We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest check-in of any hotel I've visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
Combermere, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendliest check-in of any hotel I've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

After many long hours of driving, it was time to call it a night. Not knowing whether Delta Hotels had a property in Banff, Alberta, I called the Delta Privilege reservation line and was quickly connected to the front desk of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.
The young lady who answered the phone, Emily, quickly found me a rate I could live with (including free parking), then spent the next ten minutes on the phone with me giving me turn-by-turn directions from the main highway to the hotel front entrance. Much better than any GPS service. In an effort to help me find the property along a somewhat hotel-crowded thoroughfare, she also dispatched Jeremiah, the concierge, to the street to greet me.
Once inside the fabulous post and beam lobby, Emily quickly checked me in. Upon my saying I would love a hot chocolate, Emily arranged with Jeremiah to whip one up and within less than a minute I was standing at the front desk enjoying a hot chocolate and conversation with two of the friendliest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel.
I was upgraded to a large room with a fireplace in front of which I spent half an hour relaxing, and warming. Could have used another hot chocolate but didn't push my luck on that one.
The underground parking space was very clean and I felt no worries leaving my car there for the night.
In the morning, check-out was swift and friendly.
To my surprise, sometime in the night, staff in Guest Services had cleaned my windshield. I noticed a sign on exiting the parking garage that said "Good Morning. To help you enjoy our scenery, Guest Services has cleaned your windshield. Have a pleasant day! WOW! First time that has ever happened when I've been at a hotel.
I highly recommend all Delta properties but this one in particular has earned five big gold stars from me.

Room Tip: Room #216 with the fireplace was fabulous! Comfortable bed, large clean bathroom, and lots of warmth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic five star review! We are thrilled to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful! We appreciate you mentioning our Front Office employees and the services that we offer to each and every guest. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    239
    72
    19
    11
See reviews for
154
300
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were celebrating our 35th Wedding Anniversary and wanted a nice place to stay for a reasonable price. I did a great deal or research and chose this facility because of the ratings and price. I reserved a suite.

To start, everything nice in Banff is expensive, especially on a May long weekend. Our experience here was excellent. We were greeted as soon as we arrived. The Check-in experience was great, the concierge service was included in the cost of parking and did not change whether you parked your car or they did. That is a plus compared with the surcharge you often pay. Other services related to the concierge were excellent. Our room was outstanding, clean, updated and the bed was very comfortable. It is close to the downtown and we were able to walk easily to wherever we wanted to go. They have a nice restaurant on site, but we did not eat there, so I cannot comment on the food. This was a perfect choice for this special weekend. We did not use the pool or exercise equipment, but both facilities looked excellent especially the exercise equipment (I am into that lately).

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! I am so happy to hear that you experienced an excellent stay and a memorable 35th Wedding Anniversary with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff and the services they provided. On behalf of the Delta Banff team, we hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a West of Canada tour with a group of 26 from the UK and didn't hear a single complaint about the hotel from any of the group. Check in was smooth and swift, the room was spacious, the bed was good and the aircon worked. We had breakfast here once which was good (although the 2 staff serving were overstretched) but expensive so we had breakfast in the town on the other days - there is plenty of choice there and it's less than a 10 minute walk into the town centre.

We had dinner at the hotel twice, once with the group with a limited menu and once a la carte, the food and service for both meals was excellent even though the restaurant was very busy on both evenings.

All in all a nice hotel and were I to visit Banff again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am so happy to hear that your tour group enjoyed their stayed with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant. I have shared your comments with our staff and we hope to have the opportunity of having you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we are traveling 14 days by car through Canada and we have made the hotel reservations before we left from Holland. We were 3 people to share in one room. For all the hotels it works well on the reservation but for Banff on check-in: there is only a reservation for 2 people but it has not been made by us but through a brooker. (not known to us). So we add dollar 25 for an additional person to it.

Next morning on check out: do you think I make for 11 hotels a reservation for 3 people and for Banff for 2. The front desk manager was so polite to take the 25$ off. Good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and for sharing your experience with your reservation booking. I apologize for the inconvenience and I am happy to hear that our Front Office Manager was able to correct this situation for you. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for the first time with 2 sisters and 3 cousins. The valet and concierge were very helpful. You need to book a reservation for dinner in Banff, and he got us into an excellent restaurant called Le Beaujolais which was just perfect for our request for a fancy dinner together. The Friday night we asked for somewhere fun, but not too loud... he suggested the Banff Brewing Company - again, an absolute hit.
The hotel rooms are very large with a gas fireplace, small fridge, safe, plenty of storage space and very clean. One morning I had breakfast delivered and it was on time and hot! The next morning we took advantage of the buffet which was good, but nothing fancy.
We took advantage of the spa and were extremely pleased with service. The pool area was clean, but the hot tub on Friday was very busy so we skipped it. The water is not chlorinated - another plus.
The walk to downtown was about 5-7 minutes, but was very nice. I didn't take my vehicle out all weekend; we were able to walk to all the venues.
We choose the Delta as it is consistently great service from city to town and we were all visiting from all parts of Canada. Thanks to all at the Delta Banff Royal for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic five star review!! We are thrilled to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff were able to help make your stay a memorable and comfortable one for you and your family!! We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with in-room dining and The Grotto Spa. We look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is synonymous with any other Delta Resort. It is spacious, clean and quite comfortable.
The staff here were really nice. I would think this hotel is perfect for business travellers.
It is located at a short walk from the town (or a much shorter drive).
Our room was very nice and comfortable. It had an electric fireplace. The Evergreen Restaurant serves some good food too.
I have absolutely no complaints. The only advice that I have for travellers is that if you are looking for a more rustic feel (or something that is a little more 'Banff'), try one of the resorts located on the mountains. There is a distinct charm in trying to set up a fire by yourself and sipping on some hot chocolate after the hard work rather than just switching on the electric fireplace. I think that's a part of the Banff experience.
If all you are looking for is clean, spacious and comfortable hotel, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We also appreciate your positive feedback about our location, our restaurant and our staff!! On behalf of the team here at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, we hope to welcome you back soon!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Banff. Well situated i the middle of the town. Staff very friendly. Chatty friendly young bar man from Toronto. Ate here twice lovely food Wine a bit on the dear side. Room big and had a gas log fire .. nice touch Reception staff were efficent and friendly also Had drinks in the bar very quiet but it was the end of season Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review!! We are pleased to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff provided you with friendly and efficient service! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our new Lounge and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.