We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for the first time with 2 sisters and 3 cousins. The valet and concierge were very helpful. You need to book a reservation for dinner in Banff, and he got us into an excellent restaurant called Le Beaujolais which was just perfect for our request for a fancy dinner together. The Friday night we asked for somewhere fun, but not too loud... he suggested the Banff Brewing Company - again, an absolute hit.
The hotel rooms are very large with a gas fireplace, small fridge, safe, plenty of storage space and very clean. One morning I had breakfast delivered and it was on time and hot! The next morning we took advantage of the buffet which was good, but nothing fancy.
We took advantage of the spa and were extremely pleased with service. The pool area was clean, but the hot tub on Friday was very busy so we skipped it. The water is not chlorinated - another plus.
The walk to downtown was about 5-7 minutes, but was very nice. I didn't take my vehicle out all weekend; we were able to walk to all the venues.
We choose the Delta as it is consistently great service from city to town and we were all visiting from all parts of Canada. Thanks to all at the Delta Banff Royal for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic five star review!! We are thrilled to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff were able to help make your stay a memorable and comfortable one for you and your family!! We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with in-room dining and The Grotto Spa. We look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    263
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
177
333
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is synonymous with any other Delta Resort. It is spacious, clean and quite comfortable.
The staff here were really nice. I would think this hotel is perfect for business travellers.
It is located at a short walk from the town (or a much shorter drive).
Our room was very nice and comfortable. It had an electric fireplace. The Evergreen Restaurant serves some good food too.
I have absolutely no complaints. The only advice that I have for travellers is that if you are looking for a more rustic feel (or something that is a little more 'Banff'), try one of the resorts located on the mountains. There is a distinct charm in trying to set up a fire by yourself and sipping on some hot chocolate after the hard work rather than just switching on the electric fireplace. I think that's a part of the Banff experience.
If all you are looking for is clean, spacious and comfortable hotel, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable. We also appreciate your positive feedback about our location, our restaurant and our staff!! On behalf of the team here at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, we hope to welcome you back soon!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Banff. Well situated i the middle of the town. Staff very friendly. Chatty friendly young bar man from Toronto. Ate here twice lovely food Wine a bit on the dear side. Room big and had a gas log fire .. nice touch Reception staff were efficent and friendly also Had drinks in the bar very quiet but it was the end of season Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review!! We are pleased to hear that you received the quality stay that you deserve while travelling and that our staff provided you with friendly and efficient service! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our new Lounge and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was here for 2 nights on business. Room was just fine, spacious, good beds, quite comfortable. Bathrooms are big, but could use new tubs and needs to have a magnifying mirror as a convenience. 12 dollars a day for parking is quite reasonable and cleaning windshields at night is a nice touch. Restaurant menu is very good and food is great - chef knows his stuff! Prices in restaurant are reasonable considering quality, but the room rates are on the high side. Front desk staff were more than adequate. Needs a larger fitness facility, way too small. Overall a solid hotel in the Rockies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that your overall stay with us met your expectations and that you enjoyed our menu at The Evergreen Restaurant. I have forwarded your compliments to our Chef and we hope to have you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I have stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years and we've always found the hotel clean and the service excellent. The location is excellent and provides easy access to Banff Avenue. The breakfast service and buffet is also quite exceptional. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the excellent TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you are a return guest and that our staff have provided you with the great service you deserve while travelling to Banff over the past ten years! I have shared your feedback with our Department Heads and we look forward to having you back to our hotel during your next trip to Banff!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Decided to bring my significant other here for a birthday getaway. Problems were experienced right away when they set us up in their luxury suite only to see that someone else's name was on the free gift on the bed. We went back down to let them know that this didn't seem to be our room where they told us we were correct. We were then put in a room that was barely the size of a queen bed for which they were charging an outrageous price for. We were then upgraded to a larger room which was just a standard hotel room. The rest of the stay was fine as we didn't have to deal with anyone else at the front desk. However, after the weekend I checked my credit card and there was over $1,000 worth of charges on it and I had already prepaid for the rooms using another website. Since i'm still dealing with the ridiculous charges I can't write about how it is dealt with, but it should have never been an issue in the first place.

If you want an overpriced, poorly managed hotel to stay at in Banff then this is the one for you. If not, I'm sure the Best Western would blow this out of the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are very concerned by your feedback as your experience was in no way reflective of the exemplary standards of service, cleanliness and overall quality that guests should expect from our hotel. I wish to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for allowing us the opportunity to correct this issue personally by telephone. Our General Manager and Executive Team are aware of your feedback and we are in the process of addressing each issue that you have reported. We will ensure that your experience is not repeated and appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on route from Drumheller heading home through BC. We didn't have a chance to really research where to stay, but we checked via smartphone all the chain hotels and thought this Delta would be a nice choice due to how its quoted online price compared with other chain hotels in the area. We were happy when our walk in price was actually lower... and, given that it was Banff, was happy it was within our budget.

We were met with very polite and helpful staff at the front desk. Our room was on the first floor and we were 'upgraded' to one with a fireplace. The room was nice - a decent size and clean. The bathroom was well equipped. Our view wasn't great - looked out onto the road, but we weren't in the room long enough to really care.

One of the first things we wanted to do was head down to the mineral pool/hot tub area. Although small, it was very nice. For me, the pool area appeared that it was meant to be part of the spa. It was nice, but small and on the darker side. It had a rock 'waterfall' on one side which was a nice feature. We were by ourselves there which was great...I'd hate to see that area filled with families as there just isn't the room. And if I was wanting a spa treatment, how would that be if the pool was filled with a bunch of people? Just not sure how that area would be a busy season.

We didn't eat at the hotel...we quickly looked at the menus and found they were pretty pricey. So we went next door to Chilli's for dinner, and then down the road the following morning for breakfast.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk down the road to the town area. Easy walk with lots to see along the way. On the way back from our evening walk, we ran into a large deer walking down the sidewalk towards town. (we get deer all the time at home so it wasn't unusual for us to see deer, but to have it walk down the sidewalk towards us..it was still a treat!)

I would recommend the Delta to stay in Banff and would likely stay again if/when we are in Banff (but would check on prices as I get the sense there is a lot of variability).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for providing a TripAdvisor review about your recent stay with us and for the recommendation! I am pleased to hear that we provided you with great service and value which you deserve while travelling. I have shared your feedback with our staff and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.