We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is one of the grand old railroad hotels. The staff was very well trained. I suggest spending some time in the Rundle Lounge at a table near the window to take in the wonderful scenery while taking time over your meal and drink. My room was a bit small -- as I was on the 8th floor, the outside wall started to slant in about halfway up the wall (gabled roof) -- I had to lean in when walking around the king bed and tended to hit my foot on the footboard as a result. As well, one can hear people speaking in the hallway as they pass by. But those are minor complaints for staying in a hotel that has played such a significant role in Canadian history. And there is a historical reason for the rooms being small -- take the 3 PM hotel history tour. All in all, you have to stay here at least once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Some of the unique features of higher floors of the Castle are that there may be turrets and slants in some rooms, but not all. We have shared your feedback with our team so that we can ensure the layout and placement of furniture is the best possible for some of our unique architecture now, and in the future. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,577
    587
    272
    159
    98
See reviews for
536
1241
64
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Over the past fifteen years I have visited the Banff Springs Hotel several times. My most recent visit was with my 18 year old son, breaking away for a short ski holiday. He remembered with fondness the magical castle that he had visited as a much younger child. Unfortunately, the two queen beds we had reserved ,was not what we received. Rather, the room had one king size bed. The hotel offered us a cot and move the next night. The second night was more promising with two queen size beds and two fire alarms at 12:30 and 3:30 a.m. respectively. The hotel was packed with weekenders, convention goers, families and couples. Too packed. Valet parking required 20 minutes advance notice for a car to be brought around.

The Banff Springs is a must for a visitor to the area. The hotel has to be explored. There is so much to see. But, I don't think I need to stay there anymore. Somewhere, smaller and quieter is in order for my next visit to Banff.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main hotel rather than one of the annex buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty and for returning with your son. We are sorry that your initial request was not met, and that you were disrupted by the alarms. A hotel representative will make contact with you privately to continue the investigation on any shortfalls that occured.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125th years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Banff is wonderful but in case you're choosing based on facilities....The gym is good here and there's an outdoor pool too, but for swimmers bring your suit for this great and long indoor lap pool. Grand old hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: I think there's a wide variety of sizes and shapes here. I was in the main building which I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. "Taking the waters" in Banff are the true historical roots of this magical place and we are pleased to know you loved it. Please come again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs hotel on March 16-17th. We paid about $400 for a delux room with a king bed. We left today feeling disappointed with the overall experience.

For the price tag, our expectations were pretty high. As soon as we opened the door to our room we were underwhelmed to say the least.

The furniture was dated (Not in an antique kind of way, more like a thats-going-to-fall-apart-if-I-sit-on-it kind of way.)

Our bathroom also had a slight sewage smell, and it got worse when we would turn on the tap to the sink.

We were also disappointed that wireless internet was not complimentary at the rate we paid to stay there for the night (Wifi was an additional $14 charge). We opted to pay for the Wifi as there was an event happening that night we wanted to watch online, and we found it very slow and unreliable (disconnecting multiple times). It also seemed like some pages wouldn't work properly or were blocked (Like expedia for example). Not exactly sure what was up with that.

The walls were paper thin and we could heard people multiple times throughout the night walking through the hallways, talking, or opening/closing the doors to their rooms.

The ice machine on our level was also broken.

On the bright side we found the bed extremely comfortable and when we voiced out concerns upon check out the receptionist reimbursed us $150. But even with that $150 I would not recommend staying in this hotel nor would I ever return. There are tons of hotels in Banff and Canmore.

The Banff Springs looks great from the outside, or even when walking through the lobbies, but $400 a night? I've stayed at budget hotels with rooms that were comparable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to connect with you to investigate the shortfalls in your stay, to improve, and to win back your loyalty. A hotel representative will be in touch shortly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for three nights on business . I opted for the Gold Floor for the benefit of the lounge. The lounge is very cozy, great if you are single. My room was very small, a little disappointing - more so after I checked out a friend's room on the same floor, which were much larger and had a spectacular view - not sure my platinum status got rewarded...The bathroom is the size of a postage stamp, and no tub.
The hotel is neat though - big enough you could spend several nights here and never leave the property. Lots of nooks and crannies, several lounges . Irked me a little that I would have had to pay for the fitness centre if not on Gold Floor, and when I go back I would opt out of the Gold Experience for the sake of a tub and square footage!!! Spa is to die for - expensive, but world class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you first walk into the lobby you know this place is grand, then once you check in and see the view from the room it is a very special place, only a short drive to town. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, and staff very friendly and helpful. Would of loved to of stayed here for longer but I will return as one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you had friendly service and would love to return. We do hope that you will.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, one of which was complimentary due to a bit of a disastrous stay the previous year, therefore we weren't quite sure what to expect this time...

We clearly should not have worried, as we had the most amazing stay here at the Fairmont! The service was exceptional, the room simply stunning, with a beautiful view of the mountains.

We had drinks in the bar one night, so relaxing, live music and the Mojitos were amazing! But by far the best thing was the breakfast daily - you have never seen so much choice in your life! The staff are friendly and the breakfast room overlooks the mountains, so you feel like you could sit there forever.

The location and surroundings of this hotel are a once in a lifetime experience. We took a day off skiing and took a round trip walk from the hotel all the way up Tunnel Mountain, which was stunning. The views at the top were incredible, I would highly recommend this.

After a hard walk, we made use of the indoor pool, hot tub and the beautiful outdoor heated pool. I don't think you can beat swimming under the stars in the mountain air, stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and service provided and we hope to see you again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.