We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and a great room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and a great room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. We had the room with a fireplace which is worth having as it was lovely. Huge queen bed and lots of space in both bathroom and bedroom area. Snowboard/ski equipment must be kept in a secure room in the car park ( which we were wary of at first ) but it was absolutely fine. Short walk downtown but you can get a cab for about 7 bucks. Loved it. Would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Queen bed with fireplace is a good pick! We had 319, wouldn't fault it - had views of the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    240
    72
    19
    12
See reviews for
154
303
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

After driving from Calgary we were warmly welcomed by very friendly and accomodating staff who did everything they could within the constraints of a third party booking agent.

As per usual for typical ski resort locations, the facilities were somewhat dated and felt like a timewarp back to the 80s. Whilst the room and beds were comfortable, the overall facilities offered in the room were poor for the price paid, even at the discounted rates.

Parking underneath had good access and felt safe. The pool downstair was rather compact and felt a bit seedy though lack of natural light and lack of modernization to make it feel clean.

Yes, i would conisder staying here again if i went back to Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I had one night kid free, first time in 8 years. We booked over the phone and got a great deal! Upon arrival the staff were friendly, informative and courteous. They advised us over the phone what the dinner special was and my husband was sold on it before we got there, I had the Duck, he had the special. It was divine! The hot tub and pool are beautiful and have beautiful waterfalls and lots of space. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. This hotel is located very close to town. We went for a lovely stroll and did some shopping. Very convenient! When I had a slight mix-up on my room-service they sent up complimentary strawberries, knowing my husband and I were trying to have a nice romantic evening. It was super sweet of them. We had breakfast in the morning and even though they were short-staffed, they were so nice and quick to serve. The restaurant was clean and had a wonderful ambiance! I would highly recommend this hotel to singles, couples as well as families. Awesome stay!

Room Tip: Book early, as we ended up with whatever was left! lol. but of course it was a busy weekend here in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the great news about your stay!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am especially pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurant. The duck happens to be my favorite dish, so I'm always thrilled to hear about other people trying it!

Once again thank you for staying at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (403)762-3307.

Sincerely,
George Palmer
Manager-On-Duty
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The service was lovely. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The pool area was well maintained, and the room was great. The only negative in my opinion is that they do not offer a complimentary breakfast. The price of the room was comparable, if not slightly higher to other hotels in the area that provide breakfast. Other than that, everything else was great. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Delta over Christmas for 5dys and it was fabulous. I had made a few request before we arrived and they really did roll out the red carpet for us. There was a Christmas tree in our room when we arrived along with champagne,chocolates and a beautiful ornament to remind us of our holiday in beautiful Banff. The staff was always most helpful and always greeted us with a smile and kind words.If I had a question they were more then willing to help or do what they could to help.The Hotel is very clean and our room was so very cozy with the fireplace and very comfy beds. I really liked how the bathrooms are set up with a separate room for the shower and vanity.The concierge service which is each and everyone of them that we met were just remarkable sweet and friendly.We would like to thank Steven and all the staff at the Delta for helping to make our Christmas one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Very nice property, good location to downtown banff but a bit on the pricey side for everything. Stayed in the king jacuzzi suite - room temperature wAs hard to get right but had a great mounting view.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for Christmas in 2013. Our room was spacious, fire place was a lovely touch and the staff checked us in without any problems. Tom especially as a concierge was AWESOME!!!!!
The lovely homely touches of hot chocolate, cookies and fruit in the evening was just perfect. Yes it is a little walk out of town, but it isn't that far, and you can catch the bus if you really wanted.
Will certainly stay here again :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us the great news about your stay!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the hot chocolate, cookies and fruit!

It is a pleasure to know that Tom provided such great service to you, we will be sure to recognize and thank him/her on your behalf.

Once again thank you for staying at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (403)762-3307.

Sincerely,
George Palmer
Manager-On-Duty
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.