We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a great little Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge for one night. What a great little hotel. It was well appointed, the staff was attentive, the rooms (at least mine) was spacious. Not what I’d classify as a four star hotel, but certainly a high 3 star. The hotel is a little older, but very well maintained.
I didn’t try out the restaurant or lounge, but the pool and hot tub area was fantastic. Little confusion on the spa hours; the pool sign, the spa sign, and the guest directory all had different hours.
A brief walk into downtown Banff (and by brief I mean 3 minutes). I would definitely stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    265
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
334
13
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed only one night 05/October 2013. Front desk excellent service.
Very clean and very nice room, also the beds were very comfortable. Beat The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise were I also stayed in our trip the following night.
The breakfast was good and the service was very good approx..$34.00 for two, the only sad thing was we got charge $2.00 for opening a small jam strawberry package from the table that was worth $0.20 when we had breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Delta for one night during late September. The hotel was clean and modern with a restaurant, nice bar and a swimming pool/spa on site. We stayed in a premium room which exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk away from the centre of Banff, with its many dining options, bars, gift shops, etc. Would definitely recommend and stay there again should we visit Banff in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We searched for a weekend getaway online for several days and decided on the Royal Canadian Lodge. The service was outstanding and Tom went way out of his way to help us several times with specific activities that we wanted to experience. The staff was extremely friendly, very helpful, and polite. The room was larger than we thought by the pictures. The bathroom was very clean and also larger than expected. We have traveled four hours on the scenic backroads and picked up some bugs on the windshield. I thought the next morning I would clean them off when I got gas, but the staff had already cleaned the windows when we were sleeping. I have never even heard of a hotel service like that, amazing. The beds were comfortable and atmosphere was great. We were about two large blocks from the beginning of the shops, so it is very convenient to downtown but just far enough away to have less ped or car traffic. We were planning on renting bikes at a local bike shop, but Tom told us that the cruiser bikes were complimentary, so we took him up and had a great time on them. We did not eat in the restaurant at the hotel because there were too many fabulous places in town. We enjoyed the pool and spa. The pool was the perfect temperature but the spa was a little too hot for my wife and I, but the rock architecture added to the mountain experience. Nice touch but simple. Overall experience was beyond expectations.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was convenient, elevator works well but we don't like to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Delta Royal Canadian in Banff for 2 nights in September in a premier room. The room was clean, large, comfortable but somewhat dated. View from the room was of next doors back yard! Also the room had two large beds which was not to our liking and not what we requested.

The hotel is in a very good location for walking into town.

We had one very good meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms with a good view might be hard to come by
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I chose Delta Banff Royal after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were delighted with the entire experience. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well appointed with a gas fireplace. Although we spent very little time in the hotel during the day because we were out enjoying the sights in Banff and Lake Louise, we were always happy to return to the hotel were we would head for the bar and enjoy drinks and good food. Becky the bartender and Tom the concierge were especially helpful, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Banff for week-end get aways for the last 10-12 years, and with the exception of two times, have stayed at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge for every trip. The location of the hotel is ideal for strolling downtown for shopping or enjoying the numerous pubs and restaurants that Banff has to offer. The Evergreen restaurant, located in the hotel has, on every occasion that we have eaten there, provided us with an exceptional dining experience complete with five star service. I make an appointment at the Grotto spa, well in advance of my check in date to ensure that I can get an appointment and have never been disappointed with thier services. Our rooms are always ready upon check in and are very clean, and in general, the hotel is well maintained and the staff always friendly and courteous. My only unfavourable comment, (and it is not that bad at all) is that for years, the Delta has used "June Jacobs" products in thier rooms, and I found that the lip balm, which is fabulous and necessary in winter months, is no longer offered. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Banff, regardless of the price point. There are definately more affordable hotels in Banff and I have stayed in a couple of them but once you stay at this Delta, you always want to come back. I know I am looking forward to my November trip this year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.