We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls were embarrassing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY & SAVE UP TO 40%!
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls were embarrassing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went to this hotel and was in love with its castle like quality. Every aspect of this hotel was beautiful, though I was very embarrassed to have security knock on our door during a quiet tryst to be told that the neighbours were complaining about the noise level (we were keeping it down to a reasonable level).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience to you, and have shared your feedback accordingly.
The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,550
    844
    378
    214
    136
See reviews for
892
1,893
90
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

As with any of the old fairmonts the Banff Springs was gorgeous and we took the chance to wander around at night and it was really amazing to see the ballrooms and elegance. However, there were quite a few more issues than we expected to encounter at a place of this repute that soured us on the overall experience.

1) Heating system made odd sounds throughout the night that made sleeping difficult for my partner. Upon bringing this up the next day they said they apprecaited the feedback and would see it was fixed going forward. It still didn't make up for the sleepless night unfortunately.

2) Late night service at the lounge was slow and hard to get. We waited 5 minutes at the bar to see if it was even open after having sat down because we didn't see any staff around. We weren't the only ones waiting at the bar for that reason either...

3) We got the spa package and had some issues with it that were unpleasant as well. We happened to stay right until closing at 10 on the first night and hurried to leave as we'd lost track of time. While I had no issues on my side leaving, by gf was pressured in an unpleasant way by staff to get out ASAP and was made to feel incredibly uncomfortable in leaving. Not what we'd expected by such a highly recommended and relaxing spa.

Furthermore, we were told the billing was going to be executed in one way and then it was done in another. I stayed to discuss this with the staff for 45 minutes at the end of our trip to know resolution and it will result in an additional charge to us of approximately $80 each.

While these things may not have been tremenously disappointing at some other venues, we were surprised and disappointed to have encountered them at the Banff Springs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. A Hotel representative has made contact with you privately to discuss your experience.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a single night stay, at this fantastic property.

Our initial room, the one I booked online, was a Jr Suite. Unfortunately, it did not look at all like the picture on Fairmont's website and it did not have a bathtub for my wife.

Upgraded to a Spa Suite, full one bedroom (1054). Excellent, perfect, series of rooms.

The service was what we have always been looking for in a top class hotel, the facilities excellent.

We simply can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade...get the type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Spa suite and the service. We hope you will return!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and it was bad and good. The room we got was in the conference centre and we had to walk a lot to the pool and fitness centre. When we got to the room, we felt very cold. Turns out the heater is broken so we got the lobby to give us a plug in heater. It wasn't much help and it was very noisy so my family and I couldn't sleep. However, we were lucky that the hotel could switch our room to the main building for the last night and we could sleep. The pools were good. The indoor pool wasn't too cold and the outdoor pool was awesome. It was a OK stay for my family and I.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
The Fairmont Banff Springs would like to thank you for your feedback. We will contact you personally to determine which room you are referencing and how we can improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on December 5, 2012 for his company's Christmas party.
The views from the room were breathtakingly gorgeous.
The hotel was beautiful with many little shops scattered through it.
Every single employee at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home.
There was absolutely nothing more they could have done for us.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
The Fairmont Banff Springs would like to thank you for your post. We are truly pleased that you had an enjoyable party, and experienced engaging service from our colleagues. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I live in Calgary so we are lucky enough to be able to go to Banff often. This gorgeous Canadian Rockies hotel is only a little over a hour from Calgary. The town of Banff itself is comparable to a mini Aspen. Tons of shops and restaurants in an Alpine setting.

We have stayed at Banff Springs a few times for rest and relaxation. The hotel itself is just majestic. We love opening up the drapes to a view of the Rockies that are right on the doorstep!

From check in until check out, everything runs smoothly. Kudos to the front desk. We usually go into the village for most of our meals which are hit or miss (ask the locals first). The restaurants at Banff Springs are on the expensive side but we have treated ourselves to the Bow Valley Grill for one dinner whenever we are there.

Rooms are gorgeous..we usually stay in the Deluxe Premier Mountain View suite. But honestly, all the rooms at this hotel are comfortable and posh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you are a repeat guest and that you love it every time!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The "Castle in the Rockies" would be a fantastic place to stay simply for the charm of the hotel and the amazing Rocky Mountain surroundings. What really sets the Banff Springs apart is the people. The staff at the BSH treat everyone like family and go way above and beyond to ensure that your stay is memorable. From parking your vehicle to check-in to room service.... it is always done with a personal touch and a smile. You have to try the Spa and the kids will love the outdoor hot pool. Nothing like soaking outside at -20C :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a review on Trip Advisor. Our Willow Stream Spa and Aquatic facilities are truly world class and we are happy to hear you were able to enjoy them, and the mountain vistas, during your stay!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.