We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% OFF SPRING BREAK
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Neat hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Came here on business. The hotel is amazing. Very cool to stay in a "castle". The area is perfect. There is lots to do, the food and drink is on the pricey side but thats what you get in Banff for the most part anyway. It is a great get away for a couple days for a romtantic trip and to see the mountains. The service was really good from valet parking to food to room service. Would recomend the trip. Maybe pay the little bit extra for a view, those rooms seemed better then the run of the mill rooms.

Room Tip: no idea, my room was not that great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us during your business trip and for rating your experiences on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read you received some good service from valet parking, the F&B outlets and through Room Service. If there is anything that I can further assist, especially for a romantic trip, to see the mountains and to stay again in the Castle, please do not hesitate to let me know and I trust you had a safe trip back to home. Thank you once again for the review and for staying at The Fairmont Banff Springs. Regards, Edward J. Roe, Hotel Manager,The Fairmont Banff Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    759
    337
    195
    117
See reviews for
759
1,683
80
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrrived in Banff, on our 2nd stop of a 3 week trip to this amazing country. Wow we could see the hotel, set in the forest,it looked amazing. We arrived and had already paid for parking, but upgraded to valet. The hotel is stunning, our room was nice, not massive, but had a nice bathroom, and was spacious enough, the hotel is on the expensive side. But i guess you are paying to stay in a castle?? We used the hot springs pool each day, that was amazing with views of the mountains. Breakfast was also one of the best, (we stayed at 4 Fairmont's on our travels) loads of selection, of fruit, breads etc and a very nice seating area with view of the mountain. We tried the Banffshire dining and were very disappointed. Very overpriced fine dining, my husband paid less than the advertised price as we got a "special" rate as it was their 125th birthday, but in my opinion, save your money. The gym was very nice too, but didnt get to use it as we had so much to fit in our time. In all we loved this hotel, one of our favourites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJROE, General Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from London, thank you so much for making The Fairmont Banff Springs and 3 other Fairmont’s a big part of your Canadian 3 week vacation and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I was very happy to read you “Loved this Hotel” and that you enjoyed the pools, our buffet breakfast offering and our gym facilities, however I was concerned to read about your disappointing dining experience in The Banffshire Club Restaurant. If you have time, please do not hesitate to let me know some more details, however I will certainly be following up with my team as this is certainly not indicative of the level of dining experience we are striving for. I trust you had a safe trip back to England and on behalf of the entire team thank you so much for making “Castle in the Rockies” part of your Canadian Vacation. Yours Sincerely Edward J. Roe, Hotel Manager,The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The faimont was really a pleasure. You had the feeling that you were in an old Scottish castle upon the mountains. Nature sits by the hotel with the hot springs close by and other outdoor activities such as hiking and mountain biking at your doorstep. The food is exquisite, and the outdoor heated pool can be ever so relaxing after a long day of hitting the slopes for skiing or snowboarding. Though it can be pricy, it is one of the ultimate travel destinations.

Room Tip: You do not need the ultimate room as you are probably spending your day out and about.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool facilities and dining very much during your stay. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Alright people, enough complaining already! My boyfriend (now fiancé) whisked me away from Calgary for a romantic Canada Day long weekend getaway(June 28-July 1st), and it far surpassed both of our expectations! From the moment we arrived, the staff went above and beyond offering to help us with our luggage, etc. We then went to our second floor deluxe king room, to walk in and see nothing but magnificent views of the mountains and grounds! Honestly, we were speechless.

At first I was skeptical of coming here due to the higher prices compared to other Banff hotels, However, now that we have stayed here and experienced it for ourselves, it was worth every penny ! Every staff member we encountered, greeted us with a friendly smile, asking how we were enjoying our stay etc. It felt as though we were down south at an all inclusive vacation, with how attentive the staff was to us.

We often were patio side at the Rundle Lounge enjoying some celebratory drinks/just relaxing and taking in the views. Whenever a staff member heard about our engagement, they went above and beyond to make us feel very special and surprised us with complimentary champagne. It really added to the excitement of our special weekend. In the evenings, around 9pm they had an incredible musician come on and do live music, he was great to listen to, and just added to the atmosphere! (unfortunately his name slips my mind....)

We also dined at some of the restaurants, and we were very impressed with Castello, the Italian restaurant! We loved it so much, we booked a reservation twice! The servers there were very knowledgeable and outstanding.

As I mentioned we loved our room, it was very classic with old charm everywhere, from the chandelier, to the mirrors on the wall. Such a nice added touch, to the already gorgeous outside of the building.

