We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mountain castle.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A mountain castle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago... gorgeous. Service was excellent... room was large, clean, and had a great view. Only qualm... back them some of the carpets and chairs were a little tatty... but it's a massive place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay on Trip advisor. We are always striving to maintain and beautify our living historic site. Although you haven't been to see us in a while, we do hope you will return soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,577
    587
    272
    159
    98
See reviews for
536
1241
64
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have stayed at many Fairmont Hotels and this would have to be my least favourite. We found it very dark and gloomy. We were looking for a lounge to sit and read for an hour or two but it was hard to find anything bright enough to read in.

Our room was great and the bathroom and amenities were ok. Tea drinkers are once again not catered for in the room. Coffee Mate is not acceptable for tea drinkers.

Our waiter in the Bow Valley Grill was quite uninterested in our table. We were a table for four and he was either overwhelmed by the number of guests or just incompetent. The manager cleared our empty plates after one course and we had to ask the manager to send the waiter to take our order for dessert. We didn't leave a tip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are very sorry to read of your disappointment and certainly would love to see you again. A Hotel representative will reach out to you privately.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel 7 times. The "castle" has become our second home and we were just as excited last year as on our first visit. Just the first sight of the castle on arrival puts a big smile on my face. The staff from car valet,wait staff, housekeeping and all other staff is excellent- always a smile and very helpful.

We have eaten at many of their various restaurants over the last 7 years and food has been very good at each one. We have never had a negative experience.

The hotel is fascinating, and I never grow tired of exploring. This truly is a magical castle. We find we have been treated very special by Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in our accomodations and our experiences as well.

And so, we are returning this fall and can't wait. This year we will be spending our entire visit on the Gold Floor. I must say the Gold Floor is really special. The concierge team is Gold ++++ - very friendly, happy to accomodate any request and so helpful. The 5 th floor and lounge with fireplace is so cozy, luxurious and relaxing. The excellent breakfast, hor d'oeurves,
and many other amenities make this so special. The rooms/suites are lovely. We have never been disappointed..

Room Tip: State your room preferences when booking to get the type of room you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your patronage over the years. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
A hotel representative has written to you to see how we can assist with your Fall plans!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel, well run and a pleasure to have stayed there. We stayed at Fairmont Gold on the fifth floor, great room, bathroom a little small but fine., well equipped for a lovely stay. The Gold lounge was welcoming and a lovely calm space to have tea, cocktails and canapé and the delicious breakfast. Staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.

The hotel itself is totally amazing architecturally and well worth doing the tour (which we missed) but we did our own tour and visited all the ballrooms etc.

Sleep quality was once again fantastic! The Fairmont bed is very comfy with lovely bed linens and pillows , heaven!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are delighted that you love Fairmont Gold and will share your feedback!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I wasn't sure if we should stay at Fairmont Banff Springs or the Fairmont Chateau at Lake Louise. After talking to a few people we chose Banff Springs because of the location. It is close to Banff town, which has plenty of options for restaurants and shops. While the Chateau is pretty, there really are limited options for dining etc. in Lake Louise. We did drive up to Lake Louise and have afternoon tea at the Chateau, which was great. But I was really glad we chose Banff Springs after seeing how crowded with tourists the Chateau was and seeing the limited choices in Lake Louise.

Room - We booked a regular mountain view queen room but found out we were upgraded to the Gold floor when we arrived. We ended up in a corner room with views of the mountains and the Bow river. The room itself wasn't huge but it was cozy and comfortable. We really didn't have any problems with noise from our neighbors like we have at many other hotels, which was great.

Service - Staying on the Gold Floor gives you access to the Gold lounge, which has free non-alcoholic drinks for guests. They have an honor bar for alcoholic beverages where you serve yourself and put your name and room number down for the charges. They also serve a buffet breakfast in the lounge, which had plenty of options. They have evening canapes, which ranged from gyoza to bison meatballs....everything we tried was delicious. They also put out some desserts later in the evening. We loved just sitting in front of the fireplace in the lounge and reading a book or checking our emails. They had DVDs to borrow and watch in your room. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. They really went above and beyond to make sure we had everything you need.

Food - As I mentioned, the canapes in the Gold lounge were delicious. We dined at Waldhaus restaurant the first evening, which is the German restaurant. The cheese fondue appetizer was delicious, as was the cheddar soup and pork belly. For the entree I had the jaeger schnitzel, which was basically wienerschnitzel with a layer of cheese and gherkins on top. I think I would have preferred the regular wienerschnitzel. My husband requested the ribeye rare and it was way overcooked (even after he sent it back). We also tried room service in the hotel. The seafood chowder and caesar salad were good, but the cavatappi with truffles (which sounds amazing) was very disappointing.

Location - We flew into Calgary and it was about 1 1/2 hours to get to Banff Springs. We loved the location of the hotel. It was close to the main town of Banff and close to many attractions. Make sure to go to Surprise Corner to get a picture of the hotel. Also, the view from the Bow Falls lookout is great. We also liked the Tunnel Mountain drive where you could get great views of Banff Town as well as the mountains.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Banff Springs. It is expensive but most things in the area were. If you do go to Lake Louise, you can park in the public parking next to the hotel (you just walk along the lake path to get to the hotel) to avoid paying the parking fee.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our Fairmont Gold team and Food and Beverage teams appreciate your feedback very much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Washington, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I worked at Banff during the summer of 1958 it only opened then May-September) and it was so good to be back there.
I have returned a couple of times since then - 1988 for the 100th, for instance - and it was good to meet up with people that I had met at previous reunions. There was a lady there that worked there with me.
The hotel has changed a lot (so, too, the town) since 1958 but I never tire of the establishment. We were fortunate in having a room that looked down at the golf course and Bow River and the Fairholme Range - a view I never get tired of looking at as the moods of nature keep changing that beautiful view.
I look forward to returning there again one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We enjoyed seeing old friends and colleagues at the 125th alumni weekend. Thank you for coming!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is just a great hotel. Rooms not large but very comfortable. Have the afternoon history talk and tour of the hotel. We saw the 12th floor suite, very nice. Club lounge floor good value. Dinner venues are great value.

Room Tip: If possible the rear of the hotel has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, including the historical hotel tour.

Please visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.