We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Banff Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Ski Passes!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Banff Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in April for a quick birthday trip.

My wife and I stayed in Room 869 which had a mountain view. I read the reviews that said that the rooms at the hotel were small but I found the room to be actually quite nice and a decent size. The bed was really comfortable which I was surprised by as most hotels usually have "middle of the road" beds.

The hotel itself is incredible. Although the stores and spa in the hotel can be a little pricey, the experience of staying at a piece of history makes up for it. Our group spent a lot of time at the outdoor heated pool and the indoor "grotto" hot tub which was quite relaxing. The patio with the view is also amazing.

We had dinner at the Waldhaus restaurant which was really good. We also hit the Waldhaus pub the night before. I found the restaurant and pub staff to be really friendly.

I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time and will share your accolades with our team!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,323
    523
    255
    151
    90
See reviews for
458
1085
56
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Banff Springs Gold Floor with my wife. Throughly enjoyed the hors d'oeuvres and the breakfast included, as well as complimentary drinks and free espresso machine. Relaxing in the gold floor lounge, by the fire, with the mountain view, was so refreshing.
The private checkin was a breeze. The service impeccable. Wish they had more vegetarian options in the lounge...otherwise, perfection!

Room Tip: gold floor all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed the gold floor and we will share your feedback with the culinary team also that more vegetarian options would be welcomed there!


The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As far as I am concerned the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel is the only place to stay in Banff. That being said I often times stay in Canmore (when traveling with family).

This hotel is iconic... the this history here is amazing... it really is a Castle in the Rockies and a perfect getaway for couples. Sitting in the heated outdoor pool, while the snow fall all around you is an experience that is tough to beat.

The rooms are on the small side, and lacking slightly on the modern conveniences of good climate control, but certainly worth the trade off of staying at this hotel.

The service was good, not stellar, but good. At one point in time Fairmont could probably lay claim to having phenomenal customer service, at a level above most others, however it's just not what it used to be. All of my Fairmont stays in recent years have been within the province of Alberta, and perhaps it's more of a reflection of a strong economy and high staff turnover rates. Again nothing particularly wrong, just nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased that you feel we are the best option in Banff.
We will continue to strive for EXCEPTIONAL service and to turn MOMENTS INTO MEMORIES for our guests. This is our mission and our passion, and your review will be shared with our colleagues.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent four nights in a Club Level room in August and was completely satisfied. The room wasn't huge, but was well appointed, and had everything that we needed. Our room looked directly over the golf course, which was a nice plus. The breakfast and evening cocktails in the Club Lounge were excellent, and service was very good -- after a glitch in our check-in and delays in getting into our room, they comped us a dinner (this more than made up for the gaffe). The property is very large, and there are lots of things to do locally. A great place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about Fairmont Gold. The team will be delighted to know!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gman305
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was great and had a great view. This hotel has so many interesting parts to it. It should be a visit on your tour of Banff even if you can't stay in the hotel. Great little spots to grab a drink. The restaurants are good. The spa is great. Service in the hotel is great. Overall one of the top places I have stayed.

Our only complaint would be that, on our last evening at about 5am we were awoken by the TV in the room next door. The walls seem a little thin. It was like the TV was on at high volume in our own room... We had to use our ear plugs to try to fall back to sleep, but other than that top grades. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about service, food and beverage and Willow Stream Spa. We look forward to your return!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and the outdoor pool is amazing . Friendly staff . Car hire available and it's a short walk into Banff centre it's self , Banff gondolier is round the back of the hotel stunning views on your doorstep .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBS1888, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms and the pool! Thank you for taking the time to post.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Fairmont Hotel prides itself on "global hospitality" and claims to offer " a superior guest experience that is uniquely Fairmont" Honestly, my guest experience was " uniquely Fairmont" to say the least. As a frequent flyer , I try to save all the money I can and avoid frivolous expenses such as checking bags. I found shipping my personal effects via UPS to be a very cost effective manner of transport.
Unfortunately, this spendthrift method posed a problem for the Fairmont Hotel as they would not allow UPS to deliver my personal effects on the grounds that they only accept FedEx packages. When I called down to the front desk and asked for the general manager, he informed me the most "superior and globally hospitable" way that if I really wanted my shaving kit , shower shoes, and other personal belongings, I could take a 20 minute cab ride to the UPS store. After an exhaustive flight and much disgruntled debate with hotel staff , you could imagine my frustration. Therefore, I contacted the Fairmont corporate office seeking retribution for my horrendous experience but they simply apologized. Before booking, you should know, the Fairmont Hotel may claim to offer "luxury, hospitality , and a superior guest experience"; when actually they offer, " a limited, disappointing, and unsatisfactory guest experience that is uniquely Fairmont."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Springs
Fairmont Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont
Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list