We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing missing but nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing missing but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I did a quick night away in Banff with my mom. At the last minute on a long weekend we didn't have many options and knew we'd be paying for that. The Delta was a good find. We called the reservation toll free and unfortunately our request for two queens didn't make it to the hotel. They managed to accommodate us though which was appreciated.
Our room was a nice size and had a fireplace. The bathroom was a nice set up with toilet and shower in one area and a sink with counter space in another. Makes getting ready a little easier.
We walked to town which wasn't too far. We would have taken the bus had it started to rain!
The pool is nice enough, but a bit small and full of children. The hot tub wasn't much smaller than the pool! The pool was a bit chemically - shower before and after!
Overall there was nothing wrong with the room or the hotel, but it was nothing special. What is special is being in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Katyakatyak,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad we were able to accommodate you in the hotel at the last minute and help with your special request. Thank you for recognizing our great Premier Rooms with fireplaces and the rooms' bathroom size. I have passed on your comments regarding our pool to our maintenance department.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    300
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
207
387
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I wanted to give it a higher rating but there are little things throughout the hotel that just take away from it,
The rooms are decent not very large but well rounded, the linens are decent the bed was soft the wifi worked, the TV was a decent size,
The pool area is nice needs a little more care, the spa was ok nothing over the top did not feel that it made me want to go back there.
Parking is tight in the basement but that is standard for Banff, not right in the centre of the action but as long as it is not too cold it is a short walk to the main part of town.
Staff were helpful, did not take in any of the on site restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a mountain view and not Banff Avenue,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Oakvilleadvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and for staying with us.

We are glad you found our hotel and rooms well-rounded and we value you your feedback regarding the small things. I shall pass these items onto the Spa management and our maintenance department regarding the pool.

Our colleagues take great pride in being helpful and sharing their knowledge of the Banff and surrounding area.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel the hotel has beautiful rooms and an excellent spa. All staff were courteous kind and extremely helpful. The concierge Tom, was fantastic at organising suitable trips n activities in Banff and the hotel arranged bookings. Would highly recommend this hotel for a break in the Beautiful Banff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We don't typically stay in expensive hotels, but we were ecstatic to find a 4-star hotel for $350/night and jumped on the chance to indulge ourselves for a couple of nights in Banff during our trip to Calgary and the surrounding attractions. The room was fine, the service was good – really I have no major complaints with the hotel itself. My issue is that we were paying for a 4-star hotel and got a very 2-3 star value / experience overall. On the same trip in neighboring cities we paid 1/3 the price for what we got. My only conclusion is that we paid handsomely for the location in Banff city proper. Lesson learned; next time I'll just pay much less for the same quality but 5-10 minutes out of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Jake1021,

Thank you for your review, we welcome all feedback and I apologize you feel you did not receive value for the price paid.

Rates in Banff are higher during the peak summer season, June through September, however we do strive to meet and exceed all our guests' expectations, I do apologize we fell short this time.

Thank you for recognizing the good service we provided to you while you stayed with us.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were wowed by the layout of the room, complete with gas fireplace (which we did use for atmosphere even tho it was a warm night). Room was very clean and attractively decorated and the windows even opened for some fresh Canadian Rockies' air. Breakfast buffet was good and nicely presented. Dining room was too cool with the A/C running full blast at 7 a.m.!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear sunshine1492

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad we "wowed" you with our room layout. We appreciate all your feedback and I will mention to our maintenance team about the early morning air-conditioning. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were very pleased with our choice of accomodation, both in the hotel and in Banff. Our room had a huge bathroom consisting of two areas which would have been great if there was more than a couple occupying the room.It was spotelssly clean, and I am very fussy in that respect!

It was really pleasant to learn that the hotel had gone to the effort of remembering my husband's birthday, and made our stay that much more special.

Both concierges we made contact with were spot on with their information, and really friendly, a credit to the hotel!

Two issues that the hotel could review to take their ratings even higher. The first was of a slight annoyance, but just delayed us returning to our rooms after a long day of sightseeing. Cars belonging to guests booking in blocked the entrance to the underground garage on several occasions. Maybe the concierge or whomever is available can move them aside to allow current guests entry to the parking.

The other issue concerned our breakfast when we ate at the restaurant one morning. We were shown to our table, but then no one came and explained the bufffet or other option. We had to "flag" down a server after about 10 minutes and then she said she would be back soon to tell us how it worked. Another 10 minutes came and went, so we went up to the buffet where a server was replenishing stock. He explained the options and we made our choices. Another server came and asked us if we wanted coffee and we indicated our requests, but then she did not return (and did not see her again?) So again, we had to "flag" someone down which made us feel rather conspicuous. I could understand the delays if the breakfast service was very busy and am happy to allow for such instances, but it was not busy at all that morning, and so was a little disapointed with the apparent drop in service levels we had experienced elsewhere in the hotel during our stay.

The hotel is in a great location, a walkable distance to the main shopping area, and not too close to the train line (even though we could still hear the train in the distance several times during the night)

Although we did not need the fireplace, it gave the room a great ambiance, and the air conditioning functioned well, which certainly was necessary during our stay over the hot spell.

This hotel would definately be our choice for any future stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Canadian lodge is cozy but also very spacious.
The staff from hotel is very kind and helpful, and they also provide umbrellas for the customers (there was light rain when I was about to leave to walk to a restaurant).
The hotel is close by Banff downtown (just a 5 minute walking distance), so you are near a wide variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.