We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful ... but expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 40% Off This Fall!
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So beautiful ... but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights just after Christmas and although the rooms are very expensive, I would do it again in a second. We took a cool historic hotel tour, did some curling on the outdoor rink (free), rented snowshoes and went out over the golf course, did some neon bowling, saw several deer, and had great meals at the hotel restaurants (the best being the Walhaus Pub). All this right on the hotel grounds! There was so much to do we could have easily stayed longer (if we didn't run out of money!). It really is a great experience to stay in a "castle" in the Rockies - gorgeous! The town is also a quick drive down the hill if you want more dining/shopping/photo options.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms that were both modern and pretty, but the pricier one had a great mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. You really did partake in many of the wonderful on property offerings for our guests and we are truly pleased you enjoyed it so much! We do hope you will return again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,840
    664
    306
    181
    107
See reviews for
630
1,461
69
414
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Amazing stay at the Banff Springs Hotel. Loved wandering around the castle. Make sure you enjoy a glass of wine in the wine cave! The room was very comfortable. I only wished the fireplace was real!! Service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Fairmont Gold. We appreciate your taking the time to recommend it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Banff Springs Hotel. The hotel looks stunning against a backdrop of show covered mountains. When we arrived the hotel was extremely busy and it took a while to check in. Occassionally we felt that the service suffered a little because things were so busy and there did not appear to be enough staff on board. The christmas activites were well organised. We were a little suprised that when we tried to make some dinner reservations we were told that some restaurants were booked out and yet the next day we met people who said that they just walked into the same restaurant without a reservation.
We had Christmas night dinner in the ballroom. The ballroom was magnificently decorated for the occasion. While dinner was nice enough, it seemed a little rushed at times and the various courses were not explained as they were served. Again it appeared that there were not sufficient staff to do this. It was a Christmas to remember.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 0156. There was a separate bedroom, bathroom, luggage room and a large lounge roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Christmas experience. We truly do value the feedback, and it wil be taken constructively and applied where needed. We hope you will consider a return visit in the future!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had the most amazing White Christmas. Everything was fantastic! From the front desk staff on check in until check out they could not have been more helpful. We enjoyed the Christmas festivities. The most amazing thing was swimming in the outside heated pool in -25! We enjoyed the food however it was expensive. We really enjoyed the Randall Lounge for a cocktail and snack and loved the live music. We will always our Christmas in the Castle!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your Christmas in Banff! We are delighted that you loved the activities, the pool, the entertainment in the lounge....please return again!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on the gold floor five as a treat. Extra service and lovely lounge. Staff were very friendly, especially valet and concierge. We had our three year old with us, they were very attentive and accommodating for her, they gave her a little crown and she felt like a princess in a castle for the three days! Very magical! They arranged our husky sled with a great company and all our other reservations and activities. Very relaxing! Would come again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Fairmont Gold, our concierge and valet teams!!
We are very happy to know you had a memorable stay and will share your feedback.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Perhaps the very best of life in Alberta is the Banff Springs Hotel experience in the middle of winter. New Year's eve and dinner in the Banffshire Restaurant should be on everyone's bucket list. The outrageous 'flight of wines' and the multi-course dinner was 'over-the-top' in tastiness (and price)! But hey, you only live once, right? No better way to kick off the New Year. Two nights stay on the 7th floor in one of the larger rooms had us in an end turret overlooking the spectacular Bow Valley. Breathtaking, a winter scene of the first magnitude!
An added feature is the excellent shopping experience, right on site. Don't miss 'Snowflake' and the cozy and stylish winterwear. Join the Fairmont President's Club before you go. It is free and there are nice perks, like a separate (short) line for check-in.
So girls, if you can't think of anything for that 'man who had everything', this is the ticket for your next Christmas gift. A treat for both of you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments about your New Year's experience, your guestroom, your enjoyment in our shops and your overall satisfaction. We will share your review appropriately with the areas mentioned and they will be most pleased!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is a must in Banff. We had a suite(up graded) and the view from our window was incredible. We had 3 days in Banff and asbolutely loved our time there so much so my husband and I will spending Christmas there in 2014. The staff were every friendly and polite and can honestly say the Canadians are just lovely. The food was very good and plentiful, the buffet was great. We loved our walks into the town centre especially at night when the snow was falling and the city centre was all light up with fairy lights. The location of our hotel was fantastic and the long walks did us good considering the food intake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. A hotel representative has contacted you to offer assistance with your return in 2014!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.