We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, lovely large room at the back of hotel overlooking quiet courtyard. Good location, about a ten minute walk into Banff with all the restaurants shops and bars. Would go back to this hotel. Helpful polite staff.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    274
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
179
346
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel! The staff were so helpful and welcoming when we arrived at the hotel. Showed us the spots that were worth checking out. Received an addressed Thank You card for choosing this hotel. The location was perfect for walking into town. The room was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Wifi: Free, codes provided per device on check in, plus a "charger-port" - a couple of helpfully-place sockets on the desk.

Bedroom: A little on the small side, but includes a built in wardrobe plus a large TV cabinet with drawers below.  There is a safe in cupboard, which is free and can easily accommodate an ipad and DSLR Camera.  There is both a kettle a small coffee machine.  Also, an ice bucket which you can fill from the landing.  There is a vending machine on the landing as well where you can purchase bottled water at a competitive price.

Bathroom: Again, a little cramped, but there is a shelf below the large mirror and a cabinet beneath the sink - haridryer provided.  The bath has a fixed head shower, so you can't easily wash your hair without also showering - and vice versa.  The bath is protected with a curtain rather than glass.  I personally loathe shower curtains because they will have touched the previous occupant and not have been replaced/cleaned (yuck, yuck).  Having said that, I will credit this hotel with at least having pristine white curtains and no hint of dirtiness anywhere in the bath tiles.  Plus the curtain does curve away from the bath so it doesn't suck inwards with the draft.  Two large and two small towels were provided per person, plus hand towels.  

Reception:/Concierege:  Receptionists were helpful and friendly.  The concierge, Tom, was really great, making dinner reservations, booking trips and gerenally giving tips on the kind of day out that would suit us.

Breakfast: We booked with expedia, which means breakfast isn't included, but we did buy breakfast from the alc menu and although it was a little more than we would have paid in town, it wasn't a big difference and worth it for convenience.  

Location: on the man road into Banff - it's a 10-15 minute easy stroll into town.  

Parking - on site and CAD15+ tax per night.  

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Room is spacious with some old time elegance, especially the bathroom. Bed and pillow are so comfy, so when we are back from daytime's hiking and sightseeing we could be recharged by good night's sleep. All front desk staff never failed to help with any of our requests, and make us feel welcomed home when we are back to the hotel. With this hotel and other experiences, we do love the city of Banff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naramata
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very, very nice hotel. Friendly reception staff who did everything to make our stay comfortable. The room was big and the bathroom had a sliding door between the wash basins and the shower/toilet area so both areas could be used at the same time. Big, soft, comfy beds, plus windows that opened if you didn't want the air conditioning on. Lovely pool, hot tub grotto area that was wonderful after a long day of travelling. Nice touch having a kettle as well as the coffee machine as some travellers like to enjoy a cup of tea.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was lovely to have the window open onto the treed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had 3 nights here recently and was delighted with everything except the breakfast shambles.

The room was huge and very well furnished and the reception staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. No problems there at all.

But the breakfasts! Unnecessarily complicated menus, a very poor buffet selection, extremely slow service, especially when the restaurant was busy, and unhelpful staff. I resorted to just tea and toast on the third money and even then the water for the tea was only lukewarm.

On one particularly bad morning, I had to wait for a table to be cleared and reset for me, then waited 15 mins for my order to be taken, then arrived at the buffet to find no plates, waited for a plate to arrive for my fruit, ate the fruit and went back to the buffet only to find no plates again! When a plate did arrive, I opened the hot buffet dish covers to find that only cold, congealed scrambled egg and equally cold potato bits were available. Eventually, after more waiting, got some bacon and was asked to pay an extra 3 dollars for a sliced tomato - which came raw! And there's more folks but I don't want to remember it.

So please use the hotel but go somewhere else for your meals.

I also ought to mention that the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the pillows so good I'd have liked to take them home with me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Even before we got to Banff, the hotel impressed us because the concierges were so polite and helpful when I called several times with questions about gold courses and distances to local attractions. When we arrived, the staff could not have been more helpful. The beds in our room were exceptionally comfortable! Restaurant had a variety of good selections. The Canadian Maple Martini was world class. Great location. We never heard a sound at night although we had people in rooms on either side of us. Hoping to return next summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.