We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went up for a night from Calgary just to get away, and this hotel worked perfectly. Close enough to the downtown area without actually being there, the staff is excellent and the rooms quite comfortable. People are right about some of the common areas looking a little dated, but they are clean and that's the most important part. Nice little pool area and spa down in the basement, and the new bar area was perfect for watching the NFL playoff game prior to dinner. Special mention to our bartender who went out of his way to get us a reservation at Saltlik that night - we had been told it would not be a problem, but he wanted to make sure we were able to get in without waiting. It is that kind of service that makes you keep coming back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received excellent service from our staff in the new Evergreen Lounge. I have forwarded your review to our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that our staff receive proper recognition. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    248
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
166
311
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in January, and were impressed by the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. Vanessa on Reception was particularly helpful when we checked in, and we would also like to mention (Dan?) in the bar area.

We had travelled from staying overnight at the Delta at Calgary Airport, and our experience at check in/departure as a Platinium Delta Privilege member at that hotel wasn't at all good.

The hotel is located within walking distance of town. Our room was spacious and well appointed. There was upgrade work going on in the reception area, but they did their best to keep disruption to a minimum

Whilst this isn't the best hotel in Banff, it is well priced for the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for this positive feedback and for recognizing our employees, Vanessa and Daniel for providing outstanding guest services. We are pleased to hear that you received a quality stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to have you back to our hotel during your next visit to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My first room had a view of the maintenance shed. The shower in my second room didn't work. The lounge hours were poor. It was a further walk to downtown than advertised. Overall, the room was overpriced for what it was. Not up to the Delta standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry you were inconvenienced by having to change rooms. Our Executive Housekeeper is aware of your feedback and we have addressed the issue that you reported. Some of our guestrooms face an old house that is privately owned and unfortunately, there is not much that we can do about it. Once again thanks a lot for your review which will absolutely help us to improve the quality of our services. We hope this inconvenience will not prevent us from the pleasure of hosting you on your next travel to Banff.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've visited the Delta Royal Canadian Lodge a few times over the past few years.

The rooms are good size, as compared to other high end properties in Banff, very clean and in relatively good/new condition. However the common areas (hallways, restaurant, spa, pool area) look "tired" and in dire need of a facelift.

The hotel is fairly small, and there's nothing to do there (the bar is always dead...), so don't expect the hustle and bustle and the majestic common areas of the Banff Springs or Rimrock.

Overall the hotel is a good value for the money. The prices are pretty decent, even during the crazy Christmas season (when all hotels in Banff jack up their prices...), it's located very close to downtown Banff, and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

Only thing that turned me off during our latest visit was that they charged us for a local call we made (I haven't been charged for a local call by a hotel in years. This is 2013 people!). If I knew there was a charge I'd easily use my cell phone. Not that the charge was significant, but it's a turn off seeing Delta nickel and diming for a local call in this day and age...

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms. They're larger than the rooms with the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Chose a top floor room at the end of a hall but forgot to ask to be away from drink machine and ice maker however it was not a problem that night.
Just really enjoy Delta's cozy comfy rooms and great beds with wonderful bedding!

Room Tip: Choose top floor and away from elevators and Ice machines at the back of the hotel as Banff Avenue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased to have met your needs during your trip to Banff.
We look forward to your return!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed numerous times at this hotel. The staff is always very curteous and helpful. The hotel has a great pool, hot tub and steam room. The hotel has also just recentely added a lounge in the lobby which was really needed. Very close to town center (walking distance) but a cab is only a few bucks. I always get the king room with the fireplace, the bathrooms in these rooms are really big. Beds are really comfy, love the robes and in room safe....Prices are best when booked directly through their website. A nice little touch was added on my last stay, a package of chocolates was delivered to my room shortly after I arrived with a card that said "welcome back". one downside was that parking was $12 which I don't remember paying before, we buy a season park pass so I don't feel like i should have to pay for hotel parking. Also found the hot tub a little too hot and the pool very chilly, its been this way for several years though so maybe other guests like it that hot?. Overall a great stay though. Thanks Delta, we will definitely be back...

Room Tip: I like the Premium King room with the fireplace best. These usually book fast as they are not many o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am thrilled to learn you have been our guest a few times and find our King rooms to be comfortable and our staff friendly and professional.
Your feedback has been shared and is appreciated. We hope you return soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arriving at the hotel on Dec.18 after 12 hours in the air and on the road from Calgary, my wife and I were exhausted. The wondeful reception we received from the front desk (especially from Carla) went far beyond anything one could have anticipated. When told it was my birthday she happily upgraded our room to a junior suite complete with a fireplace.Treats and a birthday cake arrived a short time later. When told we were meeting our son ,his wife and our first grandson there ,she upgraded their room to one adjoining ours.There were smiles and hellos from all of the employees whenever passing in the hall or in the dining room.The fact there was some major construction taking place in the lobby /restaurant area went almost unnoticed.Carla and the staff at this Delta Hotel made our family reunion one to be remembered for many yeatrs to come.I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Carla( I hope I am spelling her name right..could be Karla)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback and to mention one of our guest service agents. Your review has been shared and is appreciated. We hope to have the privilege to host you and your family once again in the near future and to show you the high quality of service the Delta Hotels are known for.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.