We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff-Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff-Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Grand, large, crisp and so much more. Everywhere you look (both inside and out), something new to see. Short walk to the town with access to great places to eat and drink. Many walking trails and things to see, even if you do not have a car,

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you found our colleagues to be engaging and that the destination was convenient to get around. We hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,585
    587
    272
    157
    98
See reviews for
540
1247
64
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is a world renowned hotel and we are supposed to be excited about going/staying here, but i would much rather stay elsewhere.

Right from the $25/day self park, to the "nominal" fee of $69 to use the spa pool, I don't see what the fuss is all about.

The room wasn't very big and our view was of the heating system so nothing special there...any pretty old, my wife commented on the "vintage" hair dryer

We did enjoy the free pool and the outdoor hottub was very nice. We had one meal in the hotel and it was good, but nowhere near worth the price we paid.

The banquet facilities were nice and the food there was very good.

I would rather spend my $$ elsewhere.

Room Tip: higher up, not overlooking HVAC system!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate and value your candid review. We thank you for choosing to stay with us this most recent time and do hope you will consider us again if the opportunity is right for you to do so.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

You come to Banff Springs expecting top quality accommodation, and they didn't disappoint. The service was top quality delivered efficiently with respect. For example, there were a couple of things we wanted attended to in the room, and these were fixed quickly without fuss. The bed was without the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

We had a couple of meals in the bars and restaurants, and these were also high quality and fairly priced. The pools (swimming and outdoor heated) were excellent, and a chill-out in the Willow Stream Spa is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed so many resort amenities and will be pleased to share your review with our team.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything you read about this hotel is true. It is truly extraordinary. I’ve never been to a hotel when checking in, you are given a map, and it takes about an hour to really find your way around all the nooks and crannies.

Rooms are not opulent, but are certainly nice, quiet and comfortable. You have a choice of several restaurants, and there is a very affordable and good deli on the lobby level that serves a good quick breakfast.

Some of the restaurants are truly first class, and seem to be staffed by fellow Australians – why travel??

Overall, staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

The outdoor pool is something I’ve never experienced at -8 degrees.

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont Presidents club before you go. It's free and will give you free internet acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for having The Fairmont Banff Springs on your personal bucket list. We do hear from many guests that it is on theirs also. We are delighted you loved your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I attended a three day business function at the hotel and had a very nice time. Not long enough, so will have to return for more exploring. I stayed in room 387, which had a king sized bed and a mountain view. Honestly, I wouldn't pay extra money for a room with a mountain view, as there are mountains on every side of you, and honestly, how much time does one spend in a hotel room looking out the window? Yes, the rooms are small by modern standards, but mine was quite large enough to do yoga without moving furniture, and the bathroom, although small, was completely functional. Same for the closet. The fresh cream in the fridge for my coffee/tea was a very nice touch, as was an actual tea kettle for a proper cup of tea!
The bed was very comfortable- the right level of firmness, not too soft. And I loved the pillows. In fact I almost bought one from the shop on my way home.

Most of our meals were catered during work functions, so I didn't eat at any of the restaurants or cafes. There are shops on the main level as well.

Upon my arrival, I did manage to indulge in afternoon tea, a guilty pleasure of mine. Although outrageously priced for what one gets, the view is spectacular, and it is a pleasant way to spend an afternoon when it is -26C outside. The server comes to the table with a cart and explains each choice of tea available, where it is sourced, and its particular uniqueness. Once your tea is chosen, the tiered plate is brought out, and one's enjoyment of the afternoon with cucumber finger sandwiches, smoked salmon on crostini, and various tiny dessert cakes may begin. I have to say the size of my single scone was quite disappointing, but it was freshly baked, and the Devon cream and fresh jam quelled some of my pastry envy.

I also spent an evening networking in the lounge. We had a couple of appetizers, which were very tasty and well presented. The service was also exceptional. Our hostess and server tag teamed us so we were never without someone within speaking distance. The bar specialty cocktails were a big hit, especially the Moscow Mule - grey goose vodka, homemade ginger ale, and something citrus- very refreshing. For the tee-totallers, the home made ginger ale is very tasty; tart with a gingery kick. Yum.

I spent one evening at the spa enjoying the pools, various saunas, and three hydrotherapy waterfalls of varying temperatures. I highly recommend this after a long day of travel or sightseeing/mountain activities. And if you go after 7pm it is very reasonably priced. My favourite part was the outdoor saltwater hot pool. It was dark and very cold out, and the steam rising off the water combined with the myriad of stars above was incredible. There are indoor and outdoor pools of pretty much every temperature you might want. There is a dry and a wet sauna, jacuzzis, quiet rooms, waterfalls, mineral pool, and loads of lounge chairs. The spa also offers many services, such as massage, facials, etc.. I was quite happy to enjoy the hydrotherapy pools and take a nap. Naps, actually. The staff was so gracious and helpful, and as expected, there were loads of provided amenities. Also of note, when you book the spa, you get access to the hotel gym as well. Ask for the rates, because there are some great multi day, multi use rates, some vary based on what time of day you want to use the facilities or on the duration of your stay. They are also quite happy to show you around as you decide what is best for you.

Take time to take the guided tour (3pm every afternoon?) of the castle. If that doesn't work, just wander the hotel. It's a maze of corridors and rooms, and you will get lost and discover something interesting. Like the coffin shaped doorways in the 1700 wing, or the buffalo heads, or the large carved wooden eagles with creepy shell eyes that follow you as you walk by. You may even see a ghost. And you will definitely see kilts and hear bagpipes.
Honestly, I didn't step outside the hotel for three days. And i got lost several times a day. maybe bring a compass!
Make time to explore it, even if you are not lodging there. It's pretty cool, and a part of Canadian history.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback, especially all of your dining experiences! We really do like to see the hotel through the eyes of our guests and will use your comments constructively. We are glad you did not wander far over the course of your stay and enjoyed the resort in its entirely. Please do visit us again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was here for a conference- great place to stay and excellent location. Be aware you can easily get lost in the hotel maze!!

The outdoor pool is awesome. Water is warm and the gym has good equipment as well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are pleased to know you had a memorable visit and we hope you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Incredible views and Old World charm describes this hotel. Called the castle by the staff, The Fairmont Banff Springs just fits its local. Built around the turn of the century when the railroads were king, this place can send you back in time if you let it.
From the incredible stone work to the Celtic design of the carpets, there is something magical about staying here. The staff experience was the best we had in the Canadian Rockies, restaurants were good and breakfast was outstanding.
Big tip: The concierges are super helpful. They can suggest and help set up all sorts of excursions for you. Stay here when in Banff town and let the days of the iron horse and adventurous spirit roll over you.

Room Tip: Join Fairmont's membership program for upgrades. Remember, it is an old hotel and the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, and your compliments to our concierge team. They take great pride in delivering excellent service to our guests, and will be so pleased to know you appreciated the help they provided.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.