We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redemption at the Banff Springs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Redemption at the Banff Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In Nov 2011, we stayed at the Springs and were not impressed, if you research through you can see our review. Now here we are again for another stay. This time we stayed from April 17-19 2013. I have to say that this was a much better experience. My spouse attended a conference here and thats why we came back. We also brought our dog this time, now we have a very Large breed dog and this was not a issue at all.

Valet/Check in
The valet service was excellent, they learn your name very fast and are prompt with your vehicle when you call, they say expect 15-20 minutes from when you call, on average it was under 15. Check in was prompt and efficient. The bellman brought our bags up to our room within 15 minutes of check in and when offered a tip he refused, stating it was built into the cost all ready.

Room
We were in Room 273, this is a pet room with an amazing view out the back of the hotel through the valley. The room was very clean, king sized bed, flat screen tv, desk, chairs all your typical furnishings, 2 mini fridges. Plus, they had dishes with a treat for the dog and a bed for the dog. the bathroom is small but but had been brought up to modern standards, a far cry better than the last time we stayed here. With a hotel this old, the rooms are smaller, but this one had been reno'd in the last while I would say.

Food
This time we at all meals off site from the hotel

Pool/Gym
We love the pool here, there is a nice indoor pool, but the outdoor heated mineral pool is fantastic. Nice and warm with great views. Gym has all your needs for lifting/cardio.

Staff
Valet staff/check in staff were great. One staff member stood out among the others. Tony the bellman. Tony was conducting the historical tour of the hotel, which is free for guests. His knowledge of the property was excellent and his customer service skills were great. A strong asset to the Springs in having staff like this fellow working for them. I highly suggest taking in his tour. I expressed a interest about seeing more of the hotel and he was gracious enough to show me more of the hotel and explain how things have changed through he years.

Summary
We were happily surprised by our visit this time, room and service were excellent. If all my visits are like this then I will happily stay here again. If you want to experience history, have great service, but don't mind a smaller room, with a little pricier tag attached to it, then give the Banff Springs a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a fairmont room that faces east. Also go up to the 8th floor and turn left from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are delighted that you returned and we were able to provide you with a more memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that, and we have shared your kind review with our team.
We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,959
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
651
1,524
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ancaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was truly amazing. Its abousluty stunning just to look at . We traveled here last august and I have not stopped talking about it since! We stayed on the gold floor, yes it is extra and a little pricey but trust me its so worth it. The whole floor was very updated and it includes access to their lounge which serves breakfast and has a honour bar. The breakfast was very good! The front desk on the gold floor was extremely helpful and so friendly. The rooms were small but very pretty and modern and we had a beautiful view of the mountains. The hotel was only a 10 min walk to downtown banff and there were lots of nice walking trails near the hotel. We went to the spa for a massage and it was honestly the best massage I have ever had! We loved the Waldhaus Restaurant, it was very good and had a wonderful view of the golf course. I loved the schnitzel! The Castello Ristorante was also wonderful ! Overall, I loved so many things about this hotel and I can not wait to come back !

Room Tip: *spend the extra for the gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you loved the Gold floor experience as well as some of our dining outlets!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed a truly magical Christmas holiday at the Banff Springs Hotel in December 2012. Our room overlooked the mountain and river valley view first discovered by Cornelius Van Horne and which was influential in his decision to build there and share it with the world. The Banff Springs Hotel staff did an exceptional job of decorating for Christmas. The history and architecture of the hotel contributes to the feeling that you are sharing with past generations of guests who have enjoyed it's beauty through the years at Christmas. Every staff member went above and beyond to make us feel at home and cared for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of your Christmas in Banff! It truly is a magical time here and our colleagues put a lot of effort into the decor and the service they provide our guests during the holidays. They will appreciate your review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in a Fairmont Mountain View room on the 8th floor. I had called the day before arrival to make sure it was a good view and it certainly was. The room is small, but clean and well appointed. The hotel itself is amazing. The opulence, architecture, and history are from a day gone by. Take the historical tour offered daily. The hotel staff, especially the concierge staff, were extremely helpful and friendly, even down to providing bandages to my husband after skiing! The views are amazing and the hotel is a short walk from town, very convenient. Close to trails. it is expensive (even with a conference rate), but the hotel rivals some fantastic places we have been to in Europe.

Room Tip: We stayed in 829 and the view was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your room on the 8th floor! Your review will be shared with our colleagues so they know you appreciated their efforts!

We hope you will return, for business or pleasure.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in April for a quick birthday trip.

My wife and I stayed in Room 869 which had a mountain view. I read the reviews that said that the rooms at the hotel were small but I found the room to be actually quite nice and a decent size. The bed was really comfortable which I was surprised by as most hotels usually have "middle of the road" beds.

The hotel itself is incredible. Although the stores and spa in the hotel can be a little pricey, the experience of staying at a piece of history makes up for it. Our group spent a lot of time at the outdoor heated pool and the indoor "grotto" hot tub which was quite relaxing. The patio with the view is also amazing.

We had dinner at the Waldhaus restaurant which was really good. We also hit the Waldhaus pub the night before. I found the restaurant and pub staff to be really friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time and will share your accolades with our team!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Banff Springs Gold Floor with my wife. Throughly enjoyed the hors d'oeuvres and the breakfast included, as well as complimentary drinks and free espresso machine. Relaxing in the gold floor lounge, by the fire, with the mountain view, was so refreshing.
The private checkin was a breeze. The service impeccable. Wish they had more vegetarian options in the lounge...otherwise, perfection!

Room Tip: gold floor all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed the gold floor and we will share your feedback with the culinary team also that more vegetarian options would be welcomed there!


The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As far as I am concerned the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel is the only place to stay in Banff. That being said I often times stay in Canmore (when traveling with family).

This hotel is iconic... the this history here is amazing... it really is a Castle in the Rockies and a perfect getaway for couples. Sitting in the heated outdoor pool, while the snow fall all around you is an experience that is tough to beat.

The rooms are on the small side, and lacking slightly on the modern conveniences of good climate control, but certainly worth the trade off of staying at this hotel.

The service was good, not stellar, but good. At one point in time Fairmont could probably lay claim to having phenomenal customer service, at a level above most others, however it's just not what it used to be. All of my Fairmont stays in recent years have been within the province of Alberta, and perhaps it's more of a reflection of a strong economy and high staff turnover rates. Again nothing particularly wrong, just nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you feel we are the best option in Banff.
We will continue to strive for EXCEPTIONAL service and to turn MOMENTS INTO MEMORIES for our guests. This is our mission and our passion, and your review will be shared with our colleagues.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.