We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not impressed at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Picures on the web look great but decieving.The rooms are small,hallway walls are dark and dungeon like,small pool and over crowded.No complimentery coffee for $200 a night.Lots of other hotels near that are way better and cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    274
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
179
346
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for a short weekend getaway with my boyfriend. The checkin staff were really friendly and helpful and got us into our room a little ahead of checkin time. I was diapointed to see that the request room type wasn't available. We ended up with a room that was a bit cramped with 2 queens as opposed to the requested King. It worked out fine for us as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room but was still dispointing. There are lots of amenities offered at the hotel however we didn't use many other than the complimentary wifi which was great. Other than that this hotel served as a convenient place for us to return to after wandering the town and visiting the hot springs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you are back to enjoy Banff again.
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff was very helpful and checkin was easy and we were able to check in an hour early! The hotel was quiet even though it was family day long weekend (except for the pool which was filled with kids but not complaining that is what kids do when in a pool...make noise! We didn't stay long and went back early the next day and it was super quite!) Hotel location was great for walking to the main strip for a bite to eat and a drink or two at one of the many bars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel on TripAdvisor and the 5 Star Rating!
We were pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and our location to be convenient to all the downtown services. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked this hotel for Valentine's Day with my wife. We hadn't done anything for Valentine's Day for a couple years so I wanted to do something nice for her. I booked the Deluxe King Suite online (at a great price might I add). I then contacted Aaron at Concierge and had him arrange for a half dozen roses, chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine. He then offered to put rose petals scattered along the floor upon our arrival. Needless to say, Aaron did a great job with everything and my wife LOVED it. The look on her face when she saw everything was perfect, worth every penny we paid. We will absolutely be staying at the Delta in Banff next time we take a trip there! Very friendly staff, quick to accommodate you upon check-in and was a very smooth process. Thanks to all the staff at the Delta, our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and for mentioning one of our Concierge employees. I am so pleased to hear that our staff were able to help make your Valentine's Day a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the delta park lodge. On arrival I was told our room was 2 queens, I advised I booked a king but was told there were none available, but would be contacted after the weekend if any become available. The problems started when we returned from a days skiing jet lagged and intent on going for an afternoon nap to be met to the sound of builders directly outside our bedroom window replacing the roof.. The noise was unbearable!We had not been informed of any building work and given that we were staying for a week and most other people just a weekend stay, you think we would have been given priority over rooms as the hotel was empty during the week. Again the building work started at 8.30 in the morning. We complained on the 4th day and was told we could change rooms but we were leaving in 2 days and we're on the slopes all day, but pointed out twice that I expected to pay a reduced rate. When we came to check out the lady manager was very rude and unprofessional. She informed me that they in fact had had a better room become available on Monday"a really nice room" she couldn't understand why we didn't take the upgrade.. Duh we were never informed.. There was no message on the phone, no note under the door, no informing us ever time we stopped at the front desk.. Just her informing us on check out. Talk about rubbing salt in the wound.. She was telling me it was our fault we hadn't taken the upgrade, I assure you I would defiantly would have upgraded if we had been offered it on the Monday! Even when I complained on the Wednesday they never said "oh we've had a better room for you all week"Very rude and very unprofessional.. Defiantly not a relaxing stay.. I feel shattered from the lack of sleep! She offered us one free breakfast for $60 dollars .. Would not stay here again despite my children living in Banff because of the manager giving the hotel a bad name. I would point out the rest of the staff were excellent and very friendly but next time I'll stay next door at the Fox.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The minute we walked in comfy chairs, a warm fire and a smiling Hello greeted us.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the bartender. Our room was great, clean, with a gas fireplace, king bed and still room to move and a nice bathroom. Soft towels and well stocked.
view Cascade mountain was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Use AMA rate. Rooms at the back view Cascade mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one. I have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We hope to have you back in our hotel soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arrived late afternoon following a snowy drive from Calgary. Warm and friendly welcome from reception and concierge. We had booked a junior exec deluxe suite and were not disappointed.Fabulous mountain view (corner unit), spacious, MASSIVE bed, sofa suite. large TV, lovely bathroom with double shower and spa bath and best of all INSTANT real affect fire. Just what you need after a hard day on the slopes to toast your toes. (ask for Rm 311).
If honest the hotel is a little further down Banff Avenue which can be a chilly walk on a blizzardy evening...but hey thats part of the fun and certainly not a reason to be put off.
If you have a car you'll be a happy bunny, there are 2 parking floors underneath the building (free valet parking with our room) and even better they are heated so the car is ready to go and you don't freeze up until you hit the slopes. The lovely staff wash and clean your windscreen each morning- nice touch (not sure if this is standard - we are Brits after all!!).
What else?..the room was quiet and beautifully serviced each day (smellies/towels etc replaced daily , usual recycle policy in place for laundry). Decent fridge to accommodate water, soda's and more , filter coffee machine, utility sink and cupboards to store items. Complimentary wifi and good connection for all your gadgets. Ice and soda machine on each floor.
We didn't sample the offerings of the Evergreen restaurant and from the reviews seems like we may have missed out...certainly the room service late night Nachos blew 'The Keg's- Downtown' inept offerings out of the water!! We also skied ourselves stupid each day and never found ourselves with the energy or time to experience the pool/spa - looked good though.
We ski in US or Canada each year and really enjoyed our stay at the Delta Banff ...it topped many of the past hotels and the upgraded room was worth every singe cent.
Top marks for all staff...those at front of house and those we didn't see directly. You really made a memorable ski trip and we hope to see you again. Thank you

Room Tip: ask for 311 if you want larger suite with fire and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Room 311 and that our staff helped to make your ski trip a memorable one. I have forwarded your feedback to our Department Managers to ensure they recognize our staff for a job well done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next ski trip and highly recommend that you stop by The Evergreen restaurant for an excellent dining experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.