We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and mineral bath-tab!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great bed and mineral bath-tab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent Labor Day long weekend there. Very nice hotel, super comfortable beds. Very cozy mineral hot-tab and swimming pool. We had one breakfast at hotel's restaurant, and it was ok, but very little selection. So next day kids asked to go somewhere else. Another small problem was related to booking the tours and excursions. The front desk staff offered their help and booked us wildlife safari tour and horseback riding tour. But the guy mixed up all schedules so we almost missed the safari and almost went to the wrong location for riding tour. So book it yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    263
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
333
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Delta Banff travelling from Calgary to Jasper. Wonderful hotel with great location. Reception was fast and efficient after leaving car in the underground parking area. Room was spacious and well maintained with separate bath/shower and toilet. Good quality bed - one of the best we had during our holiday - fresh crisp linen and good pillows. In room safe FOC. Breakfast was buffet style - good choice with all one would need to give yourself an excellent start to the day. Prices were possibly on the high side but you were provided with quality service. Only issue for us - we felt the parking charges were over the top. 10 mins walk into centre of town which was ideal for us.
All in all an excellent hotel which we would consider for the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night here and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff were friendly and efficient. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it did look good. The room was huge and really beautiful. Bed was really comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. Underground parking was only $12 per day. This hotel is a few blocks from the hub of the town but certainly in walking distance. Busses and cabs are available too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to shops and restaurants but just far enough away to be out of the noise and traffic. Complimentary bicycles are available for trips around town. There is parking underground and a bar and restaurant on the premises- both very nice. The room was lovely, spacious, and the bath huge! Linens were very nice and mattress super comfy. Staff was acommodating and we would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel room itself was good, bed was really cozy and smelt fresh. They were accommodating when i requested to be able to check in an hour earlier. We (my boyfriend and I) booked massages. It was kind of a bummer because they did not offer couple's massage as there was only one therapist so it was one after the other. Therapist was good and was very apologetic as it was her "first day back" with Delta. She didn't really know how to work the POS system so it took awhile to get our CC receipts which was fine. She offered to send me a copy of the official massage receipts via email (because it was easier and faster as she had mentioned)and it would just take a couple minutes, well it has been 34 hours and still no receipt. She said to contact the front desk if we didn't receive it right away which I did (3x) and they said they couldn't help me. Upon check out, one of the employees sort of wrote me up a receipt but it was only for my bf and not for me. (He put both sessions in one receipt, under one person) It took him a while to find a receipt book and only came back with one sheet of the receipt book, good for only one person. At that point, i was just getting frustrated and wanted to get the hell out. Don't know how well that's gonna go with my benefits provider. I had asked"im still gonna get an actual receipt emailed to me right?" and it's been 13 and a half hours since our check out time. I just feel like the spa should've remained closed until they were fully functional. I must say, with all the hassle getting my receipt really turned me off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the issuing of receipts for your massage treatments. We are aware of your situation and that our Spa Manager has followed up with you directly to ensure that both you and your husband have received them via email. Please note that this experience has provided us with the opportunity to implement new procedures for issuing receipts to our guests. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to have you back to our hotel!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is relatively conveniently located on Banff Ave near restaurants and shops. It is hard to locate due to very subtle signage and we drove past it twice before we saw it. Underground parking is accessed at the front of the hotel (the garage door is fast so if you delay after using your access key then you have a difficult reverse to enter the pass again). Rooms are large and well equipped and our room had a fireplace. The hotel is not situated well for views of the area but the surrounding area is pleasant. The room was very clean and in good order. Staff is friendly but not as crisp as some of the large chains. Check in was a bit slow, although I am a premier member who stays at Delta often, I still had to present ID which was a first for a Delta property. Overall very satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent three nights at the Delta Royal Canadian Lodge in Banff and would definitely return. The linens were fresh and fine on the two queen beds, we had a working fireplace and a window that opened onto a quiet residential street - with a view of the mountains. The underground parking was a bit pricey at $12/ day, but worth it as street parking wasn't really an option. The location was fine - about 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. Staff was friendly and compentent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.