We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay - Really Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE SKI PASSES
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stay - Really Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend one night at the Banff Springs for a business meeting mid-February; it is SUCH a lovely place!!

I had a "delux mountain-view room" with a king-size bed, and the view really was beautiful! The bed was comfortable, although I must admit, I do love Westin beds a bit more, but it was a really close comparison.

The bathroom was a bit small as other's have mentioned, however - it's a bathroom, I wasn't planning on having any parties so for one or two people to use its perfect. I appreciated its cleanliness and the tub was WONDERFUL! It was super clean and HUGE! I'm 5'7 and decided to take a bath and I was able to stretch out and enjoy a proper soak, I was able to be completely submerged!! Loved it! If I had been skiing I can see this a major plus to staying here.

The room had a kuerig coffee machine which was also appreciated, although the coffee I made tasted a bit funny and I don't know if it was because the machine was stored closed and I noticed condensation inside of it (maybe there was old water still in it?). They did have individual creamers in the fridge as well, which is nice instead of whitener.

I don't like to have supper by myself and when I do, I went down to the pub (Waldhaus, pub not restaurant) and had a really enjoyable meal at the bar. The staff are all extremely friendly, helpful, and genuinely enjoy their jobs. This stood out for me because in my home city customer service is lacking, and many people just 'do' their job, not enjoy it. It makes for a much more pleasant experience overall. I had the buffet breakfast and again, very delicious and was really pleased with the amount of variety available. (I LOVE breakfast food, they had every imaginable type, I especially liked the berry compote they had available for your outmeal) I ate a lot :)

When I went to the pub I noticed the sidewalks were very clean and maintained, and the little balcony looking over the golf course at the pub had a great view of the skating rink they have made. I wish I had more time to go skating!

I explored the hotel a bit and it was very clean throughout, and of course very beautiful.

Overall I enjoyed my experience here and loved it. I guess it depends on the funds available, if I were staying for a romantic weekend I think its worth the extra cash, for a trip to Banff to go skiing or exploring, I would perhaps stay somewhere more budget friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us via Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you experienced warm and hospitable service from our colleagues, especially at the Waldhaus! This newly renovated restaurant and pub is a delight both in service and ambiance. We hope to see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    687
    314
    183
    110
See reviews for
651
1,525
72
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights on September long weekend in 2012 for our 3 year wedding anniversary. This hotel did not disappoint! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel we were made to feel special! The front door men were more than polite, addressing us as Mr. and Mrs. Funk, and handled all our luggage to take it up to our room. Check in at the front desk was a breeze and everyone was more than polite and helpful. Our room was fantastic! After reading reviews on the rooms being a little on the smaller size due to the nature and history of the hotel, we opted for a suite which was HUGE for just the 2 of us! We hardly used the 2nd room "living room" part of the suite, as the bedroom part also had a tv, but the view from that room was worth the price of the suite!! It looked over the river and mountain valley... Ill never forget that sight.
The hotel in itself is right up our alley as far as style and the history goes. Beautiful architecture and fireplaces, furniture and suits of armor. We spent a good couple of hours walking around the hotel at night, taking pictures and exploring and the outside grounds are just as impressive!
We ate dinner in town one night and the last night we ate at the hotel, at Waldhaus pub which is a few minute walk from the actual hotel but worth the scenic little gaunt, feels like you're going somewhere special! It overlooks a section of the golf course and we got to see a whole bunch of elk! The food and service there were fantastic! Our server was young and fun, attentive and personable. Leaving the pub, it was raining and some nice people let us share their shuttle back to the hotel. We had the breakfast buffet the following morning in the hotel, the restaurants name just slipped my mind but it was fantastic and again everyone was so friendly and helpful.
All in all this hotel met and exceeded our expectations. I will remember our stay forever and we look forward to returning again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are delighted that you felt special while a guest in our hotel. That is certainly what we strive for and hearing that you had a wonderful time is motivating for us. We will share your feedback with our team!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Yes, it is costly, but it is worth the price. The views are all gorgeous and you absolutely feel like royalty staying in this castle in the mountains. The pool area is fantastic and being able to swim through the tunnel into the heated outdoor area is quite the experience. Highly recommend this for a special occasion trip to Banff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our outdoor pool - it is amazing in the winter, especially with snow falling!! We are glad to know you loved it too.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took my large family here during a conference in December, and made lifelong memories. You can't beat the location, the staff really helped accommodate kids under 10, the restaurants were classy but not stuffy, and the pool was be featured in a famous photo of the kids swimming outdoors in -20C.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you loved the outdoor pool experience. Certainly the 'art of bathing' is steeped in history here in Banff, as we celebrate our 125th anniversary here at The Fairmont Banff Springs. Please do visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Like many other reviews said this hotel is just beautiful! We upgraded to the tower room and well for the first 30min we just stared outside the window in awe! the room is small but cozy with huge very comfortable bed, table with chairs, coffee & tea amenities with great coffee and coffee machine. Spacious bathroom with top notch toiletries.
The hotel it self is magnificent and everyday they do a tour of the grounds that is worth doing if you're interested. We ate at the bar and one of the restaurants and it was beautiful food.
The town is a 10min walk away with everything you need.
When it comes to parking i would recommend you go with valet as it's only $10 and the parking i a bit tricky but not impossible to manage if you prefer.
The staff are amazing and very helpful, they helped with organising our 'around the area' trips and gave us heaps of helpful hints on visiting some places at certain hours.
Overall we will definitely come back to Banff and to Fairmont, it's magnificent!

Room Tip: if you can upgrade do it, it's sooooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We have shared it with our colleagues here as positive feedback is always appreciated!!

We do hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed 13 nights following a long flight from London. I thought that perhaps the gold floor might be a bit OTT and therfore booked a room with "a preferred view" and got a better rate by paying in advance. We were well-pleased with my choice and we were rewarded with a magnificent outlook over the Bow valley. As I am a keen photographer I was dismayed to find that the windows are locked shut and cannot be opened. Perhaps this is to stop guests falling out! However, the concierge was most sympathetic and kindly directed me to a fire escape exit high up in the building which adequately resolved the difficulty. Similarly, all the other staff with whom we came into contact were unfailingly helpful and courteous.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and is highly recommended.

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is quite unique and magnificent although its very impressive sombre external architecture sometimes leads it to be rather unkindly referred to as "Colditz"!

The location is a few kilometres from the town - more than a short walk.

Room Tip: Best bedroom views are from those located facing Bow Valley and Tunnel Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete and post a review of your stay on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Gold Floor and the service provided by our colleagues. We hope you were able to take many memorable photos that you will enjoy for year to come.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating our 125th anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is one of those properties, where you can do nothing but stand in awe of it.

The hotel is unique and spectacular. Stayed here on the company's dime and loved every minute of it. Will be returning with my in-laws and wife for them to share in the experience I had. When I looked at the prices I was a little shocked ($600 a night), but even in spite of that, I feel like a night is worth it here. The difference being, if it was $300 or $400 I would probably recommend staying 2-3 nights. Of course, if your budget allows it, you must stay here.

There are few hotels like this in the world. They are a genuine escape to a wonderful a place. The rooms, the beds, the showers, none of it matters. What matters, is how you feel when you are in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to know that our guests feel that this Castle in the Rockies is as special as we do. We do hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Proudly celebrating 125 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.