are always in the Stanley Thompson wing. The suites over there are more secluded and have a fabulous treed view or mountain view. The suites are very large and come equipped with your own fireplace.
My grandaughters always receive a " princess " welcome package upon check in complete with with a tiarra.
In my opinion this hotel is the only place to stay when visiting Banff.

Room Tip: Stanley Thompson wing,A suite close to the stairs leading down to the Bow Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other readers on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Stanley Thompson wing during your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
652
1,525
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks like fairy tale castle nestled against the mountains. I loved the history of the hotel & the historical tour with Dave was fantastic!! Besides the hotel tour they had a lot of other activities at the hotel...s'more making, movie night, lawn croquet & of course bag piping to go along with their Scottish theme. The staff was fantastic, Robert, at the concierge desk, was full of knowledge about the hotel & tours around the area. We ate at the German restaurant & the food & drink was very good. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5* is because the rooms did not have air conditioning & the bathrooms do tend to be a little small. A person needs to keep in mind that this is a historical building & this is all part of the charm of it. They did have a ceiling fan & the windows did open so at night even on a warm day the room can cool off. That being said, yes, I was a bit warm some nights as we were there in the middle of summer & we had a room facing the sunset, which warmed it up. Overall, was very impressed with the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful for your patronage and your positive review. Our colleagues have received a copy of it so they know you appreciated their efforts.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We scored an upgrade to a Deluxe Premium View King room for only an additional CAD35 per night when we stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. This gave us a massive bedroom, separate walk in robe room, large bathroom and another huge sitting room that had views over the Bow river! We were absolutely gob smacked when we walked in and found what our upgrade gave us! If you are offered this option when booking I strongly recommend you try for it. (You find out on checkin if you've been given the upgrade).

The room decor was the usual quality that comes with the Fairmont hotels, with plush carpets, real wood furniture and a large and super comfortable bed. The first morning it was raining so we pulled on the fluffy bathrobes and ordered room service breakfast. The wait staff setup a separate table in the other room, with white linen, a flower in a vase, sparkling silver and served us our breakfast. Again, this was far more than the "meal on a tray" that I was expecting. They really know how to spoil you at the Banff Springs.

Banff is a pretty town and there are lots of interesting shops along the main street - including a year long Christmas shop that is just stuffed to the gills with everything Christmas you could ever imagine! Out of town we enjoyed the gondola ride up to Sulphur Mountain. Really beautiful views from up there.
Loved our stay, only bad thing was it was too short (oh, and don't try to grab clean cutlery from another table in the breakfast room - the waiters don't like it!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We couldn't agree more that enjoying a Castle in Rockies on an inclement day is a real treat!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time staying and I'm amazed. The staff is VERY friendly. For example, when we arrived everyday in our car they would open the door for us and ask how our day was. Also when my dad would call the front desk for some help they would always greet us by saying "How can we help the Flowers family?" They also helped us with our luggage when we checked in and out.
The food was delicious. The breakfast was very well made and hot. The dinner at the restaurant was very good too.
The view from our window was amazing. The location was convenient. It was a walking distance to the downtown area.
Overall I would love to stay here again!! My only complaint is that some stuff are very expensive. But, I still love it and would come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 9th floor. They're aren't many people there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that you decided to name your experience "Wow" and it was a pleasure to have served you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wow, this hotel is not only full of charm but also walking distance to BANFF and other local sites. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Views are as one would expect are spectacular either side of the hotel. You could spend a day just exploring the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting. Please come again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was amazing! The grand staircases were the subject of a few pictures as were the stone walls. We felt secure within those walls and we felt welcomed by the staff. From the valet service to the maid service, everyone was so friendly. Our room looked down into the grass courtyard below but we also had a view of the waterfall a little distance away. The walk into town is a short one and very pleasant. You never know what sights you will see either. We saw a coyote run across the street in front of us on one of our walks and on another, there was an elk right next to the sidewalk, not 5 feet away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, and the destination including the local wildlife characters! We hope you will join us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This Hotel is truly amazing! It does look like you are staying in a Castle, but again its all about the room view you pick make sure you get the "Bow Valley" view. If you are going to spend the money to stay at the fairmont get the view. Many choices on restaurants and great outdoor patios to have a drink and take pictures.. Alittle walk to town but there is a shuttles that runs all day for 2.00 or 5.00 for all day pass...Great shopping and food in town!!

Room Tip: Get Bow Valley view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Fairmont Banff Springs is celebrating our 125 anniversary this year and we are pleased that you could be a part of it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.