We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally stayed on the gold floor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Banff Springs to your Saves list
The Fairmont Banff Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ULTIMATE GOLF VACATION
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Finally stayed on the gold floor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is our favourite hotel and the hotel we most frequently visit for family vacations. For the first time ever, we decided to splurge and booked a suite on the gold floor. The service was AMAZING! We were met by Princess Kathryn, who escorted our 5 and 1-year old to our suite. She gave them tiaras, cupcakes, cookie and milk vouchers, etc. She even knew their names when we arrived! My girls were so happy! Make sure you ask for kid size bathrobes. We got a few comments and smiles as my girls walked around the hotel to the pool in their robes and tiaras :)

The canapes in the evening were a nice touch, though a bit fancy for my girls and I (vegetarian). However, breakfast was fantastic for even the pickiest/healthiest of eaters. It was nice not to have to go down to the main restaurant with our girls, as it is often quite busy.

We find the service at this hotel to be above and beyond the service at any other hotel we've ever visited, which is why we keep going back (plus the mountains, the outdoor heated pool, etc.). The Gold floor takes it up a notch. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,374
    789
    346
    198
    120
See reviews for
804
1,754
85
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

When we got to our room we found we had a queen bed, rather than the king we had reserved. We called the service line and were told that Fairmont kings were not true kings, they were just a bit longer but the same width as a queen. This seemed odd but we accepted it. However, when we were gathering our belongings to check out, we noticed a "queen" sticker on the mattress, indicating that rather than deal with the fact we had been given the wrong room, the staff member lied to us. Very inappropriate, especially for a "luxury" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at The Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We have been in touch with you personally and have followed up as promised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We recieved a gift card for a stay at the Banff Springs. We had never been here before, because we normally can't afford or won't splurge on such high-end hotels and we normally prefer cabins or B&B's on our vacations.
That being said, it was one of the most wonderful times we had. Such glorious history here and just walking around and seeing every little hallway or ballroom or restaurant in this large hotel is kind of mind boggling. We ended up getting an great room on the very end of the hall and so our room had two corner windows with a slightly different view. The bed was a dream to sleep in.
I tried the outdoor hot tub. It was nice, but not all that hot, so I didn't stay too long.
We also walked down to the old Waldhaus restaurant and pub (about 90 to 100) steps down at the back of the hotel and had a excellent batch of wings and beer there :)
My Husband and I are not skiers, so for a winter getaway, we still recommend it as the beauty and mystique of the hotel and area in winter are something worth seeing at least once.

P.S one tip, is park your own car and walk. Save a few bucks here and there were you can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

When I'm in Banff even if I don't
Have the money to stay here I try
To stop in just to see the place it's
Amazing. If I ever get married I want the wedding here the hotel
Is truely heaven on earth.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Unforgettable experience. Worth every dollar spent there.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Banff and our kids (8&10) loved the room, the pool, the arcade at the bowling alley and the breakfast. My husband and I also had a good time but we felt a tad ripped off. They charged $25 per day to SELF-PARK (cheaper in Manhattan!!), they charged $16 to use the gym (What???? We have NEVER been charged to use a hotel gym when a guest). Of course wireless wasn't free either. The breakfast buffet was kinda lousy. Definitely not worth the money. All that said, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms were very nice and quiet, the pools (indoor and out) beautiful, the lobby dramatic. So, it's definitely worth a stay, but just be prepared to spend, spend, spend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I drove from Edmonton with my 13 year old daughter, we arrived after 9pm and had no trouble checking in.
We had a beautiful room looking out onto the river and mountains. There was a large lcd tv and 2 very very very comfortables queen beds that made you want to sleep all day. There was a tea kettle and coffe maker which made for a nice cup of tea before bed and in the morning.

We went to the concierge desk in the early morning to ask about hiking and they provided us with a map and helped us get to the trailhead, we grabbed a sandwhich and some snacks from the store attached to the hotel and started our hike to Sulpher mountain, you can hike from the hotel to the upper hotsprings and then up Sulpher mountain, it can be a diificult hike but is worth it at the top, you can also take the gondola up and down for a fee. There are also many other trails that can be accessed around the hotel .

The main street in Banff is about a 10 min walk and is very nice . We went to the pool and the locker rooms were very clean and provided you with towels and a locker that locked. The pools were clean and the hot tub perfect.

We ate at the Italian resturaunt for dinner one night and it was a lovely treat although very pricey. Theres a fantastic place we had lunch at in the hotel that was outside and overlooked mountains (cant remember the name) ,it was very french cafe like and had a great plate with cheeses,meats, crackers and bread.

There is so much to do in and around Banff if you like the outdoors and if you dont theres lots of scenery, shopping, and great food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue | P.O. Box 960, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Spa Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Banff Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.