We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banff beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Banff beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were very pleased with our choice of accomodation, both in the hotel and in Banff. Our room had a huge bathroom consisting of two areas which would have been great if there was more than a couple occupying the room.It was spotelssly clean, and I am very fussy in that respect!

It was really pleasant to learn that the hotel had gone to the effort of remembering my husband's birthday, and made our stay that much more special.

Both concierges we made contact with were spot on with their information, and really friendly, a credit to the hotel!

Two issues that the hotel could review to take their ratings even higher. The first was of a slight annoyance, but just delayed us returning to our rooms after a long day of sightseeing. Cars belonging to guests booking in blocked the entrance to the underground garage on several occasions. Maybe the concierge or whomever is available can move them aside to allow current guests entry to the parking.

The other issue concerned our breakfast when we ate at the restaurant one morning. We were shown to our table, but then no one came and explained the bufffet or other option. We had to "flag" down a server after about 10 minutes and then she said she would be back soon to tell us how it worked. Another 10 minutes came and went, so we went up to the buffet where a server was replenishing stock. He explained the options and we made our choices. Another server came and asked us if we wanted coffee and we indicated our requests, but then she did not return (and did not see her again?) So again, we had to "flag" someone down which made us feel rather conspicuous. I could understand the delays if the breakfast service was very busy and am happy to allow for such instances, but it was not busy at all that morning, and so was a little disapointed with the apparent drop in service levels we had experienced elsewhere in the hotel during our stay.

The hotel is in a great location, a walkable distance to the main shopping area, and not too close to the train line (even though we could still hear the train in the distance several times during the night)

Although we did not need the fireplace, it gave the room a great ambiance, and the air conditioning functioned well, which certainly was necessary during our stay over the hot spell.

This hotel would definately be our choice for any future stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    270
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
179
341
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Canadian lodge is cozy but also very spacious.
The staff from hotel is very kind and helpful, and they also provide umbrellas for the customers (there was light rain when I was about to leave to walk to a restaurant).
The hotel is close by Banff downtown (just a 5 minute walking distance), so you are near a wide variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel during our visit to Banff. The room itself was quite nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and had a good quality mattress.

Overall the room was very clean except for the bath tub. It wasn't cleaned properly and I only discovered this right before I needed to give my kids a bath so I quickly cleaned it myself. This is unacceptable for a Delta that charges so much per night. We also returned to our room one day at 4:00pm and it hadn't been cleaned. I called and asked someone to come and clean it and the staff member who came 15 mins later was quite rude to us even though she had clearly forgotten to clean our room. There was also inconsistencies when our room was cleaned. Sometimes they forgot to give us the right number of towels and our toiletries weren't always refilled.

Check in was easy and quick. Parking, which you have to pay for, was a total nightmare. This hotel has a very small entrance and parking is underground. So if anyone parks in front of the hotel, they essentially block the entrance to the underground parking. EVERY single time we returned to the hotel after a day of sightseeing, someone was parked and blocked the entrance. This was so annoying - we could never get in to park and had to find the bell man to help us. Why does a hotel charge for parking when you can't even get to the parking? The staff shouldn't allow people to park there or make sure they park in a way that doesn't block the entrance to the parking garage. This irritated me so much that I will never stay at this hotel again just because of the lack of access to parking.

We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and that was enough. The food was of high quality but the wait staff were rude and clueless. There were only 2 tables full of people and 3 staff yet they stood around chatting while I had to wait 10 min for a cup of coffee. They also never brought us the toast we asked for and were no where to be found at times. And when they did finally try to help, they did so at the most inappropriate times. For example, one person asked my kids if they wanted to colour while they were eating - I found this odd and responded that they were eating their meal and now was not a good time for colouring. I'm sure that the staff member was just trying to be nice but it wasn't appropriate (why not ask me if I wanted water while I was waiting 10 min for my coffee?).

Overall I am a huge fan of Delta hotels but the parking situation and rude/clueless staff will be the reason why we won't return. This hotel should also stop charging guests for parking unless they can guarantee access 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Momoftwins155019

Thank you for your review.
I have passed your comments and concerns directly to our team leaders for housekeeping and the restaurant. I sincerely apologize for the inconsistencies in both these areas of service during your stay. It is very unusual for our staff members to be rude and I apologize on behalf of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.
Your valuable comments regarding our parking are being addressed with new signage in order to alleviate the problem you encountered. However it is a narrow driveway and sometimes other clients do block up the driveway which we try to alleviate as soon as the blockage occurs.
Please accept my sincere apologies as we didn't meet our usual high standards during your stay but your feedback is very welcome. Please be aware that we do have a manager on duty to be able to resolve problems to our guest’s satisfaction and we strive to solve all issues during our guests' stay.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent three nights here, a Friday through Monday, during the first week of August, which appeared to be high season. Our stay was exemplary. The room was quiet, comfortable, clean and spacious, with a working gas fireplace (not needed this time of year. There was underground parking at $15/day, and your windshield was cleaned each morning when you went to get the car, a nice touch. The staff were friendly, polite, knowledgeable and anxious to do whatever they could to improve your stay. We had breakfast at the in-house restaurant all three days, and it was good. We also ate dinner there one night (excellent), but will cover that in another review. Ten minute walk to downtown, so very convenient as well. Based on our experience we would absolutely recommend this facility, and would definitely stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Eric A,

Thank you for your review. It gives my colleagues great satisfaction to see that you reviewed our hotel so highly, it allows us to see that the hard work and dedication that they put in daily has resulted in you enjoying the hotel and amenities while you stayed with us. I will pass on your comments and high praise. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel. Location was good (approx 10 min walk from centre) and staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were a good size and of good quality. We thought that the breakfast was quite expensive so we did not take it at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear CEL67,

Thank you for reviewing the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. My colleagues take great pride in the hotel and Banff and love sharing the local area knowledge. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to my colleagues.


Stephen Crossland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed three nights here earlier in the summer, as the first stop on our tour from the UK. The atmospheric lobby offered a welcoming atmosphere as did the staff whom we found unfailingly helpful and friendly. We had a lovely second floor room, spacious, well equipped and with an impressive mountain view. The buffet breakfast was good and competitively priced. Though slightly outside the town centre, it was a pleasant walk to the sights and shops. Along with superb weather and the wonderful vistas of the Rockies, the Canadian Lodge provided a great base for our visit to beautiful Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear midlandmusician,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel and staff complimented the spectacular Canadian Rockies. I will pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Good quality rooms, great location, plenty of parking underneath.
The staff working the restaurant and bar would rather be somewhere else, and it shows. Ages to get seated for breakfast even though staring at a table ready to be occupied. Many tables uncleared, and the staff moving at snails pace. Need a coffee? Ask one of the staff standing in their drinks dispensing area ... Drinking coffee. Food run out at the buffet? .... Go to drinks cubby and tell one of the staff drinking coffee....

The "Business Center" is a coin operated PC in the basement. Slowest PC in the world. Took 7 minutes to get to email login screen... Had only 8 minutes left before I'd need another $2.... And I'd already made two trips because reception omitted to mention I'd need coins....

One of the two draft beers the bar offers ran out the first night. Was still out when we left two days later...

Housekeeping staff were very friendly, and the Concierge was a star... But otherwise it's just a nice property in a good location looking for new management.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear SPH32561

Thank you for your review and bringing this to our attention. We are paying very close attention to our breakfast service and our new Restaurant Manager is paying particular attention to the issues that you have raised in your review. I apologise for our Business Center PC and we are addressing the speed of the computer. Thank you for complementing our Housekeeping and Concierge colleagues and I will definitely pass on your praise to them.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.