We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked on recommendation of a guidebook stating that it has the best value and rooms on the Banff ave hotel strip. Although I can't comment about other hotels in the downtown area, we sure had a pleasant 2 day stay.

The place is located on the main street Banff ave and is easy to locate. It is about a 10 min walk to downtown where the stores and restaurants are. It has underground parking which you access with your key card. The card reader entrance area was a bit narrow and I did hit the curb slightly each time I went through. There were ample parking space.

The rooms were clean and comfortable with a large bathroom, but this is to be expected.

What really made me enjoy the stay was the service and the thoughtful extra touches.

1. Excellent service from front desk.
2. Welcome gift inside my room.
3. Giving us extra wireless internet passcodes as we had brought multiple devices.
4. Bikes available for anyone to use.
5. Garbage and recycling in the underground parking lot. Seriously, after a day of sightseeing and hikes and driving, having a quick way to dispose of our garbage and empty water bottles right in the parking lot was awesome!
6. Lastly, my favourite... cleaning of your windshield each night. This got rid of the dirt and bug juice one accumulates and allowed me to enjoy the scenery the next day! Thank you!

I also recommend booking the special packages. We visited in July with the room rates starting around $250. I booked the special Gondola package which gave us 2 tickets to the Banff gondola (which would've been around $30 per ticket, and is a must see for Banff visitors) and also included parking at the hotel. The rates for me were $293 and $244 for the 2 nights.

If I were to stay in town on Banff ave again, this would definitely be the place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    264
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
334
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel on reviews. And it was an exceptional stay. The rooms was five stars for cleanliness and comfort. We planned on a one night stay but after we got there it was imposible to leave. From the front desk clerk Rizwan, think that was his name.he was fantastic and went above and beyond to help us each day. And he allways called me by my last name. Very nice touch. Pool and hot tub were the best we had on the whole holiday crystal clear and felt clean and refreshing each morning. I cant say enough good things about this place. And I cant wait till I get to go there again. Thanks Delta for the wonderfull memorys. :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

JR X Suite with gas fireplace, nice size bathroom, underground parking, right on Main Street with walking distance to all of the nice shops Banff has to offer. We stayed for 6 nights with all expectations met and then some. Would return without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! We are so pleased to hear that your overall stay with us exceeded your expectations! We appreciate your positive feedback about your room and our great location. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel! Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A good hotel on the main road in Banff, about 10 minutes walking from the "city center". Friendly and helpful staff, very nice rooms. Excellent for a family with kids, with very convenient rooms. And if you're up for a hike, the hot springs are only a 1 hour walk away...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pristine accommodations and excellent food! We are having a lovely 4-day stay, hubby on a CBT course (just mornings) and boy have we settled in. The rooms are beautiful, fireplace, huge bathroom, comfy beds, pure class. The staff friendly and helpful, the walk to downtown, just 8 minutes. The pool has lots of chlorine but still great fun for our 8 year old daughter. The climate control system very efficient...cools instantly if you need. Most hotels are too warm or too cold, not this place. And the Charlton Cedar sister hotel (one block over) has a continental breakfast which we were invited to enjoy. Missed it one morning and the breakfast in the Delta was perfect. Lovely buffet and delicious and affordable especially for my daughter...Little Wrangler (pancakes, bacon, fruit) only $5.25 wow! Needless to say we have been skipping the continental breakfast since. But the piece de resistance...the evening meals in the EVERGREEN dining room. Hats off to Chef Gary and team. Wish we had eaten here every night. Prime Rib specials on weekends the best we've ever had! Don't know why locals aren't flooding this place to enjoy the food. They start you with fresh crusty bread with oil and balsamic vinegar. The Prime Rib came with fresh veggies, yorkshire pudding and the most yummy au jus. Just fabulous. We are going again tonight..oh ya! We'll definitely be back to stay even if my husband's conference is held somewhere else next year. All good!

Room Tip: Main floor was handy to pool, exercise room, restaurant and conference...quiet even though we were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. However, a little far from downtown Banff for walking. Would get closer hotel next time. Second mirror in toilet room was too low, therefore useless. We were surprised how few guests used the restaurant, although the food was good. We were surprised how expensive everything was in Banff/Jasper & we’re from Calif.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in The Evergreen Restaurant and that you found our staff to be friendly and our hotel clean. I have shared your feedback with our staff. Thanks again for your review. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely hotel. Food was good although we were put in a side room for our meals so could not mix with other guests. Hotel is a good 30 minute walk from the centre of Banff. Although it is set in a flat area it could be problematic for people with mobility issues.

Room Tip: The worse rooms are near the kitchen as the AC for the kitchen continues all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review! We are thrilled to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling. I have shared your feedback with our staff and we hope to have you back in the near future! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.