We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed numerous times at this hotel. The staff is always very curteous and helpful. The hotel has a great pool, hot tub and steam room. The hotel has also just recentely added a lounge in the lobby which was really needed. Very close to town center (walking distance) but a cab is only a few bucks. I always get the king room with the fireplace, the bathrooms in these rooms are really big. Beds are really comfy, love the robes and in room safe....Prices are best when booked directly through their website. A nice little touch was added on my last stay, a package of chocolates was delivered to my room shortly after I arrived with a card that said "welcome back". one downside was that parking was $12 which I don't remember paying before, we buy a season park pass so I don't feel like i should have to pay for hotel parking. Also found the hot tub a little too hot and the pool very chilly, its been this way for several years though so maybe other guests like it that hot?. Overall a great stay though. Thanks Delta, we will definitely be back...

Room Tip: I like the Premium King room with the fireplace best. These usually book fast as they are not many o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am thrilled to learn you have been our guest a few times and find our King rooms to be comfortable and our staff friendly and professional.
Your feedback has been shared and is appreciated. We hope you return soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    251
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
170
311
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arriving at the hotel on Dec.18 after 12 hours in the air and on the road from Calgary, my wife and I were exhausted. The wondeful reception we received from the front desk (especially from Carla) went far beyond anything one could have anticipated. When told it was my birthday she happily upgraded our room to a junior suite complete with a fireplace.Treats and a birthday cake arrived a short time later. When told we were meeting our son ,his wife and our first grandson there ,she upgraded their room to one adjoining ours.There were smiles and hellos from all of the employees whenever passing in the hall or in the dining room.The fact there was some major construction taking place in the lobby /restaurant area went almost unnoticed.Carla and the staff at this Delta Hotel made our family reunion one to be remembered for many yeatrs to come.I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Carla( I hope I am spelling her name right..could be Karla)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback and to mention one of our guest service agents. Your review has been shared and is appreciated. We hope to have the privilege to host you and your family once again in the near future and to show you the high quality of service the Delta Hotels are known for.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a short honeymoon. Have been on day trips to Banff many times but 1st time staying overnight. Missed our 1st night's reservation and was given a king room with fireplace. By the time we had parked we had a welcome package in our room.
The hot stone massage in the Grotto spa was the most relaxing I've ever had! One downfall is that they don't have the space for couples massage.
DEFINITELY recommend this hotel for your stay in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to learn of your experience while staying with us for your Honeymoon. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everyone at this hotel was very nice. The room was spacious and elegant. Nice touch to have a half bottle of champagne waiting for us. (We were celebrating our anniversary.) Little touches like cleaning our windshield in the heated garage each night were appreciated. Only wish they had more nooks or crannies in the common area. At $380 a night not a bargain but still worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious suite.Your review has been shared and is appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff were great and always were there to help. When they found out it was our honeymoon, they quickly created a surprise for us (Thanks to Carla). Opened the kitchen for us when we craved a dessert. Clean facility, classic decor. Restaurant was of good quality. Got massages at a reasonable rate.

Mineral bath pool and hot tub were great with a nice grotto design. Great area for relaxation after the hill or by yourself during the day.

Overall, you get a lot for the value in comparison to other hotels in Banff. It's a quiet hotel with all you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you a lot for sharing with us your comments about your recent stay at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Our team was happy to read that your were fully satisfied with our services.Your review has been shared and is appreciated.
We hope to have the privilege to host you once again in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A group of couples stayed for a week at the property and we could not have been treated better. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with suggestions of things to do in the area. Rooms were nice and well kept. Pool area with steam room was a daily activity for the group, it is extremely relaxing. My wife arranged for a massage in the morning and enjoyed it that afternoon. The exercise room is small but had the all basics that you need. If you need more than is there, walk outside and hike, you are in Banff!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to learn of your experience while staying with us at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. It is wonderful that you and your group enjoyed all our facilities and found our team to be polite and friendly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed one night, Dec 27.
Super polite staff, super clean, nice restaurant, with pool, hot tub, steam room, weight room. No suites with seperate bedrooms available, but our room was spacious, with 2 queens. Location is on main rd, but several blocks from shopping.
We would consider it again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased to hear that you received a quality stay with us and enjoyed our services, facilites and our staff. We hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.