We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% OFF SPRING BREAK
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A grand old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the most famous, historic Canadian resort hotels. Celebrating its 125th anniversary in 2013 .very high level of service, great food, modern rooms. This is a very large hotel, so some of the less used public areas could use some updating. Can be expensive, but worth the experience. A classic in my view.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be small - ask when booking. Ask how far you are from the elevators. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your compliments. Our team will be delighted to know you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    708
    320
    186
    114
See reviews for
697
1,561
74
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I and visited there recently for a weekend. From the guys parking cars, to the checkin clerk, to the spa facility , to the staff at the Rundle lunge this place is magnificent. The hotel is. Situated in the mountains. Suggest asking for a room with view at check in.

Room Tip: Don't select standard room. Go for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It will be shared with the teams mentioned as positive feedback is truly rewarding and motivating to receive. Thank you, and please visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the weekend here with my husband and as usual we were pleasantly pleased yet again. This is our 4th time to the Fairmont Banff Springs HOtels. We keep going back as it fills our need of R& R in just two days. We stayed on the GOLD floor this time which was a treat. The rooms are fairly small in this hotel so we felt having the lounge right down the hall that we could go to at any time during the day was nice. The Breakfast and snack time (5pm and 7pm) were both very good and we used the honour bar as well throughout the weekend. I have been to a few spas around the world including others from the Fairmont chain and there is nothing that compares to the spa at this Hotel. We enjoyed 6 hours and yes the price is up there, but it is all worth it. We walked out feeling very pleased from the massages we received, the pools, the treats that are provided and service. JUst lovely!!! The Italian restaurant was absolutely delicious!! We plan to go again, and again....and again! Bravo to the team who is in charge of Training the staff! It is the staff that really help make this Hotel still be the 5 stars that it has always been. One last note: I read a review a couple weeks back about this hotel had formally been a Castle and then was changed into a Hotel. This Hotel has always been a Hotel! It was never someones castle other than the people who have enjoyed it as such for 125 years. Any first time visitors should always check out the picture room on the second floor above the lobby. The history is all there. The only aspect of this hotel that bugs me a "bit"...is it is not owned by Canadians anymore. Hasn't for awhile but if they keep the ambience/service/quality as is.... I will keep going back.

Room Tip: Valley View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Gold Floor. Our team will will enjoy knowing that!
The Fairmont Banff Springs is managed by Fairmont Hotels and Resorts, a Canadian based hotel company, with our headquarters in Toronto. The Fairmont Banff Springs is actually owned by a Canadian based pension fund, OMERS, which is an Ontario also. They own a selection of Canadian iconic hotels which Fairmont manages.

We hope you will return again soon!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family of 4 (me, spouse, 2 kids - 5 and 4) spent a night at the Fairmont Banff Springs last weekend and had a great time. The hotel is "grand" and beautiful. It really felt like we were wandering in a castle, with all the twists and turns. It was fun just exploring the hotel. The architecture and design details are really impressive. Our kids loved it. The pools were great! The outdoor pool is like a large hot tub, with the indoor pool being a regular pool. It was nice to go back and forth between the two. The room we stayed in was a nice size too. Not big, but good enough for the 4 of us. We didn't spend too much time in our rooms since we had lots of exploring to do. You will pay more here than you would at other resort hotels, but as a once-in-a-while splurge to celebrate a birthday and anniversary, it was well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that your family enjoyed your stay so much, especially the pool facilities. Please visit us again, our Kids Club opens May 17th for the summer!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From outside it looks like a castle in Scotland but you don't need heated bricks in your bed to be able to sleep. Also, no haggish for breakfast, but anything else you may desire. Service was excellent the personnel gave me good where to go downtown and which pistes were the absolute musts in Lake Louise, Sunshine Valley and Norquay. or whatever was its name.

Room Tip: mountain side on the main building close to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service provided at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We are very proud of our heritage and are glad to know you had a memorable time here.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

this trip was arranged as a special milestone birthday treat. We'd heard the rave reviews and paid a small fortune for a deluxe room. We were put in room 1104 in the refurbished Stanley Thomson wing. We might just as well have stayed in a cheap hotel in town. The last thing we expected was a dungeon with a view of a brick wall. When my husband complained we were told they were full. The room was incredibly hot and the notice on the wall told us the only way to get cooler was to open the windows. Ground floor - I don't think so. Wouldn't risk coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn of your feelings about this area of the hotel and we will reach out to you more personally.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just spent 4 days at the Fairmont Banff Springs. A grand hotel, castle like feel, friendly staff, quite nice but older rooms, spectacular views of the Canadian Rockies. Very nice restaurants, ~1 mi from downtown Banff. A very memorable experience! Oh yes, wine lists are a bit lacking, nothing of interest for most seasoned winos.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you had enjoyable dining experiences! Our team does appreciate that.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.