We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% OFF SPRING BREAK
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Destination Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed for three nights on business . I opted for the Gold Floor for the benefit of the lounge. The lounge is very cozy, great if you are single. My room was very small, a little disappointing - more so after I checked out a friend's room on the same floor, which were much larger and had a spectacular view - not sure my platinum status got rewarded...The bathroom is the size of a postage stamp, and no tub.
The hotel is neat though - big enough you could spend several nights here and never leave the property. Lots of nooks and crannies, several lounges . Irked me a little that I would have had to pay for the fitness centre if not on Gold Floor, and when I go back I would opt out of the Gold Experience for the sake of a tub and square footage!!! Spa is to die for - expensive, but world class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,038
    708
    320
    186
    114
See reviews for
697
1,561
74
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you first walk into the lobby you know this place is grand, then once you check in and see the view from the room it is a very special place, only a short drive to town. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, and staff very friendly and helpful. Would of loved to of stayed here for longer but I will return as one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you had friendly service and would love to return. We do hope that you will.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, one of which was complimentary due to a bit of a disastrous stay the previous year, therefore we weren't quite sure what to expect this time...

We clearly should not have worried, as we had the most amazing stay here at the Fairmont! The service was exceptional, the room simply stunning, with a beautiful view of the mountains.

We had drinks in the bar one night, so relaxing, live music and the Mojitos were amazing! But by far the best thing was the breakfast daily - you have never seen so much choice in your life! The staff are friendly and the breakfast room overlooks the mountains, so you feel like you could sit there forever.

The location and surroundings of this hotel are a once in a lifetime experience. We took a day off skiing and took a round trip walk from the hotel all the way up Tunnel Mountain, which was stunning. The views at the top were incredible, I would highly recommend this.

After a hard walk, we made use of the indoor pool, hot tub and the beautiful outdoor heated pool. I don't think you can beat swimming under the stars in the mountain air, stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and service provided and we hope to see you again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

wow they made a fuss of us for our 1st wedding anniversary - beautiful room with stunning views, bottle of champagne in the room on ice and as we had upgraded to the Gold Floor, we had amazing service. Car keys taken off you at the front of hotel, suitcases disappeared, priority check in (own separate lift!) in the private reception area upstairs just for starters..
Our room was still being made up ( we got there early - excited!) so we were shown to the private Gold Lounge which was beautiful with a huge fire, complimentary bevarages and snacks and loads of windows with STUNNING views of the mountains and river - brilliant photo opportunity. The bar is an Honour Bar so you list the drinks you take ( alcoholic) and pay later.
Our room was fabulous and spacious - lovely bathroom and fluffy robes too!
We headed down to the golf course area to the Waldhaus pub and restaurant which is a hidden gem on the property,,, views spectacular... enjoyed a beautiful Okanagan valley Extra Apple cider - so refreshing on ice - lovely smooth taste.
Also spend some time in the pool areas as they are lovely too - indoor and out.
We didnt eat in the hotel as had reservations in Banff town - easy to walk to or just a short cab ride away. Did NOT want to leave the next day and vowed to come back! You have to go - even for just one night - its expensive but worth every penny/ dollar!!

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor if possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you so much for your very positive review of your Fairmont Gold experience! We are glad that you didn't want to leave and hope you will return soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was fortunate enough to recently stay at this beautiful hotel and I have to say that it is one my most favourite properties. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, the hotel itself although large had a very homely feel about it. I was there during winter so the whole place was decked out in Christmas declarations and smelt of cinnamon and just had a turkey magical vibe. I would highly recommend this property to families and couples alike. The hotel has an amazing spa and an indoor pool and during the summer months there is a world class golf course out the back of the property. Something for everyone. The Fairmont Gold rooms are great value for money as well as they are located on a whole floor of their own and you have access to a lounge all day and night with snacks and drinks, tv, magazines and even iPads.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
The Fairmont Banff Springs would like to thank you for your positive review of Fairmont Gold. We are so happy that we are one of your favorite hotels and we will work hard to ensure we continue to be!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always a treat to stay at the Banff Springs. The first room we got was gorgeous, high ceilings and antique furniture, but smelled like something foul; after calling to front desk, we were quickly given another room, smaller, more modern, but with a view. It was an ok upgrade for what was a busy weekend at the hotel. We enjoyed the pool, and plenty of wandering around this gorgeous castle.

We got a complimentary breakfast, what a fantastic spread they have, don't miss this!

I love how they do not beg for tips at this hotel, in fact the Bellman declined our tip, making things feel less awkward when you are using services like valet. Valet is a great value, by the way, if you choose to use it.

Never felt like I was out of place in my ski bum clothing!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade or complimentary breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that when you expressed a concern, that we were able to respond appropriately and that you had a nice stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend one night at the Banff Springs for a business meeting mid-February; it is SUCH a lovely place!!

I had a "delux mountain-view room" with a king-size bed, and the view really was beautiful! The bed was comfortable, although I must admit, I do love Westin beds a bit more, but it was a really close comparison.

The bathroom was a bit small as other's have mentioned, however - it's a bathroom, I wasn't planning on having any parties so for one or two people to use its perfect. I appreciated its cleanliness and the tub was WONDERFUL! It was super clean and HUGE! I'm 5'7 and decided to take a bath and I was able to stretch out and enjoy a proper soak, I was able to be completely submerged!! Loved it! If I had been skiing I can see this a major plus to staying here.

The room had a kuerig coffee machine which was also appreciated, although the coffee I made tasted a bit funny and I don't know if it was because the machine was stored closed and I noticed condensation inside of it (maybe there was old water still in it?). They did have individual creamers in the fridge as well, which is nice instead of whitener.

I don't like to have supper by myself and when I do, I went down to the pub (Waldhaus, pub not restaurant) and had a really enjoyable meal at the bar. The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful, and genuinely enjoy their jobs. This stood out for me because in my home city customer service is lacking, and many people just 'do' their job, not enjoy it. It makes for a much more pleasant experience overall. I had the buffet breakfast and again, very delicious and was really pleased with the amount of variety available. (I LOVE breakfast food, they had every imaginable type, I especially liked the berry compote they had available for your outmeal) I ate a lot :)

When I went to the pub I noticed the sidewalks were very clean and maintained, and the little balcony looking over the golf course at the pub had a great view of the skating rink they have made. I wish I had more time to go skating!

I explored the hotel a bit and it was very clean throughout, and of course very beautiful.

Overall I enjoyed my experience here and loved it. I guess it depends on the funds available, if I were staying for a romantic weekend I think its worth the extra cash, for a trip to Banff to go skiing or exploring, I would perhaps stay somewhere more budget friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us via Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you experienced warm and hospitable service from our colleagues, especially at the Waldhaus! This newly renovated restaurant and pub is a delight both in service and ambiance. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.