We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden costs!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
stony plain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hidden costs!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my wife just got back from this hotel and was not completely impressed. the girl who checked her in was less than polite and not very helpful. there was also a separate charge for parking offsite $10/day across the street, (apparently our VW golf is too tall for their indoor parkade) and internet ($10/day). they were also not informed of the ski locker onsite.

i have no concerns paying for service but the hotel should disclose before you book that there is a charge for other services

on the other side she said the rest of the staff were very good, the hotel very clean, beds were really comfortable, and location was good.

seems we need to ask more specific questions when booking hotels!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    273
    125
    29
    19
See reviews for
162
243
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you intend to come with children and look for a place they can play in the spa till very late, well till closure, you got it.

Last time i book via Hotwire.

Yours to discover!

Ps. Expect to pay for internet, parking etc.. So at the end of the day, definetaly better to go to other near by hotel that all these things are included without charge.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What made a difference between staying here and any other place was the concierge - Luke!
In August 2014, our family spend 4 nights at the hotel. Luke helped plan our stay. He knew of things to do, places to visit, and when to visit them. One morning, as we were talking to him, he instructed us to immediately rush to sulphur mountain, to witness an extremely rare phenomenon - a temperature inversion. The view from atop the mountain is one that we will never forget. other tips - spiral tunnel, takkakow falls, etc also proved to be hits. The kids enjoyed relaxing in the pool after a hard day of sightseeing.

For a well travelled family, the kids remember this as their best vacation (sorry Disney).

One again, many thanks Luke, and the rest of the concierges at Banff Park Lodge

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lot of fun here. Rented the romantic jacuzzi suite for our anniversary and the plus ... The most amazing two person shower ever!!! A must see!
The resteraunt downstairs had excellent beverages and service was fantastic! The pool and hottub area was beautiful.
Only downside was that there was no fire place in the suite. But well worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffParkLodge_FOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your romantic anniversary getaway and taking the time to share your experience.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed all that our Deluxe Jacuzzi suites have to offer. They truly are a great room for a romantic night. I am pleased you had a chance to visit our wonderful Terrace Lounge and indulge in some of the wonderful drinks.

I hope we have a chance to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Steven Schultz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It has been a year or so since my wife and I spent a weekend (Sunday & Monday) in Banff. We always stay at BPL, particularly for it;s location (2 blocks off of Banff Avenue, but also for the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the rooms. In winter, the heated, secure, indoor parking is a huge plus. We arrived a bit early to get our requested upper-floor room, but had a choice of a main floor, king room - which was larger than the last upper floor room we had - BUT just as comfortable. TV's have changed to a large (50") LG set that had a fabulous picture.The bathroom was a bit small, but had a second sink etc on the outside, which helps when getting ready.
They had a cozy lobby lounge, and all of our expectations were met courteously and professionally. Recommend this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: I would usually ask for a second or third floor room, as they tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffParkLodge_FOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to share this excellent feedback with us. We are absolutely delighted that we are your home away from home when you travel to Banff.

I'm very glad that our team was able to provide you with a great experience for your time with us and that you enjoyed our updated televisions. Our heated indoor parking certainly is a a benefit during those cold mountain nights.

We love all of our loyal guests and very much look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Steven Schultz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Banff Park Lodge celebrating a Multicultural Sikh Wedding. There were around 150 guests who had come for this wedding from around the world. We got a chance to experience the rooms, convention facilities, spa, and food during this time. The room we had gave us a view of the cascade mountain, it was spacious but a bit dated. The eucalyptus spa was extra-ordinarythe fitness machines ucked. The food for the wedding was great and the Sikh Wedding Priest for the ceremony from Vancouver Canada made our day. The central location of the lodge was great and we appreciated the heated parking. The elevators are bit randomly set apart from the convention area. Overall this was a great place for a Destination Wedding and Reception.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Steam Room and look for a room where you get a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffParkLodge_FOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Freedom & Leela,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We certainly loved hosting this event and I'm so happy that you enjoyed yourselves.

I'm delighted that you liked the view of the beautiful Cascade mountain from your guest room and had a chance to take advantage of our Eucalyptus steam room.

We appreciate your feedback on our guest rooms and fitness machines. Over this winter season we are addressing both of these concerns with renovations and updates to all of our guest room bathrooms, as well was replacing and expanding our fitness machines.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Warm regards,

Steven Schultz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like everything else we found in Canada - the prices were way over the top!

The hotel was large and spacious and the staff very accommodating. The rooms were, large, clean and the beds very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located so it's a short walk to restuarants, shops, etc. We didn't try out any of the restaurants within the hotel.

Room Tip: I have no idea what any of the other rooms were like. Ours was large, clean and the beds and pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffParkLodge_FOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room, the comfortable beds, and our convenient location. I am especially happy that our staff were able to provide you with excellent service.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back and maybe next time you can try one of our fabulous restaurants!

Warm regards,
Steven Schultz
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre

Address: 222 Lynx Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Park Lodge is the only 4 Star Canada Select full-service resort hotel and conference centre with 211 rooms right in downtown Banff, in the heart of historical Banff National Park. We offer 2 restaurants, lobby bar, indoor pool with Jacuzzi and steam room, exercise facilities, self-serve laundry facilities, indoor parking and we offer Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Our 211 spacious guest rooms are tastefully decorated and include coffee makers, in-room safe, convenience refrigerator, cable television, clock radio, direct dial telephone and voice mail system, a table with two chairs, large dresser, ample closet space, hair dryer, iron & board, individual climate control and a private balcony or patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Park Lodge Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Banff
Banff Park Hotel
Banff Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.