We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown, great pool, could be much more family friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St. Albert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to downtown, great pool, could be much more family friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went here with our kids, the room was nice but cramped, typical for Banff perhaps. The bathroom was very small as well but on the plus side, we overlooked a terrace which was quite pretty. You pay extra for the terrace room, might not be worth the money for most folks as there are no views and you share that space with other guests.
The salt water pool and hot tub was excellent, a little small for kids swimming but they enjoyed it all the same. Sauna was dingy dark and a bit smelly. I didn't stay in there for long.
This hotel isn't as family friendly as other Deltas we've stayed at. At other Delta hotels kids 6 and under eat free & my older child was able to order off the regular menu for half price. They didn't provide this for us at the Banff location which was disappointing. My 5 year old did eat free. Be sure to check ahead of time about those details for your children.
What was an $80 meal at other places was over $160 here as we didn't get our usual Delta kids perks.
Not sure I would return here with kids - if staying as a couple, I probably would...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    274
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
179
347
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we stay in a hotel cleanliness is the biggest factor for us. This hotel is not only clean but their staff genuinely love their jobs and were easy to talk to and very accommodating. The pool is relaxing and hotel is reasonable distance to all amenities. Wouldn't think twice to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a perfect stay. Check-in was quick. Underground parking meant our car was secure, not that Banff is a high-crime town or anything :) The room was spectacular. We had a King Deluxe room, and it was huge. Windows that opened to the fresh mountain air were fabulous for sleeping. A nice bathroom with a jetted tub made the room complete. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and exercise areas were well-maintained, too. We loved the decor...perfect for a mountain hotel...and there is a restaurant on site though we did not make use of it. It is a pricey hotel, but for us, for the one night, it was the perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite.
Very clean, modern, quiet. and spacious rooms. The bed was so soft; we were sad to leave! There was plenty of underground parking. And the location was perfect (by a convenience store, plenty of restaurants, and on the main street).
Customer service was outstanding! We were getting married that day in Banff and the hotel phoned us once our room was ready for an early check in and they left us a congratulatory note and treats!
All the staff was extremely pleasant and hospitable.
We were stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed two nights in the premiere room. With two teenaged girls, the spacious bathroom was wonderful. Staff were helpful and friendly - from suggesting trails suitable to our preferences to getting us set up on the free loaner cruiser bikes. The hotel restaurant The Evergreen was also splendid, with great service. The only thing that could have been better was the in-room air conditioning system; it cycled on and off all night, causing us to not sleep soundly as we went from being cold to hot over and over again all night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is more expensive than some but well worth the extra money. Loved the location and the quiet setting. The front desk staff and concierge were very helpful and the valet parking option was handled efficiently. You can easily walk from the hotel to the main part of town and there are a number of good restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. Our room was a junior suite and it suited our needs well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, lovely large room at the back of hotel overlooking quiet courtyard. Good location, about a ten minute walk into Banff with all the restaurants shops and bars. Would go back to this hotel. Helpful polite staff.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.