We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around all was very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 40% Off This Fall!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary Alberta Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All around all was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The service started with a smile right from the parking attendants on. Everyone that works there seems happy, and motivated to please. Checkin was quick. The rooms are large and quite modern with large TV and stuff, esp considerign this is such a historical place. And of course I take it for granted because I'm a local, but the views are stunning. The hotel is large so there is lots of walking. Tried the wine bar, the main hotel bar, and the German pub, all were excellent quality food and outstanding drinks selection. The kid at the wine bar was not very experienced in wine tasting though. My biggest complaint. The bars all close at 10:30pm, forcing a taxi ride downtown. There should be one open a little later. Demand seems to be high for that. Sushi and Italian restaraunts were both excellent food and service. Pool was excellent. We ordered home-made ginger ale from the pool waitor, it is worth remembering to do that, outstanding! Everything was very good consdering the price point, nothing was bad, but nothing was excellent either. I dont know of anywhere better in Banff though. Better value elsewhere though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor and with us at The Fairmont Banff Springs. Please be assured that all reviews are read and shared with our team. We use the feedback constructively to improve our products and services, to recognize service that has been above and beyond, and to improve where there have been shortfalls. We appreciate it, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    663
    306
    181
    107
See reviews for
629
1,459
69
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hotel itself is Amazing!! So many thing things to explore, the architecture, lounges, restaurants, shops, pool, spa everything! We were upgraded to a small suite which was beautiful. The beds very comfortable. Nice sitting area in our room.Sunday Brunch is a must! A little pricy but so worth it!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the brunch, and the comfort of our beds. We will share your review accordingly.
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Full disclosure: I am thoroughly smitten with Fairmont properties so I'm definitely biased!

I've been looking forward to staying here for years and finally go the chance to stay for 2 nights for a conference. The building is absolutely phenomenal, it truly is a mountain castle and just wandering around the hotel is a treat. The architecture is incredible and the layout has several lounge area's to just sit back and enjoy the surroundings or read in a semi-public space.

The room itself was not overly amazing but, being a Fairmont, the bed is dreamy, the bathrobes/towels and toiletries are always top notch. The room was quiet and offered incredible views down the valley from my 4th floor windows.

The desk was rather small when I did need to do work but really, I'd recommend not working while there! :)

The fitness room is small but had nice views, the hot pools are a must do and the indoor pool is good for a few laps to unwind in the evening. There is a lot to do and experience at the hotel and the shops were not overly expensive although visiting the little pantry on the main floor was a bit pricey. However, it was nice to be able to 'shop' for snacks and light meals.

The Fairmont loyalty program is well worth signing up for and they excel at providing top notch customer service to President's Club members.

It's worth treating yourself with a night here but don't plan to head into town - there's more than enough to keep you occupied on the grounds.

Room Tip: Splurge on a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found so much to do right here on site!
We will ensure your feedback is shared with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while part of a conference. The hotel met the highest standards and had everything available you could want. It is very large so difficult to find your way around as bits have been added over the years and can feel a bit convention like. Room was fine, but it seems a pity at these prices that there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel and in the room is paid for on cable and they don't even supply a bottle of water or access to music or radio in room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

For a one night stay in a basic room we paid $450.00 plus another in various fees and taxes. Hotel is nice rooms old and worn out. Pool nice about the only thing here not costing you more money. To use fitness room you pay again. NOT WORTH THE MONEY

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Absolutely gorgeous setting and architecture. 5 star all the way. Service was amazing and everybody was really accommodating. I would never leave if I could afford it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to stay forever. We do hope you will return again soon. Watch for ongoing offers on our website, especially regarding our 125th anniversary celebrations!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and our first to the Gold floor, we have always found this hotel a wonderfull place to stay and the experience of staying on the Gold floor makes a stay at a special hotel extra special. The "personal touch" that the Gold floor staff provide makes you feel so welcome as they soon know who you are and enquire about what you have been doing during the day and give tips about things that are going on. The lounge is a wonderfull place to relax this is also where breakfast is provided it is described as deluxe continental,it is fantastic.The choice is more than enough,eggs,sausage,bacon,cereal,fruit,pastries,bread,cold meats and cheeses, all fresh and regularly changed. Also in the evening canapes come out, also delicous and freshly made, the standard of food cannot be faulted.The lounge staff soon remember your likes as regards tea and coffee etc. and bring your favourite selection over before you have a chance to ask them.We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I would recommend the Gold floor to anyone.I would just like to thank all the Gold floor staff for making our holiday so special everyone from housekeeping to concierge was brilliant ! .
We also tried all the other restaurants on site and the quality of food and service was faultless in all of them, the hot tub and outside pool are lovely after a day skiing,its not far from town takes about 20mins. walking or $2 and 5 mins on the local bus service which seems to run like clockwork.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It will be a pleasure to share your review with the team on Fairmont gold so they know how much you enjoy the product there and the effort they make for their guests.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.