We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful But Disappointing Too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY & SAVE UP TO 40%!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful But Disappointing Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Banff Springs is magical as you approach! A fairytale castle with snowclad mountains surrounding it!

Its restaurants are very good, and the service is beyond the pale!

However, prices there are high, and some of the areas disappointed with shoddy workmanship--example: the check-in kiosks.

Also, the lobby's greenery and flowers are all FAKE! Disappointing for a Fairmont property.

We found their telephone system very frustrating. The telephone would ring 2 1/2 times and go right to voicemail...not allowing you to get to the telephone in time to answer.

The venerable areas of the hotel are supurb, but they have obviously lowered ceilings in some areas, which doesn't add to the ambiance. Not well-conceived.

Also, the rooms were over-heated and the thermostats were not eager to be fiddled with!

Were I to return to the area, I would probably stay in town so I could have better access the the restaurants and shops there which, hopefully, would be less pricey.

Room Tip: Hallways are long. If you aren't a "hiker", request a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate your honest review and have ensured it is shared with our Executive Team for consideration. We do hope you would stay with us again, given the opportunity and circumstance is right for you, and that we will have another chance in the future to create a more favorable impression.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebratinhg 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,545
    843
    376
    212
    135
See reviews for
890
1,886
89
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Sheer bliss!!!! :) we stayed here on our honeymoon at it was just magical. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff, and the Banana bread from the pantry is just delicious! The Spa is something else, try a visit during the day, its quieter

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We will share with our culinary team that you loved the banana bread - thank you!!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
439 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in a driving snowstorm in mid-June. It was a majestic structure with a beautiful dark stone façade. Carpets led up to the lobby entrance as if every guest were royalty. A bronze statue of a mounted police officer overlooked the river valley. An empty outdoor terrace offered a fine place to have drinks and unwind. Snow obscured the views. Indoors a maze of hallways led though high-end boutiques and galleries, past spas and fitness facilities, and out to a vast lobby whose décor gave it the atmosphere of an exclusive hunting lodge. Signs at bars and restaurants warned they were for hotel guests only. Everywhere we walked we saw fat, furs, and finery. We were very happy that we were staying at a much quieter, smaller, less public, and more remote resort.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away as possible from the tourist hordes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt our restaurants and bars are not accessible. They are open to the public at most times, unless a private group booking occurs. We invite you to return, and our Hotel Concierge will help in any way to identify hours and opportunities to enjoy our dining outlets.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My Partner, myself and a friend shared a room whist visiting Banff at the end of April. We did make a booking as this was a last minute trip whilst on Holiday in the Okanagan Valley, BC. The staff were very friendly and were prompt in finding us a room– with an amazing view of the mountains! The facilities around the hotel were top quality. We quite enjoyed looking around the premises and in all the shops located on the ground floor. The Location was great. It wasn’t in the hussle of the main street and only a short walk downtown. We would walk downtown and catch a taxi back (it was a little cold at night – especially when it was snowing!). Overall, we would definitely recommend staying here whist visiting in Banff – I know we will be if we go back!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main tower. The rooms in the Stanley Thompson Wing require a long walk dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to stay with us while enjoying a BC vacation. We do appreciate this and glad you enjoyed.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel quite breathtaking a castle surrounded by mountains the view are excellent and I do not think you could get a bad room. This stay I was given a room in the separate wing between the main building and the conference centre I thought that it might not be as good as staying the the main building, I was wrong it was great and you got to see more of the hotel walking to dinner.
This is a hotel and area you will talk about and remember a bucket list place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your review and will share it with our colleagues.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Fairmont Banff Springs is an absolutely stunning and magnificent hotel surrounded by the most beautiful picturesque views of the Rocky Mountains.

The check in process was a bit confusing but the staff were friendly and helped guide where I needed to go.

The parking situation is a bit of a pain – the parking lots are not cheap to use and there is no lift so if you have to park up a few levels there is a bit of a walk and if you don’t take the bell staff up of their offer to take your bags at check in it’s a long way to go with your luggage. Maybe valet parking would be a better idea – if you don’t mind using that service.

All three buildings are connected by covered and heated walkways and it is easy once you figure it out how to go from one building to another; although, the first time was challenging – there are a few areas where there are stairs so if you have your luggage it is easier to just go outside and walk around the buildings, also not very friendly for anyone with mobility restrictions.

The room was extremely small but had everything that was needed – I wasn’t there to spend time in the room after all. The view from the room was amazing though. An especially nice feature was the power bar beside the bed – there a never enough power outlets in hotel rooms, this was fantastic! They really have thought of everything!

The room and bathroom were very clean and well put together with beautiful furniture.

I was very pleased with the attentiveness of the housekeeping staff, one of the bulbs was burnt out in the bathroom when we checked in but the next day after they had been in to make up the room the bulb was changed – we never even had to say a word and it was taken care of extremely quickly. This kind of attention to detail is something you don’t find at many hotels. The Fairmont is special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review which we have shared with all our leaders in the hotel for their review. We are very pleased that housekeeping colleagues impressed you. They will be delighted to know.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just spent three nights at the Banff Springs. It lived up to its reputation as a world class property. Despite the large number of vehicles arriving during peak check in time the valet parking attendants did a great job of moving everyone through. Check in was smooth and efficient. I stayed in an upgraded room with a mountain view. Well worth the extra few dollars per night. It helped that there was not a cloud in the sky and the weather was perfect. I used the in room dining services twice and on both occassions the service was great and the quality of the meal was outstanding albeit a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us, and will pass along your compliments to our In room dining team and Guest services.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.