We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 40% Off This Fall!
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
minn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great but too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lovely hotel. Staff great amenities great location great. We stayed on the gold level. Tis allowed us use of the lounge. The snacks were nice,modest. The breakfast was pleasant light. However at night you had to pay for your wine beer etc. now we paid $800 per night for our rooms we had 3 so this was not cheap. However having to pay for a wine to the tune of $11 per glass is a bit rich.
The rooms were nice but let me tell you about the tiny bathrooms. I am 6'2" and 210 lbs with size 12feet couldn't close the door very easily. You had to close the door in order to get in front of the sink. No counter space 1 sink and a shower. Extremely efficient design read small.
The staff was pleasant and helpful. They were mainly Australians and New Zealanders.
Took the bus to ski sunshine, a 4 mile backup to the hill got there there was 1000s of people stayed on the bus and skipped it. Do not go over the Xmas holidays if you can swing it. Way too many people.
Went curling locally a blast, then Canadian bowling also a must do. The town has many shops and restaurants bars pubs everything. Lots of fun wonderful people these Canadians WONDERFUL polite great
Being there are not too many other places to chose from don't have good suggestions. Do not pay extra for the gold level for it is not worth it by a long shot.

Room Tip: Stay away from the gold too pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are delighted that aspects of your stay, such as the hospitality overall and some of the local activities, were very enjoyable for you. With over 700 guestrooms to choose from in a numerous locations, there are a variety of options that are designed to suit the needs of different types of guests and stays. Please do consider a return, even if Fairmont Gold is not your product of choice in Banff.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,749
    633
    292
    174
    104
See reviews for
607
1377
66
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to say that our stay over the Christmas break was special. Great staff that was professional, very friendly and courteous. My two children, 22 and 20 loved the concierge's recommendations for skiing, snow mobiling and dog sledding. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the recommendations made by our concierge experts!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had started writing my review and as it got longer and longer I decided I would do my best to make it point for so it is easy and quick to read!

- Arrived to disastrously disorganized lot, waiting in vallet lineup for 20 minutes without being greeted or instructed on anything.
- Our room wasn't ready on time so we went to the nearst lounge --Rundle Lounge to wait and have a drink
- We tried to sit with other people at a table who had extra seats and welcomed us but the server came and said "you can't sit here, go and find your own table where you can be served" extremely abrupt and rudely, even the people who we were joining at that table were taken aback.
- Found our own table eventually and waited (I kid you not) 25 minutes without service. Went and asked bartender to send a server to our table and waited another 15 minutes.
- Asked to speak to a manager, he did come shortly after. We informed him of the rude waiter earlier and the time spent waiting for service. He bought the three of us our first round of drinks.
- Checked to see if our room was ready, it's been an hour and it still isn't ready. We were each given one a voucher for a free beverage.
- An hour and a half and we checked again and our rooms were ready, we get to them and our luggage arrives 15 minutes after we got there.
- The room is tiny and really not worth anymore than $85/night. I have stayed at nicer Super8 hotels than this.
- Phones were not working due to some maintenance for a very extended period of time.

Save your money for more important things! You could do a lot more activities during your trip if you don't waste so much money at a mediocre property, instead stay somewhere in downtown Banff.
I will definitely never spend another night or dollar here!
My sister stayed here a few weeks ago and said her room was late too. They know it is busy and what too expect but they don't CARE enough to ensure that their guests room is ready when it should be.

Room Tip: Don't spend your hard earned cash here, experience more by staying somewhere downtown Banff and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We do apologize for your disappointment and will contact you personally.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have lived in Calgary all my life, and this is my first stay at the Banff Springs. After quick research of the hotel, we knew if was going to be expensive. It was awesome anyway!
When checking in, we were told that we would get an upgraded renovated room. Yes, they are on the small side, because that's how small rooms are 125 years ago. Howich time are you expecting to spend I. Your room when you're in Banff?!
All around the hotel, service was amazing. Views were amazing, even though we see them all the time. For someone from Calgary, who visits the mountains weekly, it was a very new and exciting experience. We were treated fabulously by the staff!
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We splashed out on a night in the Banff Springs hotel to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.

The good was that this is an iconic hotel, in a spectacular setting, beautifully decorated for Christmas. The time we spent in the heated outdoor pool, surrounded by snow covered mountains, was truly memorable.

The bad was that we were not given complete information and the service was poor. One of the things I was wishing for was to spend a couple of hours reading quietly by the fireside in the Riverview lounge. No-one told us this major section of the hotel was closed for renovations and when I asked staff where else I could read quietly, I was told to try the Rundle lounge --a pub--or find a seat in a hallway!! Our room had no armchair, I should add. A lesser complaint was that we had to call 3 times for help with the coffee machine. Another irritant was that we had to pay $14.00 extra for 24 hours wireless access.

The ugly was that, in spite of telling staff that this was a very special occasion for us, we were given a room with a view of an air conditioning plant!!!

If you plan to blow the considerable dollars for this hotel, my advice is to ask lots of questions -- does the room have a view, are any sections of the hotel unavailable, what extra charges are
there etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. A Hotel Representative will be in touch personally to discuss.
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires- Argentina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed 5 days at the Fairmont Banff Springs for a meeting. It is an amazing hotel in a fantastic place!

The hotel resembles a medieval castle with intricate hallways, high ceilings in the lobby and amazing corners. The room was very nice, impeccable (not very spacious, though) and the bed was perfect! The breakfast deserves a special mention as it was outstanding! An overwhelming variety of fresh fruit, breads, hot options, drinks, juices. Wow!!! In a beautifully set restaurant, with huge windows overlooking the snow and the river! Simply breathtaking!

The hotel is walking distance (15 minutes walk) from the lovely town of Banff, by a river and in the middle of a marvelous scenery of the Canadian Rockies. The views are lovely from every window!

You can't miss the outdoor hot spring pool! I went there by night, after dinner, with -20 C, and snowing. Simply breathtaking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Your profile shows that you travelled a great distance to be with us and we thank you! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much, especially the magic of the outdoor pool facilities in the winter.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our visit at the Banff Springs was outstanding. This is not the typical hotel my kids and I stay at do at first we felt a bit out of place, the hotel is so beautiful and fancy.
We could easily get lost inside this castle just trying to get to our room but even that was an adventure! Room upon room, restaurant & lounge upon lounge with beautifully decorated Christmas trees, it was such a beautiful place at Christmas.
Our room had a breathtaking view of the valley, I had to shake my head every time I looked out the window to believe I was actually in such an amazing place.
The staff were fantastic. They brought us a mini fridge at no extra cost when we asked.
The pool was awesome, my children played in it for at least an hour or more each day and I loved the hot pool outside with a view of the mountains and Christmas music playing, it was an experience we will never forget, truly magical!
The food was very pricey so we had to really pick what and when we ate, but downtown was only a 20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Christmas experience with us, and readers on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a memorable and special time with your family and we hope you will choose to do it again sometime.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.