We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Our room was beautiful, very clean, large and comfortable. We don't usually use the pool at hotels, but we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi in the evenings. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. We did not eat at the on-site restarant as if was a bit too pricey for us. Other options are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    239
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
154
300
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I recommend staying at this hotel. You should sign up for their free Delta Privilege card and get points for your stay and food. If you make a return visit you get a little complimentary gift bag with chocolate and bisquetti. The price was reasonable. It was right down town and it had valet parking. It rained one day that we stayed there and the front desk had complimentary umbrellas to borrow.

A great place for breakfast is Melissa's. Melissa's is at 218 Lynx St which is close to the hotel. There is a line up but the line moves fast. Food is plentiful and good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I'm sure there are other nice hotels, but our stay here was so perfect that we won't risk trying somewhere else and will be back again soon. It completely passed my germaphobic standards, the room was beautiful and clean and the staff were wonderful. The pool area was really nice and the spa services excellent as well. It's far enough away from the noise of downtown but not far enough to need to drive. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Spent one night (October 10, 2009) at this hotel and we were very pleased.

The lobby is large, with a big wood burning fireplace. Very nice.

Our room was nice. It had two queen beds, which were very comfortable. It also had a fireplace which was really nice. The bathroom was large, with a separate area with a vanity and a sink. We also had a wonderful view of the mountains from our room.

We did not eat at the restaurant, it was a little too pricey for us. But there are plenty of places to eat close by.

We did not use the mineral pool or the hot tub, but they did look very clean and relaxing.

The only downfall to the hotel was the fact that they charge you $12 to park, something I think should be free to guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel like we were the only guests at the hotel. We had noted that this was an anniversary trip, and were surprised and delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel decor is warm and tasteful; the room was very comfortable. The concierge (Sean) was especially attentive and helpful; the entire staff, including restaurant servers, were professional yet personable. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the city center but is in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Nothing that I can complain about. However nothing too spectacular and hence can't justify the price or the 4 star ratings. Locations wise it is a little bit of walk to Banff main shopping area. I would suggest staying at a location closer to the main shopping area and restaurants. Hotel staff was very courteous, they upgraded us to a "bigger" room which still was kind of normal sized.

We enjoyed dining on the roof top bars and the Chinese restaurant Silver Dragon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Was expecting a real 5-star experience and it fell a little flat. The gas fireplace is on a 30-minute timer that sounds just like a wind-up egg-timer, and the noise was distracting. It seemed like a 3-star hotel with granite countertops and nicer tiler added.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.