We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Place to stay, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fairmont Banff Springs is the place where we like to go for a drink/meal when we're in Banff. Hotel is impressive venue: perfect location, beautiful layout, impeccable service. What we like the most is the fact that hotel is very family friendly. Everything was as expected, even better: indoor pool is unique for it's size, outdoor one is like a huge hot tub and according to my wife spa is amazing. Service is something that bring us back every time. We were in qn/qn room in main building. Two things caught our attention: mattress and tv. Both were out dated. Rundle Lounge, our favorite, went thru full renovation, hallways look brand new, but having analogue tv and warn out mattress in the luxury hotel like this simply shouldn't happened.

Room Tip: If you're going to use pool, gym or spa frequently ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn of the shortfall in your stay and a hotel representative has reached out to your private profile to learn more about your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,567
    586
    270
    158
    97
See reviews for
532
1234
63
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

All the hotel employees I interacted with were unusually nice and helpful. I especially would like to thank Greg Silva, who was wonderfully kind and thoughtful.

Overall this hotel is a special place as described by other reviewers. The only thing that could be improved in my opinion is the restaurants within the hotel. I tried several of them, and in general the food was just ok and expensive--presented as if it were excellent but really it was nowhere close to the level of good restaurants where I live (San Francisco Bay Area and New York City).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate so much your sharing your experience with us, and other viewers on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves in warm and engaging interactions with our customers and love to know you found it meaningful.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at the Banff Springs Hotel. Thanks to the Fairmont chain's President's Club frequent stay programme, we had coupons for both a room upgrade and a third night free of charge - otherwise, a stay at the Banff Springs in the height of the summer tourist season would've probably been priced beyond reason.

Trip Advisor and other internet reviews suggested that the Banff Springs' newer accommodations wing, the Stanley Thompson should be avoided by anyone looking to experience the genuine classic architecture and décor of the place, though it might have the better views overlooking the golf course and the winding rapids of the Bow River, and larger rooms. That said, we ended up with a fantastic spot in the original wing.

The room was actually two rooms at the end of the central section: a sitting room at the very end of the hallway, sited on the building's corner, and the bedroom just next to it. With windows overlooking the Rocky Mountains in two directions, pictures just can't do justice to the amazing views. You have to be there to believe it.

The sitting room was classically furnished. The sofa folds out to a double bed, making it a potential space to host additional guests - with the room rates in keeping with the hotel's iconic stature, booking a suite for a traveling family may be more cost-effective than two separate rooms - though without an additional washroom. The thick insets to the narrow corner windows added to the castle-like ambience - you could imagine peering out those slits ready to defend the palace with a bow and arrow against invading hordes below.

The bedroom was also castle-like, with classic furnishings and draperies that may not be particularly much to write about, but are appropriate and complementary to the historic setting. Plus, with the gorgeous views out the windows, your attention would be focused elsewhere. Despite the old-style appointments, the heating and cooling system was modern and responsive, making the transition from post-hike cool-downs to huddled bedtime snuggling pleasant.

The bathroom had the usual Fairmont amenities. Though it too would have a fantastic mountain view through the window, the glass was appropriately frosted for privacy reasons.

True to the mountain setting, the nearby Waldhaus restaurant offered a delicious meal of Swiss rösti and fondue - well-earned calories after a day's hike around the national park. Again, thanks to Fairmont's frequent stay programme, we had more coupons as in-house credit towards the Banff Spring's dining options.

Coming to Banff National Park for the nature and the hiking you might think it's probably somewhat unnecessary to splurge on something like the Banff Springs Hotel. But it's not just about having a place to rest your head for the night - like the other hotels in the Fairmont chain in Canada, it's about experiencing a bit of Canadian history, in the network of these grand old dames built by the railways that opened up the frontier to travel and exploration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you loved your room and the location, as well as your experience in our newly renovated Waldhaus restaurant.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beautiful, historic hotel. A must when in Banff Springs. Stayed there 4 days on the Gold Floor level. A great option worth the extra cost. Loved wandering the lobbies and lounges in the older areas of the hotel. Guided tour of hotel available as well. Spa was very nice, the huge mineral bath/pool and waterfalls with plunge pools of different temperatures offered a wonderful way to relax.

Room Tip: Gold floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Gold floor experience online. We are very pleased you had a memorable stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I expect a lot from Fairmont and nearly always have been delighted.
To be fair to the hotel they were very responsive to my comments, however only after I returned home.
Great location, dated suite, breakfast good but not great, restaurants very good and prices high. Too many conference delegates!
Apart from housekeeping which was poor (room not serviced when arriving back from skiing) everybody else provided excellent service.
Needs a shuttle to the town.
Great building, beautiful views, many lovely staff but needs investment.
Skiing outstanding and bus service reliable.
Final comment on prices, its not the hotel but the value of the £ to the $ that's the problem!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt there was a shortfall in your stay and a hotel representative has reached out to you privately to discuss.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I were really treated like Royalty at this amazing hotel and resort. We will definitely stay at this hotel the next time we are in Banff, and we are loving the Fairmont brand!
Highlights:
- Amazing service - the gentlemen who greeted us at the front door to take our bags, the receptionist who offered us an upgrade to a room with an amazing view, the staff at the Bow Valley Grill for breakfast and the concierge - everyone was fabulous.
- The room was clean, tasteful, comfortable and had an incredible view of the Bow Valley, which is exactly what we wanted! We signed up for the Fairmont Presidents Club while we were there, so we got free wifi in our room (a tip from the front desk!) and we are excited to be a part of a loyalty program that offers perks right away!
- The bathroom was comfortable and had a blow dryer (not good quality, but a blow dryer non the less!) and they offer the BEST bathroom products. Rose 31 I think it was called? Incredible smell.
- I love the complimentary shuttle service that is offered to the 3 major ski areas. It makes a big difference! The hotel will even store your equipment over night do you don't have to lug it back to your room
- The SPA! The Willow Stream Spa is incredible - we had spa access included in our package and we LOVED it. There are multiple pools and hot tubs to enjoy, not to mention the steam rooms, etc. The outdoor hot tub was the best - it was snowing and the view was amazing.
Overall, I think that this hotel is worth the splurge! It was at the top of our price range and we think it was definitely worth it. Great value for such a special experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and that it was so positive. We are proudly celebrating our 125th anniversary this year and could not be prouder.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its an experience!!!!! This hotel is amazing and the location even more. The view from the spa is simply incredible. The staff knows the best restaurant in town so dont hesitate to ask!! This place is so large and so beautifull that its worth to take the hôtel map They will provide you with and to take à Walk!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit and stay with us and to walk where countless have walked over the last 125 years, from famous movie stars to heads of state! We are pleased that you found your experience to be amazing and we hope you will return soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.