We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfection but then.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Close to perfection but then.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge and as the title states, close to perfection but then..... Staff is kind and accommodating and the rooms are clean, well laid-out and spacious. Two complaints....

First, I was awoken around 2AM when the in-room smoke detector went off and stayed on for about 1/2 an hour. This continued intermittently throughout the night. Needless to say, wasn't a great night's sleep. I contacted the front desk in the morning to report the problem and they said that they would have someone from maintenance check it out. After viewing the video that I took, the maintenance person said that it was either faulty wiring or that the smoke detectors needed to be dusted. Turns out, his initial diagnosis was correct, it was faulty wiring that kept me up all night.

Secondly, the wireless internet is extremely slow and reception is spotty at best and not available in all areas on the hotel. For a hotel chain that caters to the business crowd and advertises "InternetXL" along the lines of 20x faster than household Internet, the wireless service at this hotel is nothing more than InternetXXXXS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    286
    82
    22
    12
See reviews for
190
367
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in march, had a fairly decent rate through Expedia, rooms were big and we had a room with a fireplace, comfy bed and large bathrooms. The only fault is that the hotel offered us a $25 restaurant credit which was for dinner only, so although we ate breakfast everyday here, he couldn't use the credit. It is a short 10 minute walk to the town which was ok, maybe not good if you had young children.

The pool and spa was amazing.
The best thing about this hotel was the concierge service, he was helpful and actually saved us money with the public transport options, rather ban trying to get us to purchase expensive tours. Also the safe in our room broke and the concierge had this sorted and fixed within a matter of hours so very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review!! We are so pleased to hear that our staff were able to provide you with valuable information regarding transportation and assist you with the safe in your room. It is great to hear that you enjoyed stay with us, our facilities and our services. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked online via the Delta hotel website. Make sure you use the web specials link and compare the rates with another website, eg booking.com noticed they had a special room rate offered which was a couple of dollars less than the Delta site. It's worth phoning Delta directly and getting them to price match, they also offer a further discount. I often stay at Delta hotels, so joined the Delta Priviledge, and found it had rewards like a surprise room up grade and chocolates for this visit!

Staff were very helpful, food was great. Hard to find any negatives. An easy walk to the town centre and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are sadly not scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the five star review! It is great to hear that you have joined Delta Privilege and are enjoying the benefits of being a member. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and your experience at the Evergreen Restaurant. We look forward to having you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great Hotel! Good location & a very comfortable stay. Would definitely go back to the Delta! The spa is fabulous & very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel. The food is fabulous, especially the tomatoe soup.Thanks Delta for a great wknd!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review and recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found some time to indulge and relax in our spa. I have to agree with your comments regarding our Signature Fire Roasted Tomato soup - it is delicious!! Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit!!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We Came to Banff on a Ski Trip to Louise Yeaterday. The skiing was good. We come back in to Banff and get to the Hotel. The Room was like Sauna when we entered. We had to open the window and shut the fire off just to get the air in room balanced. Bathroom is good as usual. Like the Fact the Toilet has its own room so the Stench stays in one plays. Last night when we went to bed.... It took 5 minuites to loosen up the covers. Message to the Maids.... Don't make the bed Covers so tight. That's the one area that can be improved on. All in all. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your ski trip to Lake Louise and that you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with the layout of our rooms. I have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Department regarding the bed covers and the temperature of the room. We hope to have you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel
Hospitality amazing
Above and beyond helpfulness
Great food
Reasonably priced
Fabulous location
Pool & hot tub were great

The staff were incredibly helpful. Everything really well organized for getting to and from skiing. Very comfortable beds. Short walk to downtown area. Beautiful views from right outside hotel. Convenient ski drop off and lockup. Knowledgable staff were very helpful in planning excursions & activities as well as dining options.

Room Tip: Nice addition to have a fireplace in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that we helped to make your ski trip a memorable one. I have shared your comments with our staff and we hope to have you back in our hotel for your next ski trip to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff greeted us with genuine warmth in their smiles. We were celebrating a birthday, and the staff arranged for hot chocolate to be delivered to the room as a surprise welcome gift. It really set the stage for the stay. Every interaction with the fine people working there was a joy!
Highly recommend in the basis of the quality of the people working there; let alone the nice rooms , good restaurant etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the great recommendation! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality you recieved from our staff. I have shared your comments with our staff and we hope to have the pleasure of having you back in our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.