We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lodge in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb lodge in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Titan tour, the lodge was in a good location on the edge of downtown, less than 10 minute walk to the centre with endless choices to eat, shop & view.

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and were touch by the card, bubbly & chocolates awaiting us. The room was large with everything you needed & the staff were very friendly throughout.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge, thanks for a lovely start to our tour

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    290
    82
    23
    12
See reviews for
197
373
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Delta Banff in May 2015. Generally, the hotel was acceptable but three things bothered me about the hotel:
1) location - right at the edge of Banff so expect to walk (which isn't
bad with the beautiful weather)
2) view - see the picture from my room
3) my second day there i was away from the room from 10 till 9 as I was at a conference. But when i came back my room had not been cleaned...I'm a bit annoyed. But when i called the front desk to let them know, i became even more annoyed. The response from the front desk was "no worries, i will let them know tomorrow to clean it". What kind of response is that - no apology at all very disappointing.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while driving through the Rockies. It is a great hotel, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are great we were upgraded to a delta room! So if you are staying in Banff I recommend this is a great place to stay!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our recent stay at this Delta hotel. The staff were warm and friendly - the concierges were very helpful in providing information and advice on the ski hills, and other local attractions. Our room was at the back of the hotel on the main floor - very quiet with a comfortable bed, a bar fridge and a clean bathtub/shower.

The breakfast menu in the Evergreen restaurant has a good selection of options - a bit pricey - but quality food. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was excellent.

The hotel is in a good location - an easy 10-15 minute walk to downtown and approximately 20 minute drive to Sunshine Ski Resort.

We will definitely consider staying at the Delta again if we return to Banff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear jans232015,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.

It is great to here that the concierge team we able to provide useful information to help you plan your activities while here in Banff.

Thank you again for the review and also for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nathaniel Lee

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room and hotel were really clean. The beds were comfy. Upon check in the girl was great, our room wasn't ready so she found one that was. The TV wouldn't work when we arrived and then sent someone to fix it immediately. The end however was disappointing. At approximately 11:20 the front desk called to advise us that if we didn't check out in the next couple of minutes we would be charged for a full extra day. I have NEVER had that happen. I found it rude. Then when we were checking out the girl told us that had we requested a late check out it would have been granted. Then why wouldn't they have just said that when they called? Instead I was rushed to get ready when I thought I had another 40 mins or so.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear travelladyAlberta,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us here at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the cleanliness of the room. It is also great to hear that the front desk was able to provide you with exceptional service when helping with the issues you encountered during the check in process.

I do apologize for the incident that occurred when you checked out and would like to reassure you that this is not the level of service we aim to provide. We will be sure to review this situation with the Front Office Manager and our front desk team to ensure that it does not occur in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and if I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly at 403 762 6960.

Sincerely,

Nathaniel Lee
Duty manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Banff with my two kids (14 and 13) for a long weekend while over from the UK and chose the hotel based on the reviews and on it having a pool and being walking distance from the town center. It turned out to be an excellent choice. Upon arriving the staff could not be more helpful, the front desk staff and the concierge were informative, attentive and extremely friendly. The facilities are excellent, the rooms well fitted out, we had aircon and a fireplace which is handy for the varied weather we had over the weekend and the pool and hot tub area were fantastic.

The breakfast is great value with lots of choice and while there is a small charge for parking (Valet or not) it is well worth it as the guys are super-efficient and it is nice to come out to your car in front of the hotel, windscreen washed and warmed up ready to go out in the snow.

The hotel is peaceful but relaxed, well equipped and very well located with only a few minutes walk from the center of town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace if you can, it is the perfect finishing touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Hodgie12,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the excellent service our team was able to provide. We always do our best to exceed our guests expectations and it is rewarding to know we were successful.

Thank you for choosing the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Gittens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love the Delta chains as you always know what you are getting! We went out for three days mid week. The staff are amazing here, their response was always "yes, of course". They were so accommodating when we asked if they could store our bikes for us. Rooms are nice size, robes are added touch. As a tea drinker it was nice to see a kettle in the room. Beds are always comfortable. Hot tub is a good size, pool is alright more of a sitting pool as it is shallow, but kids still had fun.

One regret we had was going to the Keg for breakfast Buffett the first morning instead of the one at the Delta. We went the next day, not a very big breakfast buffett but the food was much better quality and really good.

Probably 10 min walk into heart of downtown, but with the beautiful views you don't notice.

We will return!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Alana B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and the team was able to exceed your expectations by delivering great service. We will be sure to pass your compliments to the Chef about the breakfast!

Thank you for choosing the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Gittens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.