We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, affordable, and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant, affordable, and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked an upgraded premium room because it included free parking/valet parking which saved $12/per day. At first our room (216) was cramped and dark. We asked to be moved, our request was quickly accommodated and we were placed in a big, bright, much nicer room (221). The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. This hotel is right on the main strip, just a 15 minute walk from all of the action of downtown, so I would recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel if you are concerned about noise. Our hotel view was terrible, but who comes to Banff to sit in the hotel? Our bathroom was large and luxurious. My only complaint about the bathroom was that was where the coffee maker was situated. I didn't like having my coffee brewed near the blow dryer and sink items. I also thought it would have been a nice touch to have a small table and maybe a microwave included in the room. It wasn't a big deal that the hotel didn't include that but I always hate eating on the bed. Since we upgraded our room we had a fireplace in the room which was fantastic, we also had two comfortable chairs which was a nice touch. The room was very clean with the exception of the bath tub back-splash which had dried shampoo all over it from the previous guest (at least I was hoping it was dried shampoo!)The restaurant was pricey and not that good. We ordered room service one morning and for the price I thought the meal would have been a bit better. The staff were incredibly friendly, especially Jackson who was unbelievably helpful. Parking was easy and convenient. I would recommend signing up for this hotels preferred member club - lots of perks such as late check out (we checked out at 3pm). The club is free and well worth it. We were traveling with young children and despite the hotel not having much for children they did offer free breakfast for kids under five as well as coloring/toy package which my son loved. The hotel also has a nice pool. Overall this was an exceptional hotel with lots of little extras. Great service, comfortable, and affordable.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 216 - Room 221 is much better. Rooms at the back of hotel are much quieter (reme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review and for mentioning one of our Front Office staff. We are thrilled that our hotel provided you with the service and comfort you deserve while travelling. I passed along your feedback to our Front Office Manager to ensure our staff receive proper recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    247
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
165
309
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Friendly helpful woman at reception let us in our room early, upgraded us to one with a fireplace. Clean well maintained room. excellent eggs Benedict breakfast perfectly cooked. good value for money. yes, it is further along Banff Avenue from town than many hotels but only a ten minute walk in beautiful surroundings.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review!! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our stay with us! Thank you for sharing your breakfast experience in the Evergreen Restaurant and for the positive feedback about our Eggs Benedict. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fabulous ! From arrival to departure I don't think we've experienced better hospitality and "customer satisfaction" than that from ALL at the Delta Royal. Thank you to: Koltyn(bar manager) Dan(Reading fan & Koltyn under study) Arron(concierge and oracle to all) Luke(concierge and ski organiser) Stephen(concierge and help to everyone) Cathy & Nicole and Sergi and all on reception,top chef in the Evergreen Restaurant and all behind the scenes including the housekeeping,as our rooms,211 and 311, (highly recommended) were imaculate.Thank you all so much.
The Lodge itself is only 10 mins walk to Banff centre and very accessible to all amenities.
Skiing is outside the resort,however,with a bus schedule second to non,all ski areas are within 10 mins to Norquay, 20 mins to Sunshine and 45 mins to Lake Louise. The ski bus is only 2 mins walk from the Lodge and concierge are more than happy to take care of your ski equipment at the start and end of your day.
We stayed for 10 nights and can highly recommend this comfortable and very friendly Lodge.

Room Tip: 211 or 311. Corner suites. Fab and large with lounge area and fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the fabulous five star review and for mentioning our employees who helped to make your stay comfortable!! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and received excellent customer service! I have shared your feedback with our Department Managers to ensure that our staff receive proper recognition. We hope to have the opportunity of having you back to our hotel during your next ski trip to Banff!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A bit of a longer-than-described walk from the centre of town (a solid 10-15 minutes) this place is not as close to the action as described on your booking sites, but you are in Banff where it is beautiful, so the walk is not bad at all. Good sized rooms, super comfy beds and a nice hot tub/pool area - this is a good choice for a higher-end hotel in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the pool and found our beds to be super comfortable! We hope to have the pleasure of having you back to our hotel in the future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was reluctant to give 5 stars as this is not a five star hotel, but having said that there is very little to fault about this place.

Lauren and I stopped in room 303, a junior executive suite I believe. It was a good size with a nice fireplace, bed and bathroom. There was ample parking provided in a heated lot which came with the price of our room. The spa is great after skiing and boarding, it never seems to get too busy and is always clean - The mineral pool is especially excellent.

The Hotel is situated close to the town centre and walking is no problem - it's 10 minutes walk to the other side of town.

The restaurant is first class. Breakfasts are good and Dinner is really something special. We ate out at Le Beaujolais, The Maple Leaf, Saltlik, etc and this place was as good if not better than all of them.

The service is what makes this hotel special. Nothing is too much trouble. We did have a few problems with our room and these were taken care of straight away. I have to thank All the staff in reception, the concierges, the serving staff, cleaners and the chefs, all of which were fantastic.

Overall a great hotel and I would recommend staying here if you go skiing. I'm a particularly 'picky' guest and not easily pleased. I would love to go back one day and hopefully will.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor, away from the lifts, stairwells and ice makers. Doors can slam loudly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review!! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the Junior Executive Suite to dinner at the Evergreen Restaurant! It is great to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. I have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge this past weekend with friends.
The hotel is well-maintained, clean and has all the ammenities you need. The staff were very nice and welcoming. The restaurant in the lobby was terrific. It is within walking distance (10min walk) from downtown Banff.
Highly recommend the hot-tub, steam room, and pool. Gorgeous.
I also would recommend you join the Delta Privelge Club for late-check out, points, etc benefits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the five start review!! It is wonderful to hear that you had everything you needed during your visit with us and that you enjoyed our services, facilities and our staff. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived in Banff yesterday at 2 pm and went to see if we could check in early. No problem, very welcoming, quick and kind service. Thanks Dimple! Our room was nice, 3rd floor King Suite with a fireplace and large washroom. Comfortable beds, clean. We had a bit of trouble regulating the heat in the room, when it got too hot we just opened the window. Lovely mountain air! The pool is interesting, it's a salt water grotto.

My only complaint (and what woke us up 3x in the night) were the yahoos hooting and hollering outside on the street, but that's not the hotel's fault. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are pleased to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your early check-in and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back to our hotel during your next visit to Banff!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.