We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
darnestown md
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We loved this hotel! Our room was very big with a fireplace and two queen beds. Huge bathroom with separate toilet and shower. Very roomy for our family of four.
Good location about 10 minute walk to town. Valet parking was $12 per night, but it was a treat to have someone park your car for you and go get it the next morning. Hotel staff were very professional and helpful. Small but nice pool and hot tub. Very clean and quiet hotel. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    275
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
180
349
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We booked a premium room with fireplace (did not really have a chance to use the fireplace) and free internet and free valet parking. The room was very nice and clean. Had the breakfast here both days - pricey, but in line with other places in the Rockies. Food was ok. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Banff exudes an atmosphere of sleepy, wealthy comfort, much like the hotel. Though located next to a spot for back packers the hotel is most comfortable and pleasing. The rooms are large with "heavy" dark furniture - television hidden in a cabinet. The beds are huge and one sinks into the stacked soft pillows. Unfortunately, our room was near a drinks machine which purred at night - or perhaps groaned and sounded louder than the air conditioning. I do wish hotel would not have these near bedrooms.
Enjoyed two dinners and breakfasts - all sound, though not quite as good as others we enjoyed in the Rockies. The service was always supportive though getting a drink beyond meal times was not always easy.
Located a the top of the main street in Banff and an easy walk to the river and centre of town

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We really loved this hotel and its location. We liked the walk downtown, which isn't that far if you're used regular exercise. Besides, helps you burn off some of those extra restaurant calories. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel works hard to make things very comfortable for you. This hotel perhaps strives for a certain image by charging for valet parking (like the Fairmont), but I say, incorporate the cost into the room rate because the rooms are expensive enough as it is, like all hotels in Banff. There was also a nod to modern times by having a miniscule PC/desk available for a fee to guests in a dark, gloomy corner next to the parking garage doorway. It was a miserable location for such a thing, but this hotel has a quirky lobby layout anyway and its doubtful they have any other open space for such a thing. But these are small quibbles and we would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was a great place to stay since it was within walking distance to town. Our room was good size and the beds were very comfortable. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but walked down the street a couple doors to Toro. We saw there was a $12 charge for garage parking and asked about street parking. The woman at the desk then offered us free parking which we thought was very nice. They clean your windshield every morning which was a special touch.

The only negative was the fact we reserved a garden room so we'd be able to have coffee or drinks outside. Unfortunately, the area was dirty and needed to be weeded. We mentioned it on our second day and by the time we got back to the room, they'd cleaned it up a bit and done some weeding. They said they'd have the company that takes care of the outside finish the work. They are to be commended for responding to our concern so quickly. The furniture still needed to be cleaned off so we didn't use it and they adjusted our bill.

It was nice to be at a place that really tries to please their customers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Our room was not large but it was tidy, clean, and had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful and friendly - for example, hey said we could park on the street for free without a problem rather than pay for their garage parking. The location is far enough away from the main bustle of Banff Ave to not be bothered by it but close enough to walk to it to enjoy it. We found a betterr deal on the room rate online, otherwise I'd categorize it as a bit overpriced for the room size and amenities. Also, our room was facing the outdoor court yard which got a bit loud late at night - I could see this being a problem. But overall, it was a fine hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Not only did our room get upgraded to the nicest room in the hotel but the staff and facilities were absolutely flawless. The entire stay exceeded our expectations. The hotel room was very high quality, from the gorgeous granite counters to the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. Plus the staff were always smiling and very helpful.

It was my fiances birthday and there was even a birthday card and some treats waiting for us in the room upon arrival.

Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.