We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 33 hotels in Banff
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

After a rather unpleasant stay in the Caribou Lodge we were a little tentative moving to a hotel with a lesser ranking in trip advisor but we can honestly say that this hotel was fantastic.

The rooms were very, very spacious and the room we were allocated had fantastic views from the full sized balcony to the moutains and gondolas beyond. The other really good plus point with this hotel is its close proximity to the town center.

The bathroom could do with an slight update sometime in the future but it was still spotless as was the bedroom area.

We did not have time to eat in the hotel but the menu looked great and the dining room was busy on the both the nights we stayed at the hotel.

The swimming pool is also excellent and was nice and quiet the day we visited it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    248
    112
    25
    19
See reviews for
151
216
23
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for only one night, but it was very nice. Very friendly and helpful staff, could make a early check in and a late check out without problems.Internet is not complimentary, but has a good value and connection is very good, worth the value. Nice location, nearby main street of Banff, without the noise of downtown. Definitely would come back. Only thing I was attending a conference (by the way, nice facilities for it), and did not stay since the beginning of the conference because reservation system was as fully booked, but could solve it talking to the front desk - and found out that there were some rooms available.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coskier99
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

for the price it's a very good choice in banff. the building is not new but well maintained and clean. if you are looking for super high end and want to pay for it, then I'd recommend you go elsewhere. again, well maintained with an awesome pool area and dinner restaurant. the fitness area is lacking, probably the minimum to get it listed as an ammenity but if you ski all day then who cares. the pool, hot tub, plunge pool, and steam room are much more appreciated and needed on a ski vacation. location can not be beat, in the heart of downtown without being right on the main avenue with it's accompanying noise. literally a short block off main street with a safeway grocery store and big liquor store just around the corner. the staff was super, everyone seemed pleasant and helpful. I never had breakfast but did eat dinner in the main floor restaurant, it was pretty awesome and the service was great. overall an older property but priced accordingly and competitively, furnishings are a bit dated but I honestly didn't care at all. the place was clean and had what I needed, the ammenities were also just what I needed, the location is superb, staff smiles and helps you, restaurant fantastic, and the ski busses stop in front of the hotel. overall a great choice in the amazing town of banff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I was put up at this hotel by the company that I was working with, and it was a big waste of their money.
You pay to get into the park, you pay WAY too much to stay at the hotel, and then you have to pay for parking AND wireless internet? I can get all that and an OK breakfast at the Holiday Inn! And Holiday Inns are more up-to-date.
The decor of the rooms were clearly a poor attempt to update a vintage hotel. Some granite here, a little paint there couldn't hide that this place needed a real reno.

For some reason I was put into the room with the jacuzzi-so I started to fill it up when I found a freaking pubic hair in the tub. DISGUSTING!

For $220 a night the downtown Banff location was NOT worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here a night because the weather turned bad and we were travelling by motorcycle. The underground parking was nice. Room was adequate with a very comfortable bed. Hot tub and steam room warmed up our bones.

Biggest complaint is that we probably paid more than we should have after checking rates on Expedia upon returning home.

The other complaint is that the Internet is not free. The sign outside would have you believe it is but they charge. Phone calls are charged an access fee. I hate so called full service places that nickel and dime you to death for things the lesser places give you for free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We chose this hotel for a one night stop over in Banff with our young son as it is perfectly located for shopping and leaving your car behind while you explore town. I also found a great deal on expedia so went with it. I have no complaints for this hotel - at full price I would have found it overpriced but at the discounted rate, it was exactly what we paid for. The rooms are dated and basic but have very comfy beds and it was decently quiet. Don't expect 4 or 5 star here but it was nice enough especially if you can snag a deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmcmccm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This hotel is located centrally in Banff. It could use a bit of updating, but it is very clean and has a nice pool for the kids. It is cleaner and has newer beds/bedding than I expected it would. The review indicated that it had a fitness centre, but really, it doesn't. It was definitely an afterthought and is in a room the size of a closet with outdated equip. No matter, Banff is the perfect place to go for a morning run!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#9 Business Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.