We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi for Members
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
chatsworth, CA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Right in the middle of most hotels in town. Easy walking to several eateries. Rooms clean and comfortable. Beds comfortable. Bathrooms updated. Staff accommodating. Tight indoor parking but available. Had a pool and spa but also the usual chlorine - stifling hot room. We had a room on the first floor but no view. Not sure there are any rooms with a view. Banff was nice but Jasper is prettier - and Lake Louise tops them all.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was easy to get to from the lobby and the parking. No problem with A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cilbcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice, clean rooms (ours even had a fireplace), the bathroom was very large, friendly staff. Hotel was within walking distance of town with plenty of shopping and restaurants. This hotel is probably the furthest from town at the end of the busy section. Didn't eat at the restaurant in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good location on one of the roads out of Banff. 10 minute walk to shops, a bus comes pass the front door that takes you all around Banff as an alternative to walking. Compared to the other places we visited Banff is extremely busy. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.

We stayed in a premium room complete with twin queen beds, fireplace, desk, fridge, two sinks, coffee machine, kettle and safe. Rooms clean and no complaints. However other members of our group had a premium room near the ice machine and vending machine and complained that the noise from these two machines kept them both awake - Room 128.

Banff busy so would suggest booking restaurants via the Concierge if there is somewhere in particular you want to eat.

Hotel does charge $12/day parking.

Room Tip: Stay away from ice machine and vending machine if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Delta. I've stayed in several hotels in Banff and I must say this one was the best. It was quiet, the room was very large and the beds were comfortable. It also had air conditioning. Some of the hotels in Banff have air but its so loud you have to turn it off in order to get any sleep. I loved that they cleaned off the windshield of any bugs etc. The kids loved the pool with its quant waterfall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Terrace standard queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydiedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the hotel. It's a good basis if you want to explore the park and Banff. The walk to downtown Banff takes 5 to 10 minutes and it is convenient located, the rooms are clean, the restaurant is pretty good and the service as well. The only thing that I didn't like it's the slow Wifi connection, but this is just my impression. You cannot compare this hotel and the location to the service of the Rimrock, but it all depends what you are looking for. Keep in mind that you wont stay much at the hotel anyways and so is a good choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staff friendly, service good, breakfast fine but buffet meal we had on one evening fairly ordinary.

Clean room, comfortable beds but the one thing that has me rating the hotel average rather than very good is the air conditioning. No matter what setting I tried, received either an icy blast or was stifled so we did not sleep too well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel conveniently located in the town of Banff. We booked a premium room and it was great. Had a nice seating/entryway, two sinks in the bathroom and nice hotel robes to use. Housekeeping kept the room clean & neat (we were there for 4 nights). Staff was nice. If you use their parking they clean your windshield during the night! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank labs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Low Cost Holidays, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing