We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Bad Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Bad Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed two nights at this hotel on separate occasions. The first being at the front of the hotel and noise from the street was terrible. Couldn't sleep with all the noise of cars and tourists all night long. Figured I would move to the back of the hotel only to be kept awake by the ice machine across from my room. Guests getting ice all night long and early in the morning, most likely to keep their stuff cool during the day. These guests up at 4 am to catch their tour bus and draining the machine of all its ice. Noisy machine and the guests had no courtesy to be quiet in the hall. Talking loudly while they get their ice. Then to top it all off, I get home, only to check my visa and find out the hotel overcharged my card by $300.00. What's up with that. You would think that a Delta hotel would at least have their billing system perfected. Never will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DG. I am sorry your stay was spoiled by other guests using the ice machine and departing early. Had you mentioned this at check out we would have made some kind of compensation.
As for the "overcharge" I am fairly certain it was just a pre-authorization on your credit card that will be reversed once the necessary waiting period has passed. Thank you for your comments. I hope they are helpful to other guests who will understand the procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    264
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
334
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with 3 people and enjoyed how comfortable the beds and the room itself were. It was a good location and we had room off the back to quiet street. No balconies but plenty of windows with great views of the mountains just a stones throw away. We ate all of our meals out because the atmosphere, while nice, was not compelling. The thing I found lacking was lack of a greeter or attendant upon arrival. The pull in area is small and if more than one car in the drive it can get blocked off quickly. Had I known I would have left our luggage in the car. Overall it was nice and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Above average but nothing to write home about.
It was surprising to see that the hotel was built in (approx) 2000. It had somewhat of an 80s feel to it - a combination of an older style of decor and the fact that the condition was just a little rougher than what you might expect for a $200-300/night 4*. (Glad we used a discount site.) But all in all, Banff is pricey and this place was fair value for this high market.
One annoying thing happened during our stay, and it shouldn't have. The front 'lawn' is tiny. There's no reason it needed to be mowed with a loud gas mower right outside many guests' windows for 5-10 minutes before 8:00a.m. For the money and the type of hotel this Delta wants to be, this is the kind of thing that they should just know better. We mentioned it to the desk on checking out and the clerk said he'd pass along the comment (and also seemed to wonder why they'd have been mowing the tiny lawn so bright and early).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in this hotel and the lodging itself was pretty good - clean, spacious, convenient location. Breakfast food was terrible: croissants seemed to be a week old, omelette had no taste, variety was very poor. Dinner steak seemed to be boiled, not grilled. Room service was very good but the guy selling tours sold us an evening wildlife safari tour promising that we will get some compensation if there would be no wildlife. Of course the tour was a fiasco and when I asked about a compensation, the guy told us that Banff is not a zoo. I put three stars because the hotel by itself is good but all additional services are poor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent Labor Day long weekend there. Very nice hotel, super comfortable beds. Very cozy mineral hot-tab and swimming pool. We had one breakfast at hotel's restaurant, and it was ok, but very little selection. So next day kids asked to go somewhere else. Another small problem was related to booking the tours and excursions. The front desk staff offered their help and booked us wildlife safari tour and horseback riding tour. But the guy mixed up all schedules so we almost missed the safari and almost went to the wrong location for riding tour. So book it yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Delta Banff travelling from Calgary to Jasper. Wonderful hotel with great location. Reception was fast and efficient after leaving car in the underground parking area. Room was spacious and well maintained with separate bath/shower and toilet. Good quality bed - one of the best we had during our holiday - fresh crisp linen and good pillows. In room safe FOC. Breakfast was buffet style - good choice with all one would need to give yourself an excellent start to the day. Prices were possibly on the high side but you were provided with quality service. Only issue for us - we felt the parking charges were over the top. 10 mins walk into centre of town which was ideal for us.
All in all an excellent hotel which we would consider for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night here and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff were friendly and efficient. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it did look good. The room was huge and really beautiful. Bed was really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. Underground parking was only $12 per day. This hotel is a few blocks from the hub of the town but certainly in walking distance. Busses and cabs are available too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.