We recommend staying here to anyone who wants to feel like they are taking a mini holiday. It was a paradise, and nice escape for us! I am hoping we will be able to plan a visit back annually, to be reminded of our engagement weekend!

p.s Highly recommend the historical tour with Dave which happens at 3pm...he was a hoot and did an excellent job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighed that you celebrated with us and will share your comments with our colleagues. They will enjoy knowing how much you appreciated their efforts.

Any plans for a wedding at Fairmont Hotels? Let us know how we can help.


The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Banff Springs hotel on at least four occasions in the past few years, some business and some personal. I have come to be deeply disappointed with a hotel that positions itself as the marquee destination in Banff, but consistently delivers poor service and average rooms (at best) at premium prices. Certainly the idea of the castle in the Rockies is charming and the hotel has enormous potential, but many of the guest rooms are very small, old, dark and dilapidated. Don't be fooled by the brand, this facility requires a major face lift or renovation to meet the quality standards of other Fairmont hotels around the world. Secondly, the hotel is significantly under-staffed, and in addition to long waits for assistance, you will often find that a number of the bars and restaurants on the property will be closed during any given stay, and all will close for the evening earlier than one would expect. The spa is a bright spot which I will give top marks for facilities and service, but the prices are sky high -- well above those at many other great destinations. After years of under-investment in the property and staff, the Banff Springs is no longer a marquee destination, and certainly does not provide anything resembling value at $400+ per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Given your disappointment, which we are sorry for, a hotel representative will reach out to you to personally discuss further.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we booked a Deluxe room after extensive research. Fairmont website describes a Standard room as ~250SF and Deluxe as ~385SF. I get that this is a castle and there will be some variances with each room, I was prepared for that. However, at a minimum, Deluxe should be larger than the Standard; after all, that's the whole point of buying an upgrade.

We walked into a tiny 213 SF room upon check in, with a bathroom so small that it uses the toilet as a doorstop. After talking to the front desk, we were told the avg Standard room is actually ~160SF, so relatively speaking, we did get a 'Deluxe'.

So we are talking about almost a 50% discrepancy b/w your ad and the actual room on a consistent basis, enough that it's a regular perception by the staff. This is beyond minor negligence, it's deceitful.

Before anyone gets bk to me about any room size disclaimer on the website, let me ask if I only paid up half the bill, would that have been acceptable? Obviously not, then it's not ok to advertise one thing and deliver only half the size.

Your customers come a long way and most are spending what little vacation they have -in other words, this is IT for most of us...there's no do-over. The problem here is not that rooms are small, it's you setting up the wrong expectation. had i known i was heading for a Standard room at a premium, I either wouldn't have booked it or at least not be angered with what I got.

After burning another 1/2 hr at the front desk, we were put in the exact same room but 4 floors up (so as to not stare at the roof AC units). It's supposedly renovated so it's not as nasty as the last one; unfortunately an updated room is considered a concession with this 5 star hotel.

I have read through enough of the trip advisor reviews to believe significant # of other people are seeing the same thing. This is unacceptable, ridiculous and dishonest. It's a real shame, being 2.5 hr away, this would have been a reg. destination spot.

Room Tip: Speak up if you got stiffed on the room category you bought, this being a castle is not an excuse to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment. A Hotel representative has personally emailed you to discuss as we do very much care about your loyalty.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we first arrived we had a very unpleasant person at check in. It was such a shame as it was our 10 year anniversary. (we didn't tell him that) We were given a room type much lower than what we booked it was so small we couldn't open our suitcases and could hardly stand up in it. We went back to see if we could change rooms but the same person was so rude to us that we just went back to our room. In the morning we went for breakfast and it was a complete disaster, they got the order wrong 3 times! We decided to go and complain to the Hotel Manager about our room and our breakfast. He spoke to us and said he would fix everything if we came back in a couple of hours. WOW he did fix everything we were upgraded to the most beautiful room - we had to take a private elevator to get there. The room was a suite, a huge spa bath with windows looking out over the mountais and a view to die for from all the other windows. We also had a walk out balcony we were high up on the Tarrots. It was absolutely amazing. We also were given an apology and a nice bottle of wine. We had dinner at the Hotel and were treated like royality. We would like to thank Mitchell Sager the Assistant Front Desk Manager for all that he did for us. He ended up making our stay and our anniversary the best we have ever had. When someone goes that extra mile it makes all the difference. The Hotel is amazing, the spa fantastic. It's walking distance to town or they have a shuttle accross the road. The views are incredible. Thanks again Mitchell for all you did. We can't wait to come back and stay again. We were going to rate this hotel quite poorly, but with all the effort that was made to fix everything we changed our minds.

Room Tip: The higher the better views over the Golf Course are better. Do the afternoon historian tour of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for allowing our colleagues to turn a negative into a positive for you and for your shining review. We are truly sorry for the bumpy start, and are pleased to have been able to provide a more memorable experience for you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.