We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canada's Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ULTIMATE GOLF VACATION
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Canada's Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hotel itself is Amazing!! So many thing things to explore, the architecture, lounges, restaurants, shops, pool, spa everything! We were upgraded to a small suite which was beautiful. The beds very comfortable. Nice sitting area in our room.Sunday Brunch is a must! A little pricy but so worth it!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the brunch, and the comfort of our beds. We will share your review accordingly.
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    825
    358
    205
    128
See reviews for
856
1,831
87
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Full disclosure: I am thoroughly smitten with Fairmont properties so I'm definitely biased!

I've been looking forward to staying here for years and finally go the chance to stay for 2 nights for a conference. The building is absolutely phenomenal, it truly is a mountain castle and just wandering around the hotel is a treat. The architecture is incredible and the layout has several lounge area's to just sit back and enjoy the surroundings or read in a semi-public space.

The room itself was not overly amazing but, being a Fairmont, the bed is dreamy, the bathrobes/towels and toiletries are always top notch. The room was quiet and offered incredible views down the valley from my 4th floor windows.

The desk was rather small when I did need to do work but really, I'd recommend not working while there! :)

The fitness room is small but had nice views, the hot pools are a must do and the indoor pool is good for a few laps to unwind in the evening. There is a lot to do and experience at the hotel and the shops were not overly expensive although visiting the little pantry on the main floor was a bit pricey. However, it was nice to be able to 'shop' for snacks and light meals.

The Fairmont loyalty program is well worth signing up for and they excel at providing top notch customer service to President's Club members.

It's worth treating yourself with a night here but don't plan to head into town - there's more than enough to keep you occupied on the grounds.

Room Tip: Splurge on a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found so much to do right here on site!
We will ensure your feedback is shared with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while part of a conference. The hotel met the highest standards and had everything available you could want. It is very large so difficult to find your way around as bits have been added over the years and can feel a bit convention like. Room was fine, but it seems a pity at these prices that there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel and in the room is paid for on cable and they don't even supply a bottle of water or access to music or radio in room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a one night stay in a basic room we paid $450.00 plus another in various fees and taxes. Hotel is nice rooms old and worn out. Pool nice about the only thing here not costing you more money. To use fitness room you pay again. NOT WORTH THE MONEY

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Absolutely gorgeous setting and architecture. 5 star all the way. Service was amazing and everybody was really accommodating. I would never leave if I could afford it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to stay forever. We do hope you will return again soon. Watch for ongoing offers on our website, especially regarding our 125th anniversary celebrations!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel and our first to the Gold floor, we have always found this hotel a wonderfull place to stay and the experience of staying on the Gold floor makes a stay at a special hotel extra special. The "personal touch" that the Gold floor staff provide makes you feel so welcome as they soon know who you are and enquire about what you have been doing during the day and give tips about things that are going on. The lounge is a wonderfull place to relax this is also where breakfast is provided it is described as deluxe continental,it is fantastic.The choice is more than enough,eggs,sausage,bacon,cereal,fruit,pastries,bread,cold meats and cheeses, all fresh and regularly changed. Also in the evening canapes come out, also delicous and freshly made, the standard of food cannot be faulted.The lounge staff soon remember your likes as regards tea and coffee etc. and bring your favourite selection over before you have a chance to ask them.We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and I would recommend the Gold floor to anyone.I would just like to thank all the Gold floor staff for making our holiday so special everyone from housekeeping to concierge was brilliant ! .
We also tried all the other restaurants on site and the quality of food and service was faultless in all of them, the hot tub and outside pool are lovely after a day skiing,its not far from town takes about 20mins. walking or $2 and 5 mins on the local bus service which seems to run like clockwork.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It will be a pleasure to share your review with the team on Fairmont gold so they know how much you enjoy the product there and the effort they make for their guests.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is a class above anything I have ever stayed in before. The sheer size of hotel can not be understated. We stayed in room 1909 in the Stanley section, king size bed, and finally room to move, as we were on the top floor the roofs slanted and this only added to the experience. You do need a map to navigate and I am sure we missed a few of the restaurants because of me being geographically confused in the hotel. The coffee we purchased st the downstairs or lobby area was the only failing, we honestly could hardly taste the flavour, very milky. The staff were wonderful 15 minute lazy walk into town to walk off the excellent food and the scenery is spectacular. Just for the gawk factor do yourselves a favour and just stay here once remember the room is just the beginning even if you get the cheapest room spend the day outside of it exploring this wonderful place. Bring your camera the dining halls alone are worth many a photo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.