We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the huuuge fireplace and free apple cider in the lobby!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the huuuge fireplace and free apple cider in the lobby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Pool and hot tub were nice - seemed a little "shut in" as they're in the basement. Room was clean and smelled fresh. Odd room layout but that is probably because of merging 2 older, smaller rooms together for a very large, spacious room (we upgraded to a corner room/junior suite with a fireplace). Furnishings were very modern/updated. Comfy bed! Within walking distance to the Irish Pub, other restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a fireplace during the fall/winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    256
    80
    20
    12
See reviews for
170
322
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were staying at Delta just few weeks ago for our spring break winter ski/snowboard trip. Hotel is great. Our room was large with two queen size beds, good working internet and TV. Room and bathroom were very clean. The only minus - we had room which is inside courtyard and looks above first floor and has no view, but you can sit and relax outside of your room in some kind of protected area which is roof of the first floor. My kid was running barefoot in the fresh powder on the roof.

The spa is very large and cozy. The steam room is a steam room and not a sauna. Indoor pool is clean and of a good size.

The food in restaurant is fine in the morning - select buffet serving and very good in the evening (see separate review).

Location is on the main strip 3-4 blocks from everything in town.

Personnel friendly and helpful.

Great job. Thank you.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My son and I spend 3 nights (repeat visit) at the Delta in early March just for a quick father/son getaway.

As expected, the resort exceeded expectations (again) in terms of service and advice. The heated underground parking is excellent (they even wash your windows!) and very welcome as this was one of those cold late winter weeks in the Rockies.

The rooms are above typical and clean and well maintained - ours had a gas fireplace that was very nice and threw a pile of heat!

The resort is within easy walking distance (even if it's cold) of downtown Banff and good restaurants and the resort staff are very accommodating in providing advice for things to do, places to go and what might work for your day or evening. They are all locally experienced even though they aren't from the area and have good current knowledge and sound advice.

Room Tip: If you're travelling in the winter, go for the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American River, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

A great staff with fabulous in-room service, our group got to chat with a chef who was knowledgeable and more than accommodating to our gluten intolerant member of our group. I travel frequently and will be back on my next trip through.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just got back from spending the weekend in Banff to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I just wanted to give a special thank you to The Delta. We got there a couple of hours early, and was pleasantly surprised that our room was ready and it would be ok to check in early. Then we were greeted with a nice surprise of Champagne, chocolates and a note congratulating our anniversary and welcoming us to the Delta. The room is spotless and so nice with the fireplace. The pool and hot tub area is really pretty, and again, very clean. Lastly, someone cleans our car windows each night. That is such a nice treat. Thank you to everyone for such a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear John,

Thanks so much for your great review of our property, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the amenities we placed in your room to celebrate your anniversary!

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (403)760-6960.

Best Regards,

George Palmer
Manager-On-Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed rooms, food was a bit expensive but certainly tasty. There is much to see and do in Banff, it's nice to be able to come back to a nice quiet room and relax after a day/night of fun! ..………

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bruno, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great improvement since last time I stay there (2 years ago). The food and service are outstanding!

Hiowever, breakfast is much too expensive. The hotel should have more choices of all included breakfast (Juce, Coffee, toast...) for 15 - 20$. I have paid up to 30$ because I refill my orange juice without being told it was not free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